## PAUL G. COPENHAVER

Paul G. Copenhaver, was born on September 3, 1941 in Independence, Iowa. He attended Stanley Consolidated School and graduated from Oelwein High School in 1959. He married Gayle Elaine Thom on July 7, 1962 and their union yielded four children.

After high school he attended Iowa State University where he studied chemistry, later moving to California to work for Standard Oil. He completed his degree in Liberal Studies, graduating from Iowa State University in 2000. In 1964, he moved back to Independence to farm for the next 32 years.

He was active in his community, serving as a past board member and president of the Independence Community School Board. He served as a soil district commissioner and director of the Northeast Iowa Farm Business Association. In 1987, he was named Iowa Master Farmer by Wallaces' Farmer Magazine, an award given to farmers that not only demonstrate outstanding management of their farming operations but also provide community service and leadership in local, state and national organization. This award is the longest-running farmer recognition program in the country honoring more than 460 Iowa farm families.

He was a member and former elder at the First Presbyterian Church in Independence.

Paul was a Democrat from Lucas County. He was elected to the Iowa House of Representatives in the fall of 1980, serving for two terms. During his time, he served on the following committees: Agriculture, Human Resources and Ways & Means.

Representative Copenhaver passed away on April 26, 2014 at the age of 72.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE EIGHTY-SEVENTH GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF IOWA, That in the passing of the Honorable Paul G. Copenhaver, the State has lost an honored citizen and a faithful and useful public servant, and the House by this Resolution would express its appreciation of his service.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this Resolution be spread upon the Journal of the House, and that the Chief Clerk be directed to forward an enrolled copy to the family of the deceased.

SANDY SALMON BRUCE BEARINGER MICHAEL BERGAN Committee