4/30/01 adapted

APR 5 2001 Laid Over Under Rule 25

1	HOUSE RESOLUTION NO.
2	BY REYNOLDS, ALONS, ARNOLD, ATTEBERRY, BARRY,
3	BAUDLER, BELL, BOAL, BODDICKER, BOGGESS, BRADLEY,
4	BRAUNS, BROERS, BRUNKHORST, BUKTA, CARROLL, CHIODO,
5	COHOON, CONNORS, CORMACK, De BOEF, DIX, DOLECHECK,
6	DOTZLER, DRAKE, EDDIE, EICHHORN, ELGIN, FALCK, FALLON,
7	FINCH, FOEGE, FORD, FREVERT, GARMAN, GIPP, GREIMANN,
8	GRUNDBERG, HAHN, HANSEN, HATCH, HEATON, HOFFMAN,
9	HORBACH, HOUSER, HOVERSTEN, HUSEMAN, HUSER, JACOBS,
10	JENKINS, JOCHUM, JOHNSON, KETTERING, KLEMME, KREIMAN,
11	KUHN, LARKIN, LARSON, LENSING, MANTERNACH, MASCHER,
12	MAY, MERTZ, METCALF, MILLAGE, MURPHY, MYERS, O'BRIEN,
13	OSTERHAUS, PETERSEN, QUIRK, RAECKER, RANTS, RAYHONS,
14	REKOW, RICHARDSON, ROBERTS, SCHERRMAN, SCHRADER, SENG,
15	SHEY, SHOULTZ, SIEGRIST, SIEVERS, SMITH, STEVENS,
16	SUKUP, D. TAYLOR, T. TAYLOR, TEIG, TREMMEL, TYMESON,
17	TYRRELL, VAN ENGELENHOVEN, VAN FOSSEN, WARNSTADT,
18	WEIDMAN, WINCKLER, WISE, and WITT
19	A Resolution honoring the Des Moines Register's 2001
20	Academic All-State Team.
21	WHEREAS, the Academic All-State program is
22	sponsored by the Des Moines Register in cooperation
23	with eight statewide education organizations, and is
24	designed to provide recognition to students who excel
25	in the classroom; and
26	WHEREAS, nominations for the Academic All-State
27	Team are received from 385 public and private schools
28	across Iowa, and nominees must submit documentation of
29	school transcripts, scores from college-entrance
30	examinations, an essay, and lists of school, church,

- 1 and community activities for judging; and
- 2 WHEREAS, the judging guidelines are based upon an
- 3 applicant's ACT/SAT scores, the difficulty of high
- 4 school academic courses, college or advanced placement
- 5 courses, qualification as a National Merit Scholarship
- 6 semifinalist, depth and scope of involvement in
- 7 academic activities beyond the typical curriculum of
- 8 an honor student, extracurricular school and community
- 9 activities, and an essay; and
- 10 WHEREAS, a group of educators review the
- 11 applications and choose 50 semifinalists and then
- 12 recognize the top 10 contestants as members of the
- 13 All-State Team; and
- 14 WHEREAS, the Academic All-State Team for 2001, and
- 15 their schools, are as follows: Joel Brandt, Jefferson
- 16 High School, Cedar Rapids; Julie Brown, Fairfield High
- 17 School, Fairfield; Thomas Bruton, Abraham Lincoln High
- 18 School, Des Moines; Barry Gackle, Waterloo West High
- 19 School, Waterloo; Lucas Grundmeier, Des Moines
- 20 Christian High School, Des Moines; Amanda Hall,
- 21 Hamburg Junior/Senior High School, Hamburg; Hin Jin
- 22 Lee, West High School, Iowa City; Katherine Lewin,
- 23 Assumption High School, Davenport; Brij Patnaik,
- 24 Denison High School, Denison; and Gina Shook, Bishop
- 25 Heelan Catholic High School, Sioux City; and
- 26 WHEREAS, these 10 students exemplify the best of
- 27 Iowa's emphasis on educational achievement, and
- 28 represent the epitome of citizenship service in school
- 29 and community involvement; and
- 30 WHEREAS, it is proper that these students receive

```
1 recognition and acclaim for their hard work,
 2 dedication, and success; NOW THEREFORE,
      BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES,
 4 That the House of Representatives congratulate Joel
5 Brandt, Julie Brown, Thomas Bruton, Barry Gackle,
6 Lucas Grundmeier, Amanda Hall, Hee Jin Lee, Katherine
7 Lewin, Brij Patnaik, and Gina Shook for achieving
8 excellence in academics, and being named members of
9 the Des Moines Register's 2001 Academic All-State
10 Team.
11
      BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That upon adoption, the
12 Chief Clerk of the House of Representatives prepare a
13 copy of this Resolution for presentation to each of
14 the student scholars of the 2001 Academic All-State
15 Team.
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
```

24252627282930