Senate Resolution 109 - Introduced

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 109

- BY SINCLAIR, GARRETT, SALMON, COSTELLO, LOFGREN,
 GREEN, DICKEY, SCHULTZ, DAWSON, DRISCOLL, KOELKER,
 WESTRICH, REICHMAN, EDLER, COURNOYER, GRUENHAGEN,
 ROZENBOOM, KRAAYENBRINK, SWEENEY, SHIPLEY, ROWLEY,
 WEBSTER, BROWN, ALONS, J. TAYLOR, McCLINTOCK,
 QUIRMBACH, JOCHUM, BOULTON, KNOX, GIDDENS,
 WINCKLER, CELSI, DONAHUE, DOTZLER, TRONE GARRIOTT,
 T. TAYLOR, PETERSEN, and WEINER
- 1 A Resolution recognizing and congratulating the
- 2 Iowa State University Cyclones (Cyclones) men's
- 3 basketball team for a successful 2023-2024 season.
- 4 WHEREAS, the Cyclones men's basketball team
- 5 finished second in the Big 12 conference regular-season
- 6 standings earning a double-bye in the first two rounds
- 7 of the conference tournament; and
- 8 WHEREAS, the Cyclones won the Big 12 Conference
- 9 Tournament championship for the sixth time in school
- 10 history, having now won every Conference championship
- 11 game in which the team has competed, by defeating the
- 12 Houston Cougars, 69-41; and
- 13 WHEREAS, the championship matchup featured a clash
- 14 between the conference's best defensive teams, the
- 15 Cyclones reigned supreme and held the Associated Press
- 16 Top-25 (AP Poll) number-one team to just 26.8 percent
- 17 shooting, landing the Cyclones as the fourth-ranked
- 18 team in the AP Poll; and
- 19 WHEREAS, the victory marked the fourth time the
- 20 Cyclones have won against the top-ranked team with the
- 21 28-point margin of victory becoming the worst loss for

S.R. 109

- 1 a number-one ranked team since 1968; and
- WHEREAS, the Cyclones used a second-half run
- 3 outscoring the Cougars 18-3, eventually building the
- 4 lead to 32 points in front of the "Hilton South" crowd
- 5 in Kansas City before the final whistle; and
- 6 WHEREAS, the Cyclones were led by freshman Milan
- 7 Momcilovic (18 points), Keshon Gilbert (16 points),
- 8 and Hason Ward (13 points off the bench) in the
- 9 championship game, with Milan Momcilovic, Keshon
- 10 Gilbert, and Tamin Lipsey earning spots on the Big
- 11 12 Championship All-Tournament team, and Keshon
- 12 Gilbert being named the tournament's Most Outstanding
- 13 Player; and
- 14 WHEREAS, the Cyclones head coach T.J. Otzelberger,
- 15 became the program's fourth coach to win a conference
- 16 championship tournament and won the second-most games
- 17 in a single season in school history (29) on his way to
- 18 being named a finalist for the Naismith Coach of the
- 19 Year honors; and
- 20 WHEREAS, following the conference-champion automatic
- 21 bid into the National Collegiate Athletic Association
- 22 (NCAA) men's basketball tournament, the Cyclones earned
- 23 a No. 2 seed and claimed victories over South Dakota
- 24 State and Washington State to reach the "Sweet 16",
- 25 eventually falling to Illinois; and
- 26 WHEREAS, sophomore point guard Tamin Lipsey was one
- 27 of four finalists for the Naismith Defensive Player
- 28 of the Year and received an AP All-American honorable
- 29 mention, in addition to earning National Association of
- 30 Basketball Coaches All-District 8 Honors and College

S.R. 109

- 1 Sports Communicators Academic All-District honors; and
- 2 WHEREAS, head coach T.J. Otzelberger became the
- 3 Cyclones' first coach to lead two teams to the Sweet
- 4 16, and joined Tim Floyd as the only coaches in program
- 5 history to take a team to the NCAA tournament in each
- 6 of the coach's respective first three seasons; NOW
- 7 THEREFORE,
- 8 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE, That the Senate
- 9 congratulates head coach T.J. Otzelberger, and all
- 10 the members of the Cyclones men's basketball team for
- 11 an outstanding 2023-2024 season, and for representing
- 12 the state in the second and third rounds of the NCAA
- 13 Division 1 men's basketball tournament.