Be It Further Resolved, That a copy of this Resolution be spread upon the Journal of the House, and that the Chief Clerk be directed to forward an enrolled copy to the family of the deceased.

BILL ROYER WILLIAM H. HARBOR HORACE DAGGETT

Committee

GEORGE E. PETRICK

Mr. Speaker: Your committee, appointed to prepare a suitable resolution commemorating the life, character, and public service of the late Honorable George E. Petrick, begs leave to submit the following memorial:

George E. Petrick was born November 9, 1917 in Mt. Vernon, Iowa, son of Frank and Jennie Petrick. He graduated from Mt. Vernon High School in 1935 and married Joanne Lnenicka in 1943, to which union were born four children, two sons and two daughters.

Mr. Petrick farmed in the Mt. Vernon area as well as owning and operating a farm implement business in Mt. Vernon for the past twenty-three years. He served on the Mt. Vernon Chamber of Commerce, the Lisbon-Mt. Vernon Rotary Club, and the Linn County Zoning Commission. He was a member of the Presbyterian Church, Masonic Lodge, Eastern Star, Linn County Farm Bureau, and Iowa Retail Farm Equipment Association.

A Republican, Mr. Petrick was elected to his first term in 1980 to represent House District 25 in the Sixty-ninth General Assembly.

Representative Petrick died June 26, 1982. Survivors include his wife, Joanne, of Mt. Vernon, Iowa; sons, Larry and John of Mt. Vernon, Iowa; daughter Kathryn of Mt. Vernon, Iowa, and daughter Diana of Parker, Colorado; and five grandchildren.

Now Therefore, Be It Resolved by the House of Representatives of the Seventieth General Assembly of Iowa, That in the passing of the Honorable George E. Petrick, the State has lost an honored citizen and a faithful and useful public servant, and the House by this Resolution would express its appreciation of his service.

Be It Further Resolved, That a copy of this Resolution be spread upon the Journal of the House, and that the Chief Clerk be directed to forward an enrolled copy to the family of the deceased.

> ANDY McKEAN DAVID OSTERBERG MYRON B. OXLEY

> > Committee