IOWA STATE FAIR BOARD

§173.1, 173.9

P.O. Box 57130, Des Moines 50317; 515.262.3111; www.iowastatefair.org

Name	City	Term Ending/Type
Darwin Gaudian, President	Primghar	December 2023
Alan Brown	Hampton	December 2023
Randy Brown	Osceola	December 2023
Tennie Carlson	Stratford	December 2024
Curtis Claeys	Grand Mound	December 2023
John Harms	Monticello	December 2023
Gary McConnell	Bloomfield	December 2024
Jo Reynolds		
VerDon Schmidt	Everly	December 2024
C.W. Thomas	Guthrie Center	December 2023
Gary VanAernam	Exira	December 2024
Deb Zumbach		
Ex officio, voting members		
Mike Naig, Secretary of Agriculture		Statutory
Kim Reynolds, Governor		
Wendy Wintersteen Ph.D., President, Iowa State University		•
Nonvoting member		
Jeremy Parsons, Secretary		Serves at Pleasure of Board

Every August, over one million people from all over the Midwest flock to the Iowa State Fair, the state's great celebration, a salute to Iowa's best in agriculture, industry, entertainment, and achievement.

The Iowa State Fair is one of the oldest agricultural and industrial expositions in the nation. The first was held in Fairfield in 1854 on a six-acre tract. The next year's fair was also held in Fairfield. From 1856 to 1879, the fair moved from city to city: Muscatine, 1856 – 1857; Oskaloosa, 1858 – 1859; Iowa City, 1860 – 1861; Dubuque, 1862 – 1863; Burlington, 1864 – 1866; Clinton, 1867 – 1868; Keokuk, 1869 – 1870 and 1874 – 1875; and Cedar Rapids, 1871 – 1873 and 1876 – 1878.

In 1879, the fair permanently moved to Des Moines. In 1884, the General Assembly appropriated \$50,000 for the purchase of grounds in Des Moines on the condition that the city raise an equal sum for site improvements. The 270-acre site was dedicated two years later. It continued to grow to its present size of nearly 450 acres. The Iowa State Fair was the inspiration for the original novel, three motion pictures, and the Rodgers and Hammerstein Broadway musical, all titled *State Fair*.

A separate State Fair Board was created in 1923, consisting of the Governor, the Secretary of Agriculture, the president of Iowa State University, one director from each congressional district, and three directors at large. Makeup of the board was changed in 2001 to two directors from each of the six state fair board districts, plus three ex officio members. Official delegates, representing Iowa's 105 county and district fairs and other agricultural associations, elect these directors at the annual State Agricultural Convention in December. The president, vice president, and treasurer of the State Fair Board are elected by the board from elected directors. The board also selects a secretary.

The General Assembly may appropriate funds for major capital improvements and repairs; all other operating expenses are paid from revenue generated by the fair. The fairgrounds are used year-round as a meeting and exposition center, featuring such events as large trade and machinery shows; sporting events; national livestock, horse, and dog shows; arts and crafts exhibitions; private gatherings; weddings; corporate meetings; concerts; and a wide variety of other activities.