House File 231 - Introduced

HOUSE FILE 231 BY DETERMANN, BRADLEY, MOMMSEN, COOLING, COLLINS, and KAUFMANN

## A BILL FOR

1	An Ac	t	relating	to	regional	representation	and	residency
---	-------	---	----------	----	----------	----------------	-----	-----------

- 2 requirements for members of the state transportation
- 3 commission, and including effective date and applicability
- 4 provisions.
- 5 BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF IOWA:

Section 1. Section 307A.1A, subsection 1, Code 2023, is 1 2 amended to read as follows: 1. a. There is created a state transportation commission 3 4 which shall consist of seven members, not more than four of 5 whom shall be from the same political party. The governor 6 shall appoint the members of the state transportation 7 commission for a term of four years beginning at 12:01 a.m. 8 on July 1 in the year of appointment and expiring at 12:00 9 midnight on June 30 in the year of expiration, subject to 10 confirmation by the senate. For each of the seven regions of 11 the state, as designated by paragraph "b'', the governor shall 12 appoint one member to represent the region, and the member 13 shall reside in the region. b. For purposes of this subsection, the state is divided 14 15 into seven regions, which shall be composed of the following 16 counties: (1) Region 1 consists of Buena Vista, Calhoun, Cherokee, 17 18 Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Franklin, Hamilton, Hardin, Humboldt, 19 Ida, Kossuth, Lyon, O'Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, 20 Pocahontas, Sac, Sioux, Webster, Woodbury, and Wright counties. 21 (2) Region 2 consists of Black Hawk, Bremer, Buchanan, 22 Butler, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Fayette, Floyd, Grundy, 23 Hancock, Howard, Mitchell, Winnebago, Winneshiek, and Worth 24 counties. (3) Region 3 consists of Allamakee, Clayton, Clinton, 25 26 Delaware, Dubuque, Jackson, and Scott counties. 27 (4) Region 4 consists of Adair, Audubon, Carroll, Cass, 28 Crawford, Fremont, Greene, Guthrie, Harrison, Mills, Monona, 29 Pottawattamie, and Shelby counties. (5) Region 5 consists of Boone, Dallas, Jasper, Madison, 30 31 Mahaska, Marion, Marshall, Polk, Poweshiek, Story, Tama, and 32 Warren counties. 33 (6) Region 6 consists of Benton, Cedar, Des Moines, 34 Henry, Iowa, Johnson, Jones, Lee, Linn, Louisa, and Muscatine 35 counties.

th/ns

1 (7) Region 7 consists of Adams, Appanoose, Clarke, Davis, 2 Decatur, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lucas, Monroe, Montgomery, Page, 3 Ringgold, Taylor, Union, Van Buren, Wapello, Washington, and 4 Wayne counties. 307A.9 Residency requirement -5 Sec. 2. NEW SECTION. 6 resignation from office. A member of the commission appointed to represent a region 7 8 of the state, as described in section 307A.1A, subsection 1, 9 who no longer resides in the region shall be deemed to have 10 resigned from the commission and the vacancy shall be filled 11 as described in section 307A.4.

12 Sec. 3. EFFECTIVE DATE. This Act, being deemed of immediate 13 importance, takes effect upon enactment.

Sec. 4. APPLICABILITY AND TRANSITION. 14 This Act applies 15 to members of the state transportation commission appointed 16 and confirmed on or after the effective date of this Act. The 17 first regular term appointment made on or after the effective 18 date of this Act shall represent region 1. The second regular 19 term appointment made on or after the effective date of 20 this Act shall represent region 2. The third regular term 21 appointment made on or after the effective date of this Act 22 shall represent region 3. The fourth regular term appointment 23 made on or after the effective date of this Act shall represent 24 region 4. The fifth regular term appointment made on or after 25 the effective date of this Act shall represent region 5. The 26 sixth regular term appointment made on or after the effective 27 date of this Act shall represent region 6. The seventh regular 28 term appointment made on or after the effective date of this 29 Act shall represent region 7.

30

## EXPLANATION

The inclusion of this explanation does not constitute agreement with the explanation's substance by the members of the general assembly.

33 Under current law, the state transportation commission (STC) 34 is charged with developing, coordinating, and annually updating 35 a comprehensive transportation policy and plan for the state,

-2-

LSB 1342YH (2) 90 th/ns

## H.F. 231

1 among other duties.

2 This bill requires that for each of the seven regions of the 3 state, as designated by the bill, one member of the STC must 4 be appointed to represent, and must reside in, each region. 5 The bill divides the state into seven regions with each region 6 consisting of certain adjoining counties.

7 The bill provides that a member appointed to represent a 8 region who no longer resides in the region shall be deemed to 9 have resigned from the STC and the vacancy shall be filled as 10 provided by current law.

11 The bill takes effect upon enactment, applies to members of 12 the STC appointed and confirmed on or after the effective date 13 of the bill, and sets forth transition provisions.

-3-