## EXECUTIVE BRANCH AGENCIES

## STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

§256.3, 256.9(12)

Department of Education, Grimes State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515.281.5296

McKenzie Snow, Director, Department of Education, Executive Officer

Name	City	Term Ending
John Robbins, President	Iowa Falls	April 30, 2026
Brooke Axiotis, Vice President	Des Moines	April 30, 2026
Cindy Dietz	Cedar Rapids	April 30, 2028
Cassandra Halls	Carlisle	April 30, 2028
Brian Kane	Dubuque	April 30, 2026
William (Mike) May	Spirit Lake	April 30, 2024
Mary Meisterling	Cedar Rapids	April 30, 2026
Nathan Peterson	Iowa City	April 30, 2024

The board consists of 10 members — nine voting members who are appointed by the Governor for six-year terms and subject to Senate confirmation and one nonvoting student member who serves a one-year term, also appointed by the Governor. Duties of the board include adopting and establishing policies assuring quality education for students in preschool, elementary, and secondary schools, and community colleges; prescribing and approving teacher preparation programs to assure all teachers are highly qualified; and hearing appeals of local school board decisions and affirming, modifying, or vacating those decisions.