1994 ANNUAL REPORT

IOWA ADVISORY COMMISSION ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL RELATIONS (IACIR)

January 1995

INTRODUCTION

The Iowa Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations (IACIR) was created by the General Assembly in 1982 and reenacted in 1991 to foster communication and cooperation between state and local governments. Patterned after the United States Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations, the IACIR is designed to provide a forum for dialogue and understanding of intergovernmental issues, to study issues affecting Iowa governments, and to make recommendations to the Governor, General Assembly, state agencies, and local governments.

ORGANIZATION AND CHARGE

The IACIR is composed of 21 members representing schools, cities, counties, regional councils of government, the state executive branch, and the General Assembly. Seventeen of the members are appointed by the Governor, two state senators are appointed by the Majority Leader of the Senate, and two state representatives are appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives. Members are appointed for two-year terms. A membership list is attached and by this reference made a part of this Report.

The IACIR is charged with studying and reporting on the following:

- The current pattern of local governmental structure.
- Powers and functions of local governments, including their fiscal powers.
- The existing, necessary, and desirable relationships among local governments and the State.
- The necessary and desirable allocation of state and local fiscal resources.
- The necessary and desirable roles of the State as the creator of local governmental systems.
- The special problems in interstate areas facing their general local governments, interstate regional units, and areawide bodies.

Primary staff support to the IACIR is provided by the Legislative Service Bureau.

LOCAL GOVERNMENT MANDATES STUDY

In March 1993, the IACIR approved a request from Senate President Boswell and Senate Majority Leader Horn to conduct a study of state mandates imposed on local governments in Iowa. The report of that study is to be distributed to members of the General Assembly and the Governor by December 31, 1994.

MEETINGS

The IACIR conducted five meetings during 1994. Several of the work groups organized for purposes of the local government mandates study also conducted meetings. The first meeting of the IACIR was held on Friday, March 11, 1994. The Commission heard testimony from the following persons on the legislative priorities of organizations representing local governments:

- Mr. John Easter, Iowa State Association of Counties
- Ms. Sue Cosner, League of Iowa Municipalities
- Ms. Susan Donovan, Iowa Association of School Boards

At the March 11 meeting, the Commission elected Mr. Don Meisner as Chairperson and Mr. Barry Stetzel as Vice chairperson for 1994.

The second meeting of the IACIR was held on Thursday, April 28, 1994. The Commission members heard a review of House File 642, "the state mandates bill," from Mr. Thane Johnson, Legislative Service Bureau. The Commission members also heard a review of House File 2204 which was enacted during the 1994 Session and made changes to the tax increment financing law. The members split into their designated mandates study work groups and spent the remainder of the meeting in work groups designated for purposes of the local government mandates study.

The third meeting of the IACIR was held on Friday, June 10, 1994. Testimony on mental health/developmental disabilities (MH/DD) programs and mandated MH/DD costs to counties was provided by the following persons:

- Ms. Deb Westvold, Case Management Coordinator, Iowa State Association of Counties
- Mr. Lynn Farrell, Executive Director, Polk County Health Services, Inc.
- Ms. Sally Cunningham, Iowa Department of Human Services
- Ms. Jane Halliburton, Story County Supervisor

The Commission members also heard testimony for the benefit of the Environment/Natural Resources work group. The following persons provided testimony on solid waste disposal, the federal Clean Water Act, and the Iowa Underground Storage Tank Program:

Iowa Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations Final Report - January 1995 Page 3

- Mr. Allen Stokes, Iowa Department of Natural Resources
- Dr. L.D. McMullen, General Manager, Des Moines Water Works
- Mr. Bob Main, Superintendent, Newton Water Pollution Control Plant
- Mr. Don Brazelton, Executive Secretary, Iowa Association of County Conservation Boards

The fourth meeting of the IACIR was held on Friday, September 9, 1994. The morning session of the meeting was a working session for five of the seven work groups as they finalized preliminary recommendations for presentation to the full Commission during the afternoon session of the meeting. The following work groups presented preliminary recommendations to the full Commission for approval:

- Administration and Elections
- Environment/Natural Resources
- Finance, Taxation and Other Revenue
- Human Services
- Law Enforcement/Legal

The fifth meeting of the IACIR was held on Friday, December 9, 1994. At that meeting, the Commission members approved the following 1995 quarterly meeting dates:

- Friday, March 10
- Friday, June 9
- Friday, September 8
- Friday, December 8

The meeting was devoted primarily to the subject of the Iowa Underground Storage Tank Program. A panel comprised of Guthrie City officials, private businessmen, and a representative of the Iowa Petroleum Council discussed with the Commission members the problems each had encountered in dealing with the UST Program. Testimony on the Program was also provided by Mr. Pat Rounds, Administrator, Williams and Company, and Mr. Bill Bomgaars, a private businessman from Sioux City, Iowa.

Mr. Bob Snyder of the Legislative Fiscal Bureau made a presentation to the Commission on the Iowa General Assembly's fiscal note process as conducted by the Bureau. Mr. Snyder discussed several aspects of the process, including who may request a fiscal note, how they are prepared, and the persons/organizations contacted to provide information for purposes of preparing a fiscal note.

MEMBERS OF THE IOWA ADVISORY COMMISSION ON INTERGOVERNMENTAL RELATIONS (November 1994)

STATE OFFICERS

Cynthia P. Eisenhauer, Director Department of Employment Services

Betty L. Grandquist, Executive Director Department of Elder Affairs

Almo Hawkins, Director Department of Human Rights

K. Marie Thayer, Administrator Professional Licensing Division Department of Commerce

COUNTY OFFICERS

Robert D. "Bob" Paulson Winnebago County Auditor

Linus F. Rothmeyer Winneshiek County Board of Supervisors

Barry C. StetzelGuthrie County Assessor

VACANCY

CITY OFFICERS

Alta M. Bachman
Mayor pro tem of Independence

Gordon Kokenge Council Member

Louis Galetich Mayor of Madrid

Ann Hutchinson
Mayor of Bettendorf

SCHOOL CORPORATION OFFICERS

Judith A. Bodholdt
Newell-Providence Community School
District

VACANCY

Laura L. Jardon

Farragut Community School District

VACANCY

REGIONAL COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS REPRESENTATIVE

Donald M. Meisner, Executive Director Siouxland Interstate Metropolitan Planning Council

MEMBERS OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY

Representative Gordon Burke, Marshalltown Representative Bob Renken, Aplington Senator Sheldon Rittmer, DeWitt Senator Albert Sorensen, Boone