EXECUTIVE BRANCH AGENCIES

ADVISORY COUNCIL ON BRAIN INJURIES §135.22A

Department of Health and Human Services, Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines 50319; 515.281.8465

Name	City	Term Ending/Type
Brenda Easter, Chair	Indianola	June 30, 2024
Danielle Brazant	Marion	June 30, 2024
Tereasa Clark	Ankeny	June 30, 2024
Andrea Gomez	Shenandoah	June 30, 2025
	Sioux City	
Chad Lang	Glenwood	June 30, 2024
	Burlington	
Jean Shelton	Ankeny	June 30, 2025
Ashley Smith	DeWitt	June 30, 2024
James Torner	Iowa City	June 30, 2025
Jordan True	Des Moines	June 30, 2025
Ex officio, nonvoting members		
Kathy Davis, designee of Administrator, Vocational Rehabilitation		
Services Division, Department of Workforce Development Statutory		
Toni Reimers, designee of Director, Department for the Blind Statutory		
McKenzie Snow, Director of Department of Education		
Michele Tilotta, designee of Director of Health and Human Services Statutory		
Melissa Walker, designee of Director, Special Education		
Services Division, Depart	ment of Education	Statutory

Voting members of the Advisory Council on Brain Injuries are appointed annually by the Governor and serve two-year terms. The council is composed of members who are survivors of brain injury, family members of individuals who have experienced a brain injury, and/or professionals working in a field related to brain injury services. In addition to appointed members, representation from various state agencies also comprise the council as nonvoting members.

The council studies the needs of individuals with brain injury and their families and makes recommendations regarding a comprehensive statewide service delivery system. The council also promotes and implements injury prevention strategies.