HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 124

BY WESSEL-KROESCHELL, D. OLSON, DEYOE, and HEDDENS 1 A Resolution congratulating the Iowa State University 2 football team for its victory at the Insight Bowl. WHEREAS, In 2009, the Iowa State football team, the 3 4 Cyclones, was in its first season under head coach Paul 5 Rhoads, an Iowa native; and 6 WHEREAS, Coach Rhoads told the members of his team 7 before the season that they would win a bowl game; and WHEREAS, the Iowa State Cyclones posted their first 8 9 winning season since 2005; and 10 WHEREAS, the Cyclones were invited to play in their 11 first bowl game since 2005, appearing in the Insight 12 Bowl in Tempe, Arizona; and 13 WHEREAS, the Cyclones beat the Minnesota Golden 14 Gophers of the Big Ten, 14-13, on December 31 in the 15 Insight Bowl; and 16 WHEREAS, the Big 12 media picked the Cyclones 17 to finish last in the North Division before the 18 season; and WHEREAS, the Cyclones beat the Nebraska Cornhuskers, 19 20 9-7 for its first win in Lincoln, Nebraska, in 32 21 years; and 22 WHEREAS, the team was led by captains Reggie 23 Stephens, Austen Arnaud, James Smith, Derec Schmidgall, 24 and Nate Frere; and WHEREAS, middle linebacker Jesse Smith was the 25 26 national defensive player of the week after the 27 Nebraska win, making 12 tackles and the game-clinching 28 interception against the Cornhuskers, finishing his

> LSB 6262HH (12) 83 -1- jr/rj 1/3

1 career with 305 tackles after leading the Big 12 with 2 135 stops in 2009; and WHEREAS, video of Coach Rhoads' postgame speech with 3 4 his team after the Nebraska win has been viewed nearly 5 250,000 times on YouTube; and WHEREAS, Coach Rhoads coached the Cyclones to seven 6 7 wins in his first season, the most victories by a 8 first-year head coach since 1907; and 9 WHEREAS, Coach Rhoads is the first head football 10 coach to lead the Cyclones to a winning season in his ll first year since 1931; and 12 WHEREAS, the Cyclones beat Kent State for its first 13 road victory since 2005, with the win at Nebraska being 14 its first road conference win since 2005; and 15 WHEREAS, the Cyclones held three conference 16 opponents to 10 points or less for the first time since 17 1965; and 18 WHEREAS, the Cyclones were one of the most improved 19 teams nationally among NCAA Bowl Championship Series 20 schools; and WHEREAS, the Cyclones were 68th nationally in the 21 22 red zone in 2008, and in 2009, ranked second-best 23 among 120 football bowl subdivision teams in that 24 category; and WHEREAS, the Cyclone defenders were ninth nationally 25 26 in forced turnovers; and WHEREAS, the defense's anchor, linebacker Jesse 27 28 Smith, earned first-team all-conference honors, strong 29 safety David Sims was named by the league's coaches as 30 the Big 12 Defensive Newcomer of the Year, and punter

> LSB 6262HH (12) 83 -2- jr/rj 2/3

Mike Brandtner and running back Alexander Robinson
earned honorable mention all-Big 12 honors; and
WHEREAS, the Cyclone punt return defense ranked
fourth nationally; and

5 WHEREAS, running back Alexander Robinson became the 6 Cyclone's first 1,000-yard rusher since 2004; and 7 WHEREAS, quarterback Austen Arnaud drove the 8 Cyclones to success despite injuries that forced him 9 and Alexander Robinson to miss parts of several games 10 this season, while offensive lineman Reggie Stephens, 11 first-team all-conference honoree, led a rejuvenated 12 front in the trenches, and offensive lineman Kelechi 13 Osemele was a second-team all-conference selection; NOW 14 THEREFORE,

15 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, 16 That the House of Representatives honors the 2009 Iowa 17 State University football team and their coach, Paul 18 Rhoads, for their dedication to excellence, for their 19 strength of spirit, and for their unwavering effort, 20 which culminated with a win at the Insight Bowl.