Senate File 444 - Introduced

1 18 LSB 1962SV 82 1 19 eg:sc/gg/14

SENATE FILE BY COMMITTEE ON LOCAL GOVERNMENT (SUCCESSOR TO SF 186) (COMPANION TO HF 147 BY SWAIM) Vote: Ayes _____ Nays ____ Vote: Ayes ____ Nays ____ A BILL FOR 1 An Act relating to councils of governments by making technical 2 changes and by designating a new council of governments area. 3 BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF IOWA: 4 TLSB 1962SV 82 5 eg/gg/14 PAG LIN Section 1. Section 28H.1, subsection 14, Code 2007, is 1 2 amended to read as follows: 14. Area fifteen regional planning commission serving 4 Appanoose, Davis, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lucas, Mahaska, Monroe,
5 Van Buren, and Wapello, and Wayne counties.
6 Sec. 2. Section 28H.1, Code 2007, is amended by adding the 1 1 7 following new subsection: 1 8 NEW SUBSECTION. 17. Chariton valley council of 1 9 governments serving Appanoose, Lucas, Monroe, and Wayne 1 10 counties. 1 11 EXPLANATION 1 12 This bill divides the area 15 regional planning commission 1 13 into two councils of governments. Area 15 will continue to 1 14 serve Davis, Jefferson, Keokuk, Mahaska, Van Buren, and 1 15 Wapello counties. A newly created council of governments, the 1 16 Chariton valley council of governments, will serve Appanoose, 1 17 Lucas, Monroe, and Wayne counties.