MENTAL HEALTH AND DISABILITY SERVICES COMMISSION

§225C.5

Department of Health and Human Services, Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515.281.7277

Name	City	Term Ending	
Russell Wood, Chair	Hampton	April 30, 2024	
Betsy Akin	Corning	April 30, 2025	
	Mount Pleasant		
Diane Brecht	Central City	April 30, 2026	
Teresa Daubitz	Ely	April 30, 2025	
	Grimes		
Mike Fidgeon	Dubuque	April 30, 2026	
	Breda		
Don Kass	Remsen	April 30, 2024	
June Klein-Bacon	Waterloo	April 30, 2026	
Kathy Norris	Moville	April 30, 2026	
Jack Seward	Washington	April 30, 2026	
	Urbandale		
Kenneth Wayne	Clive	April 30, 2025	
	Davenport		

Ex officio, nonvoting members from the General Assembly

Senate

Jeff Edler	State Center	January 12, 2025
Sarah Trone Garriott	Waukee	January 12, 2025
	House	•
Ann Meyer	Fort Dodge	January 12, 2025
		January 12, 2025

The commission's responsibilities include advising the Mental Health and Disability Services Division of the department on the overall administration of the state disability services system; making system design recommendations for adults and children with MHDS needs to the General Assembly and executive branch; adopting rules as necessary pursuant to Iowa Code chapter 17A, which relate to disability programs and services; adopting standards for accreditation of community health centers and other mental health programs; biannually submitting a report on the availability and cost-effectiveness of services; and advising the administrator of the Mental Health and Disability Services Division, the Council on Health and Human Services, the Governor, and the General Assembly on budgets and appropriations concerning disability services.

The Governor appoints the commission members with Senate approval. Three members must be county supervisors at the time of their appointment; two must be selected from nominees submitted by the director; one must be an active board member of a community mental health center selected from nominees submitted by the Iowa Association of Community Providers; one must be an active board member of an agency serving persons with developmental disabilities selected from nominees submitted by the Iowa Association of Community Providers; one must be a board member or employee of a provider of mental health or developmental disabilities services to children; two must be staff members of regional administrators selected from nominees submitted by the community services affiliate of the Iowa State Association of Counties; one must be selected from nominees submitted by the state's Council of the Association of Federal, State, County, and Municipal Employees; and three must be service consumers or family members of service consumers and of these, one must be a service consumer, one must be a parent of a child service consumer, and one must be a parent or other family member of a person admitted to and living at a state resource center. Two members must be selected from nominees selected by service advocates and of these, one must be an active member of a statewide organization for persons with brain injury. One member must be an active board member of an agency serving persons with a substance abuse problem selected from nominees submitted by the Iowa Behavioral Health Association, and one member must be

a military veteran who is knowledgeable concerning the behavioral and mental health issues of veterans. In addition to the voting members, the membership includes four members of the General Assembly, with one member designated by each of the following: the Majority Leader of the Senate, the Minority Leader of the Senate, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, and the Minority Leader of the House of Representatives. Legislative members serve ex officio.