EXECUTIVE BRANCH AGENCIES

STATEWIDE INDEPENDENT LIVING COUNCIL

§84H.1; Section 705 of the U.S. Rehabilitation Act of 1973 as amended PO Box 14, Amana 52203; 515.282.0275; www.iowasilc.org

Name	City	Term Ending
Marie Ugorek, Chair	Cedar Rapids	June 30, 2025
Victoria Carlson	West Des Moines	June 30, 2026
Tucker Cassidy	Waterloo	June 30, 2024
	Hancock	
	Clive	
	Cedar Rapids	
	Des Moines	
Matt Grillot	DeWitt	June 30, 2025
Bitrus Gwamna	Mount Pleasant	June 30, 2024
	Albia	
	West Des Moines	
William D. Werger	Waverly	June 30, 2025
Ex officio, nonvoting members		
Morgan Casey, Aging and Disability Services, Iowa Department of		
Health and Human Services		June 30, 2024
Robert Hendrickson, Iowa Vocational Rehabilitation Services		June 30, 2026
Kimberly Walford, Department of the Blind		June 30, 2025

The Iowa Statewide Independent Living Council (SILC) is a federally mandated, Governor-appointed council. The SILC consists of 15 members, including 12 voting members and three ex officio, nonvoting members. At least 51 percent of the SILC must be persons with disabilities who do not work for a state agency or a center for independent living (CIL). Of the three ex officio positions, at least one must be filled by a staff member from the designated state entity (DSE), which is the agency that receives the federal Part B funds and the state funds for independent living for the SILC and CILs, and who administers those funds to the SILC and CILs. The DSE for the SILC is Iowa Vocational Rehabilitation Services. The second position must be filled by a staff member from the Iowa Department for the Blind (IDB), as IDB receives some of the federal Part B funds to provide independent living services to the population they serve. The third position must be filled by an independent living staff person from a state agency that works with disability issues. The voting members of the SILC must represent a broad range of individuals with different types of disabilities from across the state.