HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 114

BY SIEGRIST, JACOBY, FORBES, JONES, STONE, SIECK, VONDRAN, MOHR, JENEARY, GERHOLD, SHIPLEY, MOORE, LOHSE, WILZ, HENDERSON, KURTH, GRASSLEY, INGELS, YOUNG, JOHNSON, DUNWELL, GEHLBACH, COLLINS, BOSSMAN, SCHOLTEN, KONFRST, JAMES, KRESSIG, WILBURN, B. MEYER, TUREK, GJERDE, SCHEETZ, SEXTON, BUCK, P. THOMPSON, NIELSEN, BERGAN, ZABNER, SRINIVAS, STOLTENBERG, COOLING, MADISON, HOLT, WILSON, and RINKER

A Resolution honoring and congratulating the University
 of Iowa Hawkeye women's wrestling team for

3 winning the National Collegiate Women's Wrestling4 Tournament.

5 WHEREAS, more than 8,000 fans attended the inaugural 6 home dual of the University of Iowa Hawkeye women's 7 wrestling team, breaking the record for attendance at a 8 collegiate women's wrestling event; and

9 WHEREAS, head coach Clarissa Chun was named the 2024 10 National Wrestling Coaches Association (NWCA) Coach of 11 the Year and the USA Today's Woman of the Year Honoree 12 for the state of Iowa; and

13 WHEREAS, the Hawkeyes finished the inaugural season 14 undefeated in dual competition and were ranked second 15 in the country by the NWCA; and

16 WHEREAS, the Hawkeyes finished the 2024 National 17 Collegiate Women's Wrestling Tournament with six 18 individual champions, Emilie Gonzalez, Ava Bayless, 19 Felicity Taylor, Reese Larramendy, Marlynne Deede, and 20 Kylie Welker, and garnered 12 All-American honors; and

-1-

LSB 6369YH (2) 90 sc/jm

1/2

1 WHEREAS, each of the six national champions
2 secured a spot at the 2024 United States Olympic Team
3 Trials; and
4 WHEREAS, the University of Iowa Hawkeye women's
5 wrestling team has contributed greatly to the
6 advancement of women's wrestling; NOW THEREFORE,
7 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, That
8 the House of Representatives honors and congratulates
9 the University of Iowa Hawkeye women's wrestling team
10 and head coach Clarissa Chun on an impressive inaugural
11 season in wrestling.