House Resolution 136 - Introduced

PAG LIN

H.R. _____ S.R. ____

1 1 HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 1 BY FOEGE 2 3 A Resolution honoring Wartburg College's wrestling team 1 for winning the National Collegiate Athletic Association 1 4 1 5 Division III Wrestling Championship. 1 WHEREAS, the Wartburg College wrestling team, the 6 1 7 Knights, has won its sixth National Collegiate 8 Athletic Association (NCAA) Division III wrestling 1 1 9 title; and WHEREAS, led by Head Coach Jim Miller, the Knights 1 10 1 11 won the championship on March 8, 2008, with 147 1 12 points, clearing the rest of the field by 47 points; 1 13 and 1 14 WHEREAS, the Knights also added three more 1 15 individual title winners to the all=time total: 1 16 junior Jacob Naig of Emmetsburg, junior Aaron 1 17 Wernimont of Pocahontas, and junior Romeo Djoumessi of 1 18 Waverly each won individual national titles, pushing 1 19 the program total to 27; and WHEREAS, the Knights' nine All=American team 1 20 1 21 members are a Wartburg tradition == in each of the 22 last six national championships, Wartburg has earned 1 1 23 at least five All=American honors, for a grand program 1 24 total of 140; and 25 1 WHEREAS, two team members, Jacob Naig and senior 1 26 T.J. Miller of Cedar Falls, picked up their third 27 All=American awards; three Knights, Romeo Djoumessi, 1 1 28 senior Jacob Helvey of Mitchellville, and Aaron 29 Wernimont, all recorded their second All=American 1 30 award; while senior Robert Struthers of Emmetsburg, 1 1 sophomore Matt Kelly of Dubuque, and junior Justin 2 2 Hanson of Humboldt each earned his first All=American 2 2 3 award; and 2 4 WHEREAS, the Knights also had three runners=up in 2 5 Jacob Helvey, T.J. Miller, and senior Brian Borchers 2 6 of Holstein; and 2 WHEREAS, in addition to their athletic prowess, the 7 8 Knights also placed in the top 10 of the 2007=2008 9 National Wrestling Coaches Association Division III 2 2 2 10 Scholar Team Top 25 and had six individuals earn 2 11 Scholar All=American awards; and $\frac{1}{2}$ $\frac{1}{12}$ WHEREAS, those team members who were awarded 2 13 Scholar All=American honors were Aaron Wernimont, 2 14 Brian Borchers for the second time, junior Craig 2 15 Kreman of Tipton, sophomore Chris Sandy of Spirit 2 16 Lake, and sophomore Dustin Jaeger of Manchester; and 2 17 WHEREAS, the extraordinary success of the Wartburg 2 18 College Knights wrestling team of 2007=2008 is a 2 19 source of pride for all Iowans; NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, 2 20 2 2 2 21 That the House of Representatives congratulates the 22 Wartburg College Knights wrestling team and Coach 2 23 Miller on the success of their 2007=2008 wrestling 2 2 24 season and wishes them continued success in all their 25 future endeavors. 2 26 LSB 6611HH 82 2 27 jr/nh/14