House Resolution 5 - Introduced

PAG LIN

1 1

1 11

1

1

1

2

2 2

2

25 1

28

H.R. _____ S.R. ____ HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. ____ BY REICHERT, COHOON, JACOBY, and STRUYK 3 A Resolution to recognize the Iowa Small Business Development Centers and honor 2008 award winners Sally Nichols and John Lohman. 6 WHEREAS, since 1981, the Iowa Small Business 7 Development Centers have provided expert and 8 confidential business counseling services and training 9 workshops to entrepreneurs in all 99 Iowa counties; 1 10 and WHEREAS, the Iowa Small Business Development 1 12 Centers provide a wide variety of services to foster 1 13 the growth of Iowa business, including one=to=one 14 professional business counseling; learning 1 15 opportunities == workshops, courses and classes, 1 16 internet=based learning, telephone and e=based 1 17 contact, and print and electronic materials; resource 1 18 connections == financing sources, state and federal 1 19 programs, associations, databases, local and regional 1 20 programs, host institutions, and communities; and 21 specialty programs and assistance == business 22 succession, market research, strategic planning, 1 23 MyEntreNet, introduction to international business, 24 and community building; and WHEREAS, the Iowa Small Business Development 1 26 Centers have announced the 2008 award winners for its 27 two special entrepreneur of the year awards; and WHEREAS, Sally Nichols is the 2008 Deb Dalziel 29 Woman Entrepreneur Achievement Award winner, an award 30 which honors an Iowa woman entrepreneur who has 1 significantly changed or improved her life and the 2 lives of others; and WHEREAS, John Lohman has been selected to receive $4\ \mbox{the Neal Smith Entrepreneur of the Year Award, an}$ 5 award named in honor of the long=serving Iowa 6 congressman, given to an Iowa entrepreneur who has 7 been in business a minimum of three years and has been 8 significantly assisted by an Iowa Small Business 9 Development Center; NOW THEREFORE, 2 10 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, 11 That the House of Representatives honors award winners 12 Sally Nichols and John Lohman and congratulates them

2 13 on their success, and recognizes and expresses its

14 thanks to the Iowa Small Business Development Centers

2 14 thanks to the Iowa Small Business Development Centers 2 15 for their ongoing work in making Iowa a better place 2 16 to live and work. 2 17 LSB 1932HH 83 2 18 jr/rj/24