Senate File 174 - Introduced SENATE FILE 174 BY SEGEBART , GUTH , LOFGREN , ROZENBOOM , GARRETT , C. JOHNSON , GREENE , BREITBACH , SCHULTZ , SHIPLEY , SINCLAIR , and SCHNEIDER A BILL FOR An Act authorizing Carroll and Clay counties to issue driver’s 1 licenses, nonoperator identification cards, and persons with 2 disabilities identification devices. 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF IOWA: 4 TLSB 1036XS (3) 87 ns/nh
S.F. 174 Section 1. Section 321M.3, Code 2017, is amended to read as 1 follows: 2 321M.3 Authorization to issue licenses. 3 Adair, Adams, Allamakee, Appanoose, Audubon, Benton, Boone, 4 Bremer, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, 5 Cedar, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Clarke, Clay, Clayton, Crawford, 6 Dallas, Davis, Decatur, Delaware, Dickinson, Emmet, Fayette, 7 Floyd, Franklin, Fremont, Greene, Grundy, Guthrie, Hamilton, 8 Hancock, Hardin, Harrison, Henry, Howard, Humboldt, Ida, 9 Iowa, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Jones, Keokuk, Kossuth, 10 Lee, Louisa, Lucas, Lyon, Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Mills, 11 Mitchell, Monona, Monroe, Montgomery, O’Brien, Osceola, 12 Page, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Poweshiek, Ringgold, 13 Sac, Shelby, Sioux, Tama, Taylor, Union, Van Buren, Warren, 14 Washington, Wayne, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Worth, and Wright 15 counties shall be authorized to issue driver’s licenses, 16 nonoperator identification cards, and persons with disabilities 17 identification devices on a permanent basis, provided that 18 such counties continue to meet the department’s standards for 19 issuance. 20 EXPLANATION 21 The inclusion of this explanation does not constitute agreement with 22 the explanation’s substance by the members of the general assembly. 23 Code section 321M.3 authorizes certain counties to issue 24 driver’s licenses, nonoperator identification cards, and 25 persons with disabilities identification devices, provided the 26 counties continue to meet the department of transportation’s 27 standards for issuance. This bill adds Carroll and Clay 28 counties to the list of authorized counties. 29 -1- LSB 1036XS (3) 87 ns/nh 1/ 1