## House Resolution 16 - Introduced

## HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 16

## BY NORDMAN

- 1 A Resolution congratulating the University of Iowa
- 2 women's basketball team on their extraordinary 2023
- 3 season.
- 4 WHEREAS, the University of Iowa women's basketball
- 5 team (the Hawkeyes) had a historic program-best record
- 6 of 31 wins during the 2023 season, earning it the title
- 7 of Big Ten Champions and National Collegiate Athletics
- 8 Association (NCAA) runner-ups; and
- 9 WHEREAS, the Hawkeyes' show of dignity and respect
- 10 on and off the court serves as an excellent example of
- 11 Iowa sportsmanship and athleticism; and
- 12 WHEREAS, the Hawkeyes performed extraordinarily
- 13 during the NCAA tournament, even defeating the
- 14 defending champions and number one ranked team during
- 15 the tournament; and
- 16 WHEREAS, Hawkeye junior Caitlin Clark's performance
- 17 during the 2023 season broke several program, division,
- 18 and national records, including the highest point total
- 19 set by a single player during an NCAA tournament (191)
- 20 and the only person in NCAA tournament history to have
- 21 a 40-point triple-double; NOW THEREFORE,
- BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES,
- 23 That Iowa is proud of the University of Iowa women's
- 24 basketball team and all that the team members,
- 25 coaches, and support staff have done to make the team's
- 26 accomplishments possible during the 2023 basketball
- 27 season, and the state looks forward to cheering the
- 28 team on next season; and

## H.R. 16

- 1 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the House of
- 2 Representatives congratulates coaches Lisa Bluder, Jan
- 3 Jensen, Raina Harmon, Abby Stamp, and support staff
- 4 Kathryn Reynolds, Jenni Fitzgerald, Ugo Nwaigwe, Ryan
- 5 Gruebel, Lindsay Alexander, and Jennie Sertterh for
- 6 their work in creating a winning culture and leading
- 7 the University of Iowa to a winning season; and
- 8 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the House of
- 9 Representatives recognizes and congratulates each
- 10 member of the 2023 University of Iowa women's
- 11 basketball team for their contributions; and
- 12 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That the House of
- 13 Representatives extends its best wishes to University
- 14 of Iowa seniors Monika Czinano and McKenna Warnock and
- 15 hopes the best for their future endeavors; and
- 16 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That upon passage, the Chief
- 17 Clerk of the House of Representatives shall transmit a
- 18 copy of this resolution to head coach Lisa Bluder and
- 19 University of Iowa President Dr. Barbara J. Wilson.