5.2/23/99 Do Fras Starred H. 3/3/99 Local How							
FIL ED FEB 1955 H. 3/1/99 Do Base							
SENATE FILE 68							
BY SHEARER, FRAISE, HEDGE,							
McLAREN, and MILLER							

(COMPANION TO HF 163 BY WISE)

Passed Senate Date 3/2/99 Passed House, Date 4/7/99

Vote: Ayes 49 Nays 6 Vote: Ayes 94 Nays 6

Approved 415,1999

## A BILL FOR

1	An	Act	: re	lat	inc	ı t	o co	ounti	es i	inclu	ıded	in t	the	mid-A	merio	ea port
2				sio		,										-
3	BE	IT	ENA	ACTE	D E	3 <b>Y</b>	THE	GENE	CRAL	ASSE	EMBLY	OF	THE	STAT	E OF	IOWA:
4			•													•
5																
6																
7																
8																
9																
10																
11																
12																
13																
14																
15																
16																
17																
18																
19																
20																
21																
22																

1	Section 1. Section 28K.3, Code 1999, is amended to read as
2	follows:
3	28K.3 JURISDICTION.
4	The Iowa counties which shall be included in the
5	jurisdiction of the mid-America port commission agreement are
6	Jefferson, Van Buren, Wapello, Lee, Henry, and Des Moines
7	counties.
8	Sec. 2. Section 28K.5, Code 1999, is amended to read as
9	follows:
10	28K.5 COUNTY ELECTION OF PORT COMMISSION MEMBERS.
11	The chairpersons of the Jefferson, Van Buren, Wapello, Lee,
12	Henry, and Des Moines county boards of supervisors shall
13	jointly elect two members to serve on the port commission.
14	EXPLANATION
15	This bill includes Jefferson, Van Buren, and Wapello
16	counties in the jurisdiction of the mid-America port
17	commission.
18	
19	
20	
21	
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
31	
32	
33	
34	
35	

RELATING TO COUNTIES INCLUDED IN THE MID-AMERICA PORT COMMISSION.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF IOWA:

Section 1. Section 28K.3, Code 1999, is amended to read as follows:

28K.3 JURISDICTION.

The Iowa counties which shall be included in the jurisdiction of the mid-America port commission agreement are <u>Jefferson</u>, <u>Van Buren</u>, <u>Wapello</u>, <u>Lee</u>, <u>Henry</u>, and <u>Des Moines</u> counties.

Sec. 2. Section 28K.5, Code 1999, is amended to read as follows:

28K.5 COUNTY ELECTION OF PORT COMMISSION MEMBERS.

Senate File 68, p. 2

The chairpersons of the <u>Jefferson</u>, <u>Van Buren</u>, <u>Wapello</u>, <u>Lee</u>, Henry, and <u>Des Moines</u> county boards of supervisors shall jointly elect two members to serve on the port commission.

MARY E. KRAMER
President of the Senate

RON J. CORBETT
Speaker of the House

I hereby certify that this bill originated in the Senate and is known as Senate File 68, Seventy-eighth General Assembly.

MICHAEL E. MARSHALL Secretary of the Senate

Approved 4/5\_, 199

THOMAS J. VILSACK

Governor

SF 68