FINAL REPORT

EXPANSION OF THE DRIVER'S LICENSE ONE-STOP SHOPS INTERIM STUDY COMMITTEE

Presented to the Legislative Council and the Iowa General Assembly February 1996

Prepared by the Legislative Service Bureau



Bureau

FINAL REPORT

Expansion of the Driver's License One-Stop Shops Interim Study Committee

January 1996

Members

Senator Jack Kibbie, Co-chairperson Senator Richard Drake Senator Eugene Fraise Senator Don Gettings Senator Kay Hedge Senator Patty Judge Senator Derryl McLaren

Representative Richard Vande Hoef, Co-chairperson Representative Richard Arnold Representative Dennis Cohoon Representative Donna Hammitt Barry Representative Jerry Main Representative Mary Mascher Representative Michael O'Brien

Contents

Committee Proceedings	p.	2
Current Requirements	p.	2
January 16, 1996, Testimony	p.	2
Committee Recommendation	p.	3
Written Materials on File With the		
Legislative Service Bureau	p.	3

Staff Contacts

Julie Smith, Legal Counsel, (515) 281-6329 Jan Simmons, Legal Counsel (515) 281-3798

expansion of driver's license pilot projects currently in place in six counties. benefits to the public and cost-effectiveness of expanding driver's license one-stop shops.

Examine federal compliance issues."

Committee was to

AUTHORIZATION AND APPOINTMENT

The Expansion of the Driver's License One-Stop Shops Interim Study Committee was established by the Legislative Council for the 1995 Legislative Interim. The charge of the

"study

the possible



Expansion of the Driver's License One-Stop Shops Interim Study Committee

1. Committee Proceedings.

The Committee was authorized one meeting day which was held on January 16, 1996. Senator Jack Kibbie and Representative Richard Vande Hoef were elected as Co-chairpersons of the Committee. The remainder of this report summarizes the proceedings of the meeting and the recommendation which the Committee adopted.

2. Current Requirements.

lowa Code section 321.179 authorizes the counties of Adams, Cass, Fremont, Mills, Montgomery, and Page to issue motor vehicle licenses, nonoperator's identification cards, and handicapped identification devices on a permanent basis. The state Department of Transportation is required to certify the county treasurers of the six counties to issue commercial driver's licenses and to provide supervision. In 1995 lowa Acts, chapter 220, section 27, the six counties are authorized to retain up to \$5 for each motor vehicle license transaction for deposit in the general fund of the county and are required to provide a detailed accounting to the state Department of Transportation and the Legislative Fiscal Bureau of time and expenditures related to issuance of motor vehicle licenses.

3. January 16, 1996 - Testimony.

- a. State Department of Transportation (DOT). Mr. Mike Coverdale, Legislative Liaison, introduced Mr. Terry Dilinger, Director of the Office of Driver Services; Mr. David Stutz, Senior Driver's License Examiner; Ms. Tina Hargis, Senior Driver's License Examiner and Manager of the Park Fair Driver's License Facility; and Ms. Kim Snook, Senior Driver's License Examiner, who presented information regarding the driver's license issue.
- Mr. Dilinger reviewed the evolution of driver's license issuance in lowa and identified security as the primary public concern requiring a reliable method for issuing driver's licenses. Mr. Stutz described the training and oversight provided by the DOT for the county treasurers in the six permanent counties. Ms. Hargis discussed observations that were made during visits to the six counties and expressed concern over uniformity in issuance and quality of service. Ms. Snook compared the costs incurred on a per license basis by the DOT, which is estimated to be \$3.32 per license transaction and for the counties, which DOT estimates to be \$5.55 per license transaction.
- b. County Treasurers. The following county treasurers from the six counties authorized to issue driver's licenses on a permanent basis discussed their experiences: Ms. Sharon Winchell, Cass County; Mr. Marc Carr, Adams County; Mr. Chris Sheldon, Fremont County;, Ms. Lesta Kahl, Mills County; Ms. Anita Walker, Montgomery County; and Ms. Donna Wheeler, Page County. Ms. Winchell emphasized the convenience of the expanded service that the county treasurers are able to offer, and that the service is accurate and impartial and meets all DOT





standards. Ms. Winchell stated that the county program pays for itself and will result in a \$2 million savings if expanded.

Mr. James Barry, Cass County Attorney, discussed county liability under the written agreement between the counties and DOT. Mr. Deane Adams, Marshall County Treasurer, presented the findings of a report analyzing the costs of the pilot project prepared by David M. Griffith & Associates, which concluded that the cost to issue a motor vehicle license for a county participating in the program is \$4.83 per license and that the service should be expanded to other counties.

Mr. Maurice Reavis, Page County Supervisor, spoke about the benefits of county issuance. Mr. Wayne Walter, Winneshiek County Treasurer, and Ms. Mary Kay Williams, Appanoose County Treasurer, spoke in favor of expanding the pilot program in their counties. Ms. Dianne Kiefer, President of the Iowa State County Treasurer's Association, and Mr. John Easter, Senior Public Policy Analyst for the Iowa State Association of Counties, supported expansion.

c. Federal Motor Carrier Safety. Mr. Kent Fleming, State Director, Federal Highway Administration, Office of Motor Carrier Safety, United States Department of Transportation, addressed the issue of federal oversight over the issuance of commercial driver's licenses by the county treasurers. He stated that the DOT must provide sufficient oversight to ensure that commercial driver's license issuance complies with federal regulations and that if the counties do not comply, it could jeopardize federal funding.

4. Committee Recommendation.

The Committee adopted the following recommendation:

◆ Recommendation. That the six counties that are currently authorized to issue driver's licenses on a permanent basis be expanded to include an additional 24 counties. The additional counties shall only be included at the option of the counties. The state Department of Transportation shall designate the additional 24 counties.

5. Written Materials on File with the Legislative Service Bureau.

- a. Written Material Accompanying Presentation by DOT
- b. DOT Station Schedule for Counties and Cities
- c. "Methodology and Procedures for Reporting Driver's License Issuance Costs for the Counties of Adams, Cass, Fremont, Mills, Montgomery, and Page", prepared by David M. Griffith & Associates, Ltd.
 - d. Written Material Accompanying Presentation by the County Treasurers
- e. Iowa Commercial Driver's License Review, April 14, 1995, Federal Highway Administration Office of Motor Carriers and DOT responses.

3083IC