House Resolution 8 - Introduced HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 8 BY HANUSA A Resolution to recognize the Iowa Small Business 1 Development Centers and honor 2019 award winners. 2 WHEREAS, since 1981, the Iowa Small Business 3 Development Centers have provided expert and 4 confidential business counseling services and training 5 workshops to entrepreneurs in all 99 Iowa counties; and 6 WHEREAS, the Iowa Small Business Development Centers 7 provide a wide variety of services to foster the growth 8 of Iowa business, including one-to-one professional 9 business counseling, learning opportunities, 10 workshops, courses and classes, and a variety of other 11 services; and 12 WHEREAS, the Iowa Small Business Development Centers 13 have announced the 2019 award winners for the centers’ 14 two special entrepreneur awards; and 15 WHEREAS, Sara Winkleman of Bancroft, the owner of 16 S&B Farmstead Distillery, is the 2019 Deb Dalziel 17 Woman Entrepreneur Achievement Award winner, an 18 award which honors an Iowa woman entrepreneur who has 19 significantly changed or improved her life and the 20 lives of others; and 21 WHEREAS, Staci Ackerson of Charles City, the owner 22 of Shankland Insurance, has received the 2019 Neal 23 Smith Entrepreneur of the Year Award, an award named in 24 honor of the long-serving Iowa congressman, given to an 25 Iowa entrepreneur who has been in business a minimum of 26 three years and has been significantly assisted by an 27 Iowa Small Business Development Center; NOW THEREFORE, 28 -1- LSB 2498HH (2) 88 ko/rn 1/ 2
H.R. 8 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, That 1 the House of Representatives honors award winners Sara 2 Winkleman and Staci Ackerson, congratulates them on 3 their success, and recognizes and expresses its thanks 4 to the Iowa Small Business Development Centers for 5 their ongoing work in making Iowa a better place to 6 live and work. 7 -2- LSB 2498HH (2) 88 ko/rn 2/ 2