1	SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 138
2	BY HATCH, McCOY, ZAUN, and DEARDEN
3	A Resolution honoring the Des Moines Roosevelt High
4	School Girls' Basketball Team.
5	WHEREAS, the Des Moines Roosevelt High School
6	Girls' Basketball Team, the "Roughriders", completed
7	the 2005-2006 season with a record of 17 wins and four
	losses and a postseason record of five wins and no
9	losses, for a final record of 22 wins and four losses;
10	and
11	WHEREAS, the Roosevelt Roughriders were ranked
	fifth in the class 4-A division by the Iowa Girls High
13	School Athletic Union; and
14	WHEREAS, on Saturday, March 11, 2006, in front of
	almost 12,000 fans at Wells Fargo Arena, the Roosevelt
	Roughriders won the class 4-A championship at the 2006
17	
18	WHEREAS, that championship was clinched with a 53-
19	
20	WHEREAS, the Roosevelt Roughriders girls' state
	championship is the first for a Des Moines school
	since 1979, when an East High School team won a six-
	player title in Veterans Memorial Auditorium; and
24	WHEREAS, Roughrider Charmaine Bell, a junior
25	-
	and was tournament leader in both points and assists,
	was named captain of the all-tournament team and was
28	chosen for the Des Moines Register's Girls' Class 4-A

29 All-State Basketball Team; and

30

WHEREAS, MyKenya Johnson, scoring a game-high 18

```
s.r. 138 H.R.
```

```
1 points, was also named to the all-tournament team; and
      WHEREAS, both the freshman and junior varsity teams
 3 contributed to this victory, assisting in practices
 4 and providing material and emotional support to their
 5 varsity teammates; and
      WHEREAS, the Roosevelt community was also honored,
 7 as principal Anita Micich accepted the class 4-A
 8 sportsmanship award; NOW THEREFORE,
      BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE, That the Senate
10 congratulates the members of the Des Moines Roosevelt
11 High School Girls' Basketball Team:
12 Fleckenstein, Emily Warford, Whitney Brewer, Charmaine
13 Bell, Leigh Hotchkiss, Sacha Tyson, Ashley Tindrell,
14 Samantha Tapscott, Megan Pederson, Quinnetta Claytor,
15 Taylor Gray, Emma Van Winkle, Morgan Hamner, and
16 MyKenya Johnson; their coach, Tig Johnson; assistant
17 coaches, James McNear, Shawn McCurtain, Kevin Reed,
18 and Mike Anderson; and the team managers, Megan Ashley
19 and Peri Baldwin, for winning the class 4-A
20 championship at the 2006 Iowa Girls' State Basketball
21 Tournament and for the honor they have brought to
22 their school and the residents of Des Moines; and
      BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That, upon adoption, an
24 official copy of this Resolution be prepared for
25 presentation to Coach Johnson and the members of the
26 Roosevelt Roughriders High School Girls' Basketball
27 Team.
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
```

35