## Senate Study Bill 1127 - Introduced

SEN	ATE FILE
ВУ	(PROPOSED COMMITTEE ON
	AGRICULTURE BILL BY
	CHAIRPERSON SENG)

## A BILL FOR

- 1 An Act placing the agricultural development authority within
- 2 the department of agriculture and land stewardship.
- 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF IOWA:

```
S.F.
```

- 1 Section 1. Section 175.3, subsection 1, paragraphs a and c,
- 2 Code 2011, are amended to read as follows:
- 3 a. The agricultural development authority is established
- 4 within the department of agriculture and land stewardship. The
- 5 agency is constituted as a public instrumentality and agency
- 6 of the state exercising public and essential governmental
- 7 functions.
- 8 c. The powers of the authority are vested in and exercised
- 9 by a board of ten members with nine members appointed by
- 10 the governor subject to confirmation by the senate. The
- 11 treasurer of state secretary of agriculture or the treasurer's
- 12 secretary's designee shall serve as an ex officio nonvoting
- 13 member. No more than five appointed members shall belong to
- 14 the same political party. As far as possible the governor
- 15 shall include within the membership persons who represent
- 16 financial institutions experienced in agricultural lending, the
- 17 real estate sales industry, farmers, beginning farmers, average
- 18 taxpayers, local government, soil and water conservation
- 19 district officials, agricultural educators, and other persons
- 20 specially interested in family farm development.
- 21 EXPLANATION
- 22 This bill amends provisions affecting the agricultural
- 23 development authority (Code chapter 175), which is organized as
- 24 an independent self-funding agency charged to provide economic
- 25 assistance to farmers. The authority is controlled by a
- 26 board of 10 members, including nine members appointed by the
- 27 governor and the treasurer of state who serves as an ex officio
- 28 nonvoting member.
- 29 The bill provides that the authority is to be housed within
- 30 the department of agriculture and land stewardship, and the
- 31 secretary replaces the treasurer of state as the ex officio
- 32 nonvoting member.