RULES & ADMINISTRATION

FILED MAR 29 10:

| 1 | SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 5 |
|-----|--|
| 2 | BY VEENSTRA |
| 3 | (COMPANION TO HR 27 BY ALONS) |
| 4 | A Resolution congratulating the Men's and Women's |
| 5 | Basketball Teams of Northwestern College of Orange |
| 6 | City. |
| 7 | WHEREAS, the Northwestern College Raiders Women's |
| 8 | basketball team racked up a season of 32 wins and four |
| 9 | losses, and were seeded second in the National |
| LO | Association of Intercollegiate Athletes (NAIA) |
| i 1 | Division II National Championship Tournament; and |
| 12 | WHEREAS, the Northwestern College Raiders men's |
| L3 | basketball team finished the year with a record of 29 |
| 14 | wins and six losses, and were seeded seventh in the |
| 15 | NAIA Division II National Championship Tournament; and |
| 16 | WHEREAS, on March 14, 2001, both teams bested |
| L7 | opponents to win the NAIA Division II titles, with the |
| 18 | Raiders women defeating eighth-seeded Albertson of |
| 19 | Idaho, 77-50, and the Raiders men defeating 12th- |
| 20 | seeded MidAmerican Nazarene of Kansas, 82-78; and |
| 21 | WHEREAS, both Raiders head coaches received awards, |
| 22 | with Coach Earl Woudstra being voted Women's National |
| 23 | Coach of the Year and Coach Kris Korver being voted |
| 24 | Men's National Coach of the Year; and |
| 25 | WHEREAS, Raiders women brought home the awards for |
| 26 | Women's National Player of the Year and National |
| 27 | Tournament Most Valuable Player in Rachel Binneboese, |
| 28 | who was also voted the All-American Scholar-Athlete |
| 29 | for the second year in a row; three Raiders women made |
| 30 | the All-Tourney Team: Jennifer Recker, Jaime Woudstra, |

SR 31

```
1 and Sara Friedrichsen; and Jennifer Recker won the
 2 National Tournament Hustle Award for the second year
 3 in a row: and
      WHEREAS, Raiders men brought home awards for the
 5 National Tournament Most Valuable Player in Brandon
 6 Woudstra, and three men made the All-Tourney Team:
 7 Ben Gerleman, Brandon Jacobson, and Lance Reinke; NOW
 8 THEREFORE.
      BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE, That the Senate
 9
10 congratulates the Northwestern College Raiders Women's
11 Basketball Team and the Northwestern College Raiders
12 Men's Basketball Team, their coaches, Earl Woudstra
13 and Kris Korver, and their coaching staffs, on their
14 superlative seasons, thanks them for the honor and
15 excitement they brought to the State of Iowa, and
16 wishes them the very best in the future.
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
```