5- 2/27/01 Do Pass 5- 4- 9-01 adopted

RULES & ADMINISTRATION

FILED FEB 8'UI

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 1 2 BY IVERSON, DRAKE, RITTMER, HORN, 3 DEARDEN, and GRONSTAL 4 A Concurrent Resolution urging United States Congressional support for the Railroad Retirement 5 and Survivors Improvement Act. 6 WHEREAS, the Railroad Retirement and Survivors 7 8 Improvement Act of 2000 was approved in a bipartisan 9 effort by 391 members of the United States House of 10 Representatives in the 106th Congress, including the ll entire Iowa delegation to Congress; and WHEREAS, more than 80 United States Senators, 12 13 including both Iowa Senator Charles E. Grassley and 14 Iowa Senator Thomas Harkin, signed letters of support 15 for that Act in 2000; and WHEREAS, the bill now before the 107th Congress 16 17 modernizes the railroad retirement system for its 18 748,000 beneficiaries nationwide, including over 19 10,800 in Iowa; and WHEREAS, railroad management, labor, and retiree 20 21 organizations have agreed to support the new federal 22 legislation; and WHEREAS, the new federal legislation provides tax 23 24 relief to freight railroads, Amtrak, and commuter 25 lines; and WHEREAS, the new federal legislation provides 26 27 benefit improvement for surviving spouses of rail 28 workers, who currently suffer deep cuts in income when 29 the rail retiree dies; and 30 WHEREAS, no outside contributions from taxpayers

SCR & RULES & ADMINISTRATION

1

SCR 8

1 are needed to implement the changes called for in the 2 new federal legislation; and WHEREAS, all changes will be paid for from within 3 4 the railroad industry, including a full share by 5 active employees; NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE, THE HOUSE OF 6 7 REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, That the General Assembly 8 urges the United States Congress to support the 9 Railroad Retirement and Survivors Improvement Act in 10 the 107th Congress. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That, upon passage, copies 11 12 of this Resolution be sent by the Secretary of the 13 Senate to the President of the United States, the 14 President of the United States Senate, the Speaker of 15 the United States House of Representatives, and all 16 members of the Iowa Congressional delegation. 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30

> LSB 2105XS 79 vl/pj/5