Senate Resolution 107 - Introduced

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 107

BY COURNOYER, SWEENEY, GIDDENS, GARRETT, BOULTON,
JOCHUM, WEBSTER, LOFGREN, DICKEY, WHITVER, WEINER,
EVANS, KOELKER, BROWN, J. TAYLOR, SHIPLEY, and
SINCLAIR

- 1 A Resolution honoring and congratulating the University
- 2 of Iowa Hawkeye women's wrestling team for
- 3 winning the National Collegiate Women's Wrestling
- 4 Tournament.
- 5 WHEREAS, more than 8,000 fans attended the inaugural
- 6 home dual of the University of Iowa Hawkeye women's
- 7 wrestling team, breaking the record for attendance at a
- 8 collegiate women's wrestling event; and
- 9 WHEREAS, head coach Clarissa Chun was named the 2024
- 10 National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) Coach of
- 11 the Year and the USA Today's Woman of the Year Honoree
- 12 for the state of Iowa; and
- 13 WHEREAS, the Hawkeyes finished the inaugural season
- 14 undefeated in dual competition and were ranked second
- 15 in the country by the NWCA; and
- 16 WHEREAS, the Hawkeyes finished the 2024 National
- 17 Collegiate Women's Wrestling Tournament with six
- 18 individual champions, Emilie Gonzalez, Ava Bayless,
- 19 Felicity Taylor, Reese Larramendy, Marlynne Deede, and
- 20 Kylie Welker, and garnered 12 All-American honors; and
- 21 WHEREAS, each of the six national champions
- 22 secured a spot at the 2024 United States Olympic Team
- 23 Trials; and
- 24 WHEREAS, the University of Iowa Hawkeye women's
- 25 wrestling team has contributed greatly to the

S.R. 107

- 1 advancement of women's wrestling; NOW THEREFORE,
- 2 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE, That the Senate honors
- 3 and congratulates the University of Iowa Hawkeye
- 4 women's wrestling team and head coach Clarissa Chun on
- 5 an impressive inaugural season in wrestling.