## EARLY CHILDHOOD IOWA STATE BOARD

§256I.3

Department of Health and Human Services, Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515.281.4321; hhs.iowa.gov/about/advisory-groups/eci-state-board

Name	City	Term Ending/Type
Aaron Johnson, Co-Chair	Ankeny	April 30, 2026
Barbara Merrill, Co-Chair		
Angela Anderson	Eagle Grove	April 30, 2025
David Arens	Urbandale	April 30, 2024
Jennifer Banta	Iowa City	April 30, 2025
David Barajas		
Diane Campbell	Muscatine	April 30, 2025
Ryan Howard	Cedar Falls	April 30, 2024
Angela Lensch	Glidden	April 30, 2024
Mike Linnenbrink	Donnellson	April 30, 2025
Mayra Martinez	Storm Lake	April 30, 2024
Dawn Oliver-Wiand	North Liberty	April 30, 2024
Mary Petersen	Harlan	April 30, 2024
Paige Smothers	Carlisle	April 30, 2026
Debi Durham, Director, Economic Development Authority Statutory		
Kelly Garcia, Director of Health		
McKenzie Snow, Director, Depa	artment of Education	Statutory
Beth Townsend, Director, Department of Workforce Development Statutory		
Ex officio, nonvoting members from the General Assembly		
	Senate	
Lynn Evans	Aurelia	January 12, 2025
Cindy Winckler		
House		
Michael R. Bergan	Dorchester	January 12, 2025
Tracy Ehlert		

Early Childhood Iowa (ECI) was established to create a partnership between communities and state government departments (Economic Development Authority, Education, Human Rights, Human Services, Public Health, Management, and Workforce Development). This partnership serves as a catalyst to integrate and coordinate an early care, health, and education network of systems for children from birth through age five and their families.

The ECI State Board sets goals to empower communities to achieve desired results, develop collaboration to support an early childhood care system, and advocate for public engagement. The board's role includes providing oversight, tracking, and reporting of the data on early childhood results and indicators; advocacy; and public awareness of the importance of early childhood issues. Current members of the board include department directors for six state agencies, four legislators, and citizens. The board is responsible for early childhood system development and the funding streams over which it has authority.

Thirty-eight early childhood areas operate throughout the state, representing all 99 counties. Each area has a citizen-led board to support activities to promote collaboration and develop systems in the community for young children and their families.