HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 1 2 BY SIEGRIST, CORBETT, MYERS, MASCHER, RANTS, BRAUNS, BOAL, HOFFMAN, EDDIE, GREINER, JOHNSON, 3 4 ALONS, HOLMES, HANSEN, VAN ENGELENHOVEN, 5 BLODGETT, GRUNDBERG, LORD, DAVIS, GIPP, 6 SUNDERBRUCH, BAUDLER, WEIDMAN, ARNOLD, MARTIN, 7 KLEMME, METCALF, HORBACH, MILLAGE, SUKUP, 8 NELSON, DRAKE, KETTERING, HUSEMAN, DOLECHECK, BARRY, THOMSON, SHOULTZ, SCHERRMAN, FOEGE, 9 10 RICHARDSON, BUKTA, FREVERT, DOTZLER, FALCK, 11 THOMAS, STEVENS, DREES, WEIGEL, BELL, WELTER, 12 CHAPMAN, RAECKER, MERTZ, JACOBS, BRADLEY, RAYHONS, BODDICKER, CORMACK, MAY, JENKINS, OSTERHAUS, 13 DODERER, JOCHUM, HAHN, and HOLVECK 14 15 A Resolution honoring University of Iowa Football Coach Hayden Fry. 16 WHEREAS, University of Iowa Football Coach Hayden 17 18 Fry has retired from coaching after 20 seasons as Head 19 Coach at the University of Iowa and as the Hawkeyes' 20 winningest football coach with an overall record of 21 143-89-6; and WHEREAS, Coach Fry's hard work and "scratch where 22 23 it itches" philosophy rejuvenated a football program 24 considered by many to be a coaching graveyard; and 25 WHEREAS, Coach Fry led the Hawkeyes in 1981, just 26 three years after arriving at Iowa, to their first 27 winning record since 1961, and their first Big Ten 28 Title and Rose Bowl appearance since 1959; and 29 WHEREAS, the Hawkeye football team has consistently 30 ranked among the nation's best teams during Coach

- 1 Fry's tenure, and includes three Big Ten
- 2 championships, 14 first division finishes, and nine
- 3 finishes in the nation's top 25 rankings, including
- 4 two finishes in the nation's top 10 rankings; and
- 5 WHEREAS, Coach Fry led the Hawkeyes to 14 bowl
- 6 appearances, including three in the Rose Bowl, three
- 7 in the Holiday Bowl, two each in the Peach, Alamo, and
- 8 Sun Bowls, and one each in the Gator and Freedom
- 9 Bowls; and
- 10 WHEREAS, Coach Fry has been named Big Ten Coach of
- 11 The Year three times and Coach of the Year, both
- 12 regionally and nationally, by both the media and the
- 13 American College Football Coaches Association; and
- 14 WHEREAS, Coach Fry ranks tenth among Division I
- 15 head coaches in career victories with 232; and
- 16 WHEREAS, all Iowa football fans have been treated
- 17 to exciting and entertaining football during Coach
- 18 Fry's 20 seasons and have been justly proud of the
- 19 success which has resulted from Coach Fry's
- 20 leadership; and
- 21 WHEREAS, Coach Fry is active in helping numerous
- 22 charitable and civic organizations and was supportive
- 23 of Iowa's farmers during the farm crisis in the 1980s,
- 24 having Hawkeye players wear ANF (America Needs
- 25 Farmers) decals on their helmets for eight seasons;
- 26 and
- 27 WHEREAS, Coach Fry will "always be a Hawk"; NOW
- 28 THEREFORE.
- BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES,
- 30 That Coach Hayden Fry be congratulated for the success

```
1 and recognition he helped to bring to the University
2 of Iowa and the Hawkeye football program both on and
3 off the field, for his outstanding leadership,
 4 inspiration, and coaching ability exhibited throughout
5 his career at the University of Iowa; and
      BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That, upon adoption, an
7 official copy of this Resolution be prepared for
8 presentation to Coach Hayden Fry.
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
```