Cédeptes 4/22/03 RULES & ADMINISTRATION

FILED MAR 27 '03

1	SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 27
2	BY DVORSKY, BOLKCOM, ANGELO, BEALL, BEHN, BLACK,
3	BOETTGER, BRUNKHORST, CONNOLLY, COURTNEY, DEARDEN,
4	DOTZLER, DRAKE, FRAISE, GASKILL, GRONSTAL, HATCH,
5	HOLVECK, HORN, HOSCH, HOUSER, IVERSON, JOHNSON,
6	KETTERING, KIBBIE, KRAMER, KREIMAN, LAMBERTI, LARSON,
7	LUNDBY, MCCOY, MCKIBBEN, MCKINLEY, MILLER, PUTNEY,
8	QUIRMBACH, RAGAN, REDFERN, REHBERG, SCHUERER, SENG,
9	SEYMOUR, SHULL, SIEVERS, STEWART, TINSMAN, VEENSTRA,
10	WARNSTADT, WIECK, and ZIEMAN
11	A Resolution honoring the University of Iowa Football
12	Team and Coach Kirk Ferentz.
13	WHEREAS, the citizens of Iowa are justifiably proud
14	that the University of Iowa Hawkeyes Football Team
15	finished its regular season as cochampions of the Big
16	Ten Conference and participated in the Orange Bowl of
17	the Bowl Championship Series; and
18	WHEREAS, the Iowa Football Team finished its season
19	with a record of 11 wins and two losses and a perfect
20	eight wins and zero losses in the Big Ten Conference;
21	and
22	WHEREAS, the Iowa Football Team placed a school-
	record ll different players on the two First Team All-
	Big Ten Conference squads, placed five players on the
	Associated Press All-American Team, was the highest
	scoring team in the Big Ten Conference, and finished
	the season ranked eighth nationally; and
28	WHEREAS, Coach Kirk Ferentz was named the 2002-2003
	Associated Press Coach of the Year and the Big Ten
30	Conference Coach of the Year, and Ron Aiken was named

SR 27 RULES & ADMINISTRATION

-

į

1

SR 27

1 NCAA Division I Assistant Football Coach of the Year; 2 and

3 WHEREAS, senior quarterback Brad Banks was named 4 the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, the 5 Associated Press National College Football Player of 6 the Year, and finished second in the voting for the 7 Heisman Trophy, and Dallas Clark was winner of the 8 2002 John Mackey Award as the nation's top tight-end, 9 and Nate Kaeding was winner of the 2002 Lou Groza 10 Award as the nation's top placekicker, and Eric 11 Steinbach was named the Big Ten Offensive Lineman of 12 the Year; and

13 WHEREAS, it having been made known to the Senate 14 that the University of Iowa Football Team deserves 15 recognition for all of its accomplishments during the 16 2002-2003 season; NOW THEREFORE,

17 BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE, That the Senate 18 congratulates the University of Iowa Football Team, 19 Coach Kirk Ferentz, and the coaching staff, on their 20 successful season and thanks them for the honor and 21 recognition they have brought to the University of 22 Iowa and to the State of Iowa; and

23 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That, upon adoption, the 24 Secretary of the Senate shall prepare an official copy 25 of this Resolution for presentation to Coach Kirk 26 Ferentz and the University of Iowa Football Team. 27

- 28
- 29
- 30

LSB 2308SS 80 kk/sh/8