5-4/23/96 adopted

FILED APR 1 6 1996

1	SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 123
, ,2	BY COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION
- 3	(SUCCESSOR TO SCR 121)
4	A Senate Concurrent Resolution congratulating Coach
5	Dan Gable and the University of Iowa Hawkeye
6	Wrestling Team for winning the National
7	Collegiate Athletic Association's 1996 team
8	championship.
9	WHEREAS, Coach Dan Gable's Hawkeye wrestling team
10	recently won the NCAA's 1996 championship, Coach
11	Gable's 14th as head coach at the University of Iowa
12	and the 15th national title in the university's
13	history; and
14	WHEREAS, Iowa's team was the only team in the
15	nation to qualify its entire ten-man team and three of
16	those wrestlers, Bill Zudick, Joe Williams, and Daryl
17	Weber, won individual national titles; and
18	WHEREAS, this recent win is just the latest in Dan
19	Gable's extraordinarily successful career, which began
20	in 1977 when the Hawkeye wrestling team claimed a
21	third place national finish and earned Dan Gable the
22	NCAA's Rookie Coach of the Year honor; and
23	WHEREAS, Dan Gable has won every Big Ten wrestling
24	title and nine consecutive NCAA championships since
25	1977 and coached 40 NCAA and 104 Big Ten champions;
26	and
27	WHEREAS, Iowans are justly proud of Dan Gable and
28	his outstanding wrestling program at Iowa, the
29	national fame he brought Iowa with his win of the gold
30	medal at the 1972 Summer Olympics, and his success in

S.C.R. 12:

5.C.R. 123

282930

```
1 coaching American Olympic wrestling teams and high
 2 school teams; and
      WHEREAS, Iowa's 1996 championship Hawkeye wrestling
 4 team brought national honor to Iowa and thrilled fans
 5 across the nation; NOW THEREFORE,
      BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE, THE HOUSE OF
 7 REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING, That the General Assembly
 8 congratulate Coach Dan Gable and the University of
 9 Iowa Hawkeye Wrestling Team on their magnificent
10 season and express the appreciation of Iowa's citizens
11 for the national honor and the excitement Coach Gable
12 and his team brought to the State of Iowa.
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
```