HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 17

BY ISENHART, GRABER, JAMES, BRADLEY, JOHNSON, FISHER, LUNDGREN, TUREK, and GAINES 1 A Resolution to recognize and congratulate the women's basketball team of Clarke University in Dubuque for 2 3 their 2023 National Association of Intercollegiate 4 Athletics championship. WHEREAS, the Clarke University women's basketball 5 6 team (the Pride) had a 19-3 conference record and a 7 33-4 overall record, entered the National Association 8 of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) tournament as a 9 number two seed, and hosted first-round games; and 10 WHEREAS, the Pride began the NAIA tournament with ll the Pride's first ever win in a quarterfinal match 12 by defeating the number one seed Campbellsville 13 University; and WHEREAS, the Pride continued its winning streak 14 15 to the championship match at the Tyson Events 16 Center in Sioux City, Iowa, where they paired off 17 against the number one ranked and defending national 18 champions, Thomas More University from Crestview Hills, 19 Kentucky; and WHEREAS, on March 18, 2023, after a hard-fought 20 21 game, the Pride defeated Thomas More University 63-52 22 for the Pride's first ever national athletic title; and WHEREAS, the Pride won all six of their tournament 23 24 games by an average of 11.5 points per game, and won 25 each of their four games played in Sioux City by double 26 digits; and

27 WHEREAS, during the NAIA tournament, Skylar

LSB 2552YH (9) 90 -1- dg/rn

1/3

1 Culbertson became the program's all-time leader in 2 total assists, finishing with 492, and Tina Ubl became 3 the program's all-time leading scorer with 1,992 points 4 to finish her college career; and 5 WHEREAS, for her outstanding performance, Tina Ubl 6 was named the NAIA tournament Most Valuable Player; and 7 WHEREAS, Tina Ubl, Nicole McDermott, and Giana 8 Michels were named to the all-tournament teams; and 9 WHEREAS, during their regular season, the Pride had 10 three players, Emma Kelchen, Nicole McDermott, and 11 Giana Michels, reach the 1,000-point club for their 12 careers, becoming the 15th, 16th, and 17th players in 13 program history to do so; and WHEREAS, the Pride led the Heart of America Athletic 14 15 Conference with seven all-conference selections, 16 including Tina Ubl (1st team), Nicole McDermott (1st 17 team), Skylar Culbertson (2nd team), Emma Kelchen (2nd 18 team), Giana Michels (honorable mention), Taylor Haase 19 (honorable mention), and Mya Merschman (honorable 20 mention); and WHEREAS, for her invaluable guidance and leadership 21 22 on and off the court, head coach Courtney Boyd was 23 named the NAIA national coach of the year, adding to 24 her career portfolio after having led the Kirkwood 25 Community College Eagles to a National Junior Athletic 26 Association basketball title in 2007; and 27 WHEREAS, Coach Boyd hails from Keokuk, and several 28 Pride players attended high schools across Iowa, 29 including Dubuque, Cascade, Bellevue, Montezuma, and 30 Donnellson, attesting to the quality of Iowa education

1 and the role of extracurricular activities in the 2 personal formation of Iowa's youth; NOW THEREFORE, 3 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, That 4 the House of Representatives congratulates the Clarke 5 University women's basketball team, including players, 6 coaches, and support staff on their 2023 NAIA national 7 championship; and

8 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That upon adoption of 9 this resolution, the Chief Clerk of the House of 10 Representatives shall transmit copies of this 11 resolution to the Clarke University women's basketball 12 head coach, Courtney Boyd, athletic director, Curt 13 Long, and the president of Clarke University, Fletcher 14 Lamkin.