FEB 2 7 2001 Laid Over Under Rule 25

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 1 2 BY T. TAYLOR, DOTZLER, MERTZ, FOEGE, SMITH, D. TAYLOR, LARKIN, COHOON, BELL, WARNSTADT, 3 REYNOLDS, FORD, CONNORS, HATCH, SENG, O'BRIEN 4 FREVERT, MAY, KREIMAN, KUHN, SCHERRMAN, 5 OSTERHAUS, QUIRK, MURPHY, FALCK, CHIODO, 6 JOCHUM, MYERS, SHOULTZ, MASCHER, BUKTA, TYRRELL, 7 BRAUNS, RAYHONS, HEATON, WEIDMAN, HORBACH, 8 SIEGRIST, BODDICKER, LARSON, and TYMESON 9 10 A Concurrent Resolution urging the Congress of the United States to support the Railroad Retirement 11 12 and Survivors' Improvement Act. WHEREAS, the Railroad Retirement and Survivors' 13 14 Improvement Act of 2000 was approved in a bipartisan 15 effort by 391 members of the United States House of 16 Representatives in the 106th Congress, including by 17 all of Iowa's members of the United States House of 18 Representatives; and 19 WHEREAS, more than 80 United States Senators, 20 including both of Iowa's United States senators signed 21 letters of support for the legislation in 2000; and WHEREAS, the bill now before the 107th Congress 22 23 modernizes the railroad retirement system for its more 24 than 748,000 beneficiaries nationwide, including more 25 than 10,800 in Iowa; and 26 WHEREAS, several railroad management, labor, and 27 retiree organizations have agreed to support the 28 legislation; and WHEREAS, the legislation provides tax relief to 29 30 freight railroad companies, Amtrak, and commuter rail

CR 18

1

l lines; and

2 WHEREAS, the legislation provides benefit 3 improvements for rail workers and beneficiaries of 4 rail workers; and WHEREAS, all proposed benefit improvements in the 5 6 bill will be financed by the railroad industry, 7 including by railroad employees; NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES, THE 8 9 SENATE CONCURRING, That the Iowa General Assembly 10 urges the Congress of the United States to support the 11 Railroad Retirement and Survivors' Improvement Act in 12 the 107th Congress; and BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this 13 14 Resolution be sent to the President of the United 15 States, to the President and Majority and Minority 16 Leaders of the United States Senate, to the Speaker 17 and Majority and Minority Leaders of the United States 18 House of Representatives, and to members of Iowa's 19 congressional delegation. 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30

> LSB 2185HH 79 nh/cf/24.1