SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 11

BY SWEENEY, COURNOYER, ROZENBOOM, GREEN, DICKEY, KOELKER, ROWLEY, KLIMESH, SCHULTZ, SHIPLEY, WEBSTER, McCLINTOCK, PETERSEN, WESTRICH, EVANS, KRAAYENBRINK, DOTZLER, BOULTON, WINCKLER, DONAHUE, GIDDENS, REICHMAN, J. TAYLOR, WEINER, CELSI, BISIGNANO, SINCLAIR, BROWN, WAHLS, BENNETT, SALMON, ALONS, DAWSON, and LOFGREN

1 A Resolution honoring Caitlin Clark and the University

2 of Iowa Women's Basketball Program for their

3 historic season.

4 WHEREAS, the University of Iowa women's basketball 5 program (the Hawkeyes) entered the Big Ten tournament 6 with a 23-6 record; and

7 WHEREAS, after an exhilarating three games, the 8 Hawkeyes clinched the Big Ten Championship Title for 9 the second year in a row and proceeded on to the 10 2023 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) 11 tournament; and

12 WHEREAS, the Hawkeyes won five out of the six games 13 played during the NCAA tournament, managing to beat the 14 number one ranked team and previous champions on their 15 way to the championship match; and

16 WHEREAS, the Hawkeyes ended the season as the NCAA 17 national runner-up with a total of 31 wins, the most in 18 program history; and

19 WHEREAS, the leadership, knowledge, expertise,
20 and dedication of head coach Lisa Bluder, associate
21 head coaches Jan Jensen, Raina Harmon, and Abby
22 Stamp, directors Kathryn Reynolds, Hannah Bluder, Ben

LSB 2556XS (4) 90 -1- dg/rn 1/3

1 Lober, and Jennie Sertterh, special assistant Jenni 2 Fitzgerald, associate strength and condition coach 3 Lindsay Alexander, and P. Sue Beckwith, M.D., helped 4 inspire and prepare the fifteen student athlete members 5 of the Hawkeyes to realize their full potential and 6 compete at the highest level with determination and 7 class; and 8 WHEREAS, in both victory and defeat, the Hawkeyes 9 exhibited the highest level of respect for their 10 opponents, game officials, fans, each other, and the 11 game of basketball; and 12 WHEREAS, with a season record of 1,055 points, 270 13 rebounds, and 327 assists and being the only player 14 in the nation to have more than 1,000 points, 240 15 rebounds, 310 assists, or 45 steals this season, junior 16 Caitlin Clark broke two program records for scoring 17 the most points in a single season and making the most 18 assists in a single season; and 19 WHEREAS, Caitlin Clark also broke two NCAA single 20 tournament records for most three-point field goals 21 (24) and most points scored (191); and 22 WHEREAS, for her extraordinary athleticism, Caitlin 23 Clark was honored as the Associated Press Women's 24 College Basketball Player of the Year, the Atlantic 25 National Player of the Year, the Big Ten Player of 26 the Year for the second consecutive year, and the 27 United States Women's Basketball Writers Association 28 National Player of the Year, and she received the 2023 29 Naismith Trophy, the highest honor an individual may be 30 presented for being women's college basketball's most

> LSB 2556XS (4) 90 -2- dg/rn 2/3

S.R. 11

1 outstanding player; NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE, That the Senate 2 3 congratulates the University of Iowa Women's Basketball 4 Program for its historic 2022-2023 season and the 5 inspiration and sense of pride its season has brought 6 to all Iowans; and BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the Senate wishes 7 8 to show its gratitude and appreciation for the 9 extraordinary efforts of the University of Iowa Women's 10 Basketball Team by recognizing and congratulating: #1 Molly Davis, Guard, Senior 11 12 #2 Taylor McCabe, Guard, Freshman 13 #3 Sydney Affolter, Guard, Sophomore 14 #4 Kylie Feuerbach, Guard, Junior #13 Shateah Wetering, Forward, Redshirt Sophomore 15 16 #14 McKenna Warnock, Forward/Guard, Senior 17 #20 Kate Martin, Guard, Redshirt Senior #22 Caitlin Clark, Guard, Junior 18 19 #23 Jada Gyamfi, Forward, Freshman 20 #24 Gabbie Marshall, Guard, Senior 21 #25 Monika Czinano, Forward/Center, Senior 22 #34 A.J. Ediger, Forward, Sophomore 23 #40 Sharon Goodman, Center, Redshirt Sophomore 24 #44 Addison O'Grady, Forward/Center, Sophomore 25 #45 Hannah Stuelke, Forward, Freshman; and 26 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That upon passage, the 27 Secretary of the Senate shall transmit a copy of this 28 resolution to head coach Lisa Bluder and University of 29 Iowa President Dr. Barbara J. Wilson.