Senate Resolution 26 - Introduced

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 26 BY COMMITTEE ON RULES AND ADMINISTRATION (SUCCESSOR TO SR 25)

- 1 A Resolution honoring the University of Northern Iowa
- 2 men's basketball team and program.
- 3 WHEREAS, for the 2014-2015 season, the University
- 4 of Northern Iowa (UNI) men's basketball team had an
- 5 overall record of 31-4, breaking the school record for
- 6 most victories in a season; and
- 7 WHEREAS, the Panthers achieved the team's highest
- 8 national rankings of 9th by the USA Today Coaches Poll
- 9 and 10th by the Associated Press; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the Panthers are the 2015 Missouri Valley
- 11 Conference (MVC) champions, posting a 16-2 conference
- 12 record on the way to earning an unprecedented 5th seed
- 13 in the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA)
- 14 Division I Men's Basketball Tournament; and
- WHEREAS, the team delighted fans at the McLeod
- 16 Center by going 15-0 at home; and
- 17 WHEREAS, the team's 16 consecutive wins and seven
- 18 consecutive road wins ignited UNI fans and alumni not
- 19 only in the Cedar Valley that UNI calls home but across
- 20 the state, the nation, and the world; and
- 21 WHEREAS, senior forward Seth Tuttle of Sheffield,
- 22 Iowa is a finalist for NCAA Player of the Year and
- 23 received numerous other awards for his stellar play,
- 24 including the Larry Bird MVC Player of the Year, the
- 25 MVC Tournament Most Outstanding Player, and 2nd team
- 26 All-American by the United States Basketball Writers
- 27 Association, Sporting News, Bleacher Report, and Sports

S.R. 26

- 1 Illustrated.com; and
- 2 WHEREAS, junior quard Wes Washpun, a graduate of
- 3 Cedar Rapids Washington High School, was named Missouri
- 4 Valley Conference Sixth Man of the Year; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Head Coach Ben Jacobson was named the
- 6 2014-2015 MVC Coach of the Year; and
- 7 WHEREAS, 11 of the 16 UNI men's basketball team
- 8 members are native Iowans; and
- 9 WHEREAS, the entire 2014-2015 UNI men's basketball
- 10 roster deserves to be named: Matt Bohannon, Nate Buss,
- 11 Klint Carlson, Ted Friedman, Paul Jesperson, Robert
- 12 Knar, Bennett Koch, Wyatt Lohaus, Max Martino, Deon
- 13 Mitchell, Jeremy Morgan, Taylor Olson, Kasey Semler,
- 14 Marvin Singleton, Seth Tuttle, and Wes Washpun; NOW
- 15 THEREFORE,
- 16 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE, That the Senate
- 17 recognizes and congratulates the UNI men's basketball
- 18 team, Head Coach Jacobson, and the coaching staff and
- 19 program on its outstanding 2014-2015 season; and
- 20 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That, upon adoption,
- 21 the Secretary of the Senate prepare a copy of this
- 22 Resolution for presentation to Head Coach Jacobson
- 23 and the University of Northern Iowa Panthers men's
- 24 basketball team.