Senate Resolution 113 - Introduced SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 113 BY QUIRMBACH A Resolution honoring the Iowa State University men’s 1 basketball team. 2 WHEREAS, the Ides of March took on new meaning when 3 the Iowa State University men’s basketball team, the 4 Cyclones, won their second Big 12 Conference Tournament 5 Championship on March 15, 2014; and 6 WHEREAS, the 16th-ranked Cyclones won this year’s 7 championship with wins over Kansas State University and 8 the University of Kansas and finally with a 74-65 win 9 over Baylor University; and 10 WHEREAS, in the championship game the Cyclones 11 demonstrated determination and tenacity, winning a 12 come-from-behind victory in the last seven minutes of 13 the game; and 14 WHEREAS, teammates DeAndre Kane, Georges Niang, 15 Naz Long, Dustin Hogue, and Big 12 player of the year 16 Melvin Ejim all scored in double digits to clinch the 17 win; and 18 WHEREAS, fourth-year Head Coach Fred Hoiberg 19 dedicated the win to Johnny Orr, the dynamic former 20 coach who passed away in 2013; and 21 WHEREAS, the Cyclones ended the season in high 22 style, with a third-straight NCAA tournament appearance 23 capped by a Sweet 16 appearance, just the fourth in 24 Iowa State history and the first since 2000, and losing 25 by only 5 points to eventual champion University of 26 Connecticut; NOW THEREFORE, 27 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE, That the Senate 28 -1- LSB 6212SS (2) 85 jr/rj 1/ 2
S.R. 113 congratulates Head Coach Fred Hoiberg, the other 1 members of the Cyclones coaching staff, and the members 2 of the 2013-2014 Iowa State University men’s basketball 3 team for a brilliant season that culminated in the Big 4 12 Conference Tournament Championship and a historic 5 appearance in the NCAA tournament as a member of the 6 Sweet 16. 7 -2- LSB 6212SS (2) 85 jr/rj 2/ 2