House Resolution 122 - Introduced

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 122 BY JACOBY, MASCHER, LENSING, WILLEMS, and ZIRKELBACH

- 1 A Resolution to celebrate the highlights for the 2009
- 2 football season of the University of Iowa football
- 3 team.
- 4 WHEREAS, the 2009 University of Iowa football team
- 5 will be remembered as one of the most entertaining,
- 6 talented, and successful teams in Hawkeye history; and
- 7 WHEREAS, the 11 wins equals the program's 2002
- 8 record for victories in a season; and
- 9 WHEREAS, the regular season win total of 10 was
- 10 achieved for only the fourth time; and
- 11 WHEREAS, for the first time ever, the Hawkeyes won
- 12 the first nine games of a season; and
- 13 WHEREAS, Iowa played in a January bowl game for the
- 14 sixth time in eight years; and
- 15 WHEREAS, Iowa won a Bowl Championship Series-caliber
- 16 bowl game for the first time since 1959 in beating
- 17 Georgia Tech in the 2010 FedEx Orange Bowl 24-14; and
- 18 WHEREAS, the Hawkeyes finished the 2009 season
- 19 with an 11-2 overall record and a 6-2 Big Ten mark,
- 20 finishing in a second place tie; and
- 21 WHEREAS, the Hawkeyes have won at least nine games
- 22 for the fifth time in the last eight years and for the
- 23 seventh time in school history have won 10 games or
- 24 more; and
- 25 WHEREAS, the Hawkeyes were ranked seventh in both
- 26 major polls at the conclusion of the season, the
- 27 highest final ranking for the program since 1960; and

H.R. 122

- 1 WHEREAS, defensive end Adrian Clayborn was named
- 2 Most Valuable Player of the FedEx Orange Bowl; and
- 3 WHEREAS, Coach Kirk Ferentz was named Big Ten Coach
- 4 of the Year for the third time; and
- 5 WHEREAS, offensive tackle Bryan Bulaga was picked as
- 6 the Big Ten's Offensive Lineman of the Year; and
- 7 WHEREAS, All-Big Ten first teamers included Bryan
- 8 Bulaga (OL), Dace Richardson (OL), Tony Moeaki (TE),
- 9 Adrian Clayborn (DE), Pat Angerer (LB), Tyler Sash
- 10 (DB), and Amari Spievey (DB), and five additional
- 11 Hawkeyes were named to the league's second unit; and
- 12 WHEREAS, Bryan Bulaga and Pat Angerer were named
- 13 first-team all-Americans, Tyler Sash was a second team
- 14 choice, and Adrian Clayborn made the third team; and
- 15 WHEREAS, the Iowa Hawkeyes have earned 70 wins
- 16 since the start of the 2002 season, which places them
- 17 at a tie for the 16th highest total in Division I
- 18 football; and
- 19 WHEREAS, Iowa's football record in the 2000 decade
- 20 was 80-45 (.640), a record that ranks as the best
- 21 decade in Iowa football history, based on total
- 22 wins; NOW THEREFORE,
- 23 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES,
- 24 That the House of Representatives congratulates the
- 25 University of Iowa football team for a stellar season
- 26 and looks forward to a great season in 2010.