## House Resolution 28 - Introduced

## HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 28

## BY KRESSIG and ROGERS

- 1 A Resolution honoring the University of Northern Iowa
- 2 men's basketball team and program.
- 3 WHEREAS, for the 2014-2015 season, the University
- 4 of Northern Iowa (UNI) men's basketball team had an
- 5 overall record of 31-4, breaking the school record for
- 6 most victories in a season; and
- 7 WHEREAS, the Panthers achieved the team's highest
- 8 national rankings of 9th by the USA Today Coaches Poll
- 9 and 10th by the Associated Press; and
- 10 WHEREAS, the Panthers are the 2015 Missouri Valley
- 11 Conference (MVC) champions, posting a 16-2 conference
- 12 record on the way to earning an unprecedented 5th seed
- 13 in the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA)
- 14 Division I Men's Basketball Tournament; and
- WHEREAS, the team delighted fans at the McLeod
- 16 Center by going 15-0 at home; and
- 17 WHEREAS, the team's 16 consecutive wins and seven
- 18 consecutive road wins ignited UNI fans and alumni not
- 19 only in the Cedar Valley that UNI calls home but across
- 20 the state, the nation, and the world; and
- 21 WHEREAS, senior forward Seth Tuttle of Sheffield,
- 22 Iowa is a finalist for NCAA Player of the Year and
- 23 received numerous other awards for his stellar play,
- 24 including the Larry Bird MVC Player of the Year, the
- 25 MVC Tournament Most Outstanding Player, and 2nd team
- 26 All-American by the United States Basketball Writers
- 27 Association, Sporting News, Bleacher Report, and Sports
- 28 Illustrated.com; and

## H.R. 28

- 1 WHEREAS, junior guard Wes Washpun, a graduate of
- 2 Cedar Rapids Washington High School, was named Missouri
- 3 Valley Conference Sixth Man of the Year; and
- 4 WHEREAS, Head Coach Ben Jacobson was named the
- 5 2014-2015 MVC Coach of the Year; and
- 6 WHEREAS, 11 of the 16 UNI men's basketball team
- 7 members are native Iowans; and
- 8 WHEREAS, the entire 2014-2015 UNI men's basketball
- 9 roster deserves to be named: Matt Bohannon, Nate Buss,
- 10 Klint Carlson, Ted Friedman, Paul Jesperson, Robert
- 11 Knar, Bennett Koch, Wyatt Lohaus, Max Martino, Deon
- 12 Mitchell, Jeremy Morgan, Taylor Olson, Kasey Semler,
- 13 Marvin Singleton, Seth Tuttle, and Wes Washpun; NOW
- 14 THEREFORE,
- 15 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES,
- 16 That the House of Representatives recognizes and
- 17 congratulates the UNI men's basketball team, Head Coach
- 18 Jacobson, and the coaching staff and program on its
- 19 outstanding 2014-2015 season; and
- 20 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That, upon adoption, the
- 21 Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives prepare a
- 22 copy of this Resolution for presentation to Head Coach
- 23 Jacobson and the University of Northern Iowa Panthers
- 24 men's basketball team.