MAR 2 7 2006 Laid Over Under Rule 25

1	HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 154
2	BY PETERSEN, OLDSON, FORD, R. OLSON, HUNTER,
3	McCARTHY, and FALLON
4	A Resolution congratulating the Des Moines Hoover High
5	School Boys' Basketball Team on winning the class 4-A
6	championship at the 2006 Iowa Boys' State Basketball
7	Tournament.
8	WHEREAS, the "Huskies", the Des Moines Hoover High
9	School Boys' Basketball Team, ended the 2005-2006
10	season with no losses and entered the 2006 State
11	Basketball Tournament as the top-ranked class 4-A
12	team; and
13	WHEREAS, on Saturday, March 18, 2006, at the first
14	boys' tournament held in the Wells Fargo Arena, the
15	Huskies won the class 4-A championship at the 2006
16	Iowa Boys' State Basketball Tournament before a crowd
17	of more than 9,000 fans; and
18	WHEREAS, that victory gave the Huskies a phenomenal
19	2005-2006 record of 26 wins and no losses; and
20	WHEREAS, that championship came after a ferocious
21	defensive battle with number three-ranked Pleasant
22	Valley, resulting in a win by the Huskies; and
23	WHEREAS, the Hoover Huskies state championship is
24	the first boys' championship for Hoover High School
25	and for a Des Moines school since a 1978 Roosevelt
26	High School championship; and
27	WHEREAS, Husky senior Ray Miller, a forward who
28	scored a game-high 14 points, was named to the Des
	Moines Register's Boys' All-State Basketball First
30	Team and senior guard DeAnthony Zanders, scoring four

H.R. S.R.

1 points, was named to the all-state third team; and

- WHEREAS, both team members Mr. Miller and Mr.
- 3 Zanders were also named to the 2006 class 4-A All-
- 4 Tournament Team; and
- 5 WHEREAS, the Hoover High School cheerleaders,
- 6 coached by Andrea Eustice, were presented, on behalf
- 7 of the school, the class 4-A sportsmanship award; NOW
- 8 THEREFORE,
- 9 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES,
- 10 That the House of Representatives congratulates the
- 11 members of the Des Moines Hoover High School Boys'
- 12 Basketball Team: Chad Boston, Stefon Brown, DeAnthony
- 13 Zanders, Dylan Imhoff, James Wiggins, Jake Levine,
- 14 John Maahs, Tremaine Brown, Sasha Francic, David
- 15 Gross, Ray Miller, Joe Muldoon, Damir Dzafic, Robert
- 16 Patton, Robert Rockwell, coach Charles Zanders, Sr.,
- 17 assistant coaches Jamel Crawford, Chris McMahon, Pat
- 18 McMahon, Jason Karaidos, Pat Lawler, Troy Floyd,
- 19 practice players LeRay Shabazz, James Wilkerson,
- 20 Dantaze Richardson, Evan Eastman, and Ryan Parrish,
- 21 and varsity managers Kelsey Jones, Breanna Glenn,
- 22 Montique Hernandez, and Toiane Johnson for winning the
- 23 class 4-A championship at the 2006 Iowa State Boys'
- 24 Basketball Tournament and for the honor they have
- 25 brought to Des Moines and Hoover High School; and
- 26 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That, upon adoption, an
- 27 official copy of this Resolution be prepared for
- 28 presentation to Coach Zanders and the members of the
- 29 Hoover Huskies High School Boys' Basketball Team.

30