EXECUTIVE BRANCH AGENCIES

IOWA LOTTERY BOARD

§12.30; Ch 99G

13001 University Avenue, Clive 50325; 515.725.7900; ialotterv.com

Matt Strawn, Chief Executive Officer		April 30, 2025
Name	City	Term Ending/Type
	Ankeny	
Mary Junge	Cedar Rapids	April 30, 2024
Kathleen New	Indianola	April 30, 2026
Mary Rathje	Marion	April 30, 2027
Dana Wingert	Des Moines	April 30, 2026
C	Ex officio, nonvoting member	•
Roby Smith, Treasurer of State		Statutory

The Iowa Lottery operates as a public enterprise based upon an entrepreneurial business model. Some key phrases of purpose and intent were included in the legislation that created the Iowa Lottery Authority. In the legislation, the General Assembly declared that "[t]he state should create a public instrumentality of the state in the form of a nonprofit authority known as the Iowa Lottery Authority with comprehensive and extensive powers to operate a state lottery in an entrepreneurial and businesslike manner." Another section of the legislation stated that "[l]ottery games shall be operated and managed in a manner that provides continuing entertainment to the public, maximizes revenues and ensures that the lottery is operated with integrity and dignity and free from political influence."

The Iowa Lottery began operations in 1985 and is overseen by the Iowa Lottery Board and the chief executive officer (CEO). The board and CEO establish the lottery's budget and supervise and approve the activities of the lottery. Among the board and CEO's duties are establishing policies for the operation of lottery games within the state, approving all contracts for operation of the lottery, and establishing rules as to the operations of specific games and lottery activities. The CEO and the five voting board members are appointed by the Governor and are subject to confirmation by the Senate. The Treasurer of State serves as an ex officio member of the board.