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Threshold of Licensed Family Child Care (June 2007) 
When do States begin licensing family child care? Forty-one States allow some number of children to be in family child care that is not covered by licensing.  
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  TOTAL NUMBER         
10 5 8 11 7 5 1 1  3 

 
Source: Data compiled by NCCIC from child care licensing regulations posted on the National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early Education Web site at 
http://nrc.uchsc.edu/STATES/states.htm on June 14, 2007. 
 
Endnotes: 
For the purposes of this document, a licensed program is required to have permission from the State to operate and must meet specified family child care standards. Some States 
may call their regulatory processes certification or registration; the term licensed is used to represent all regulatory processes. Several States have county or city licensing 
regulations that may supersede State requirements; this table does not include such regulations. 
 
*These States exclude child care that is provided for the children of only 1 family. Vermont excludes child care that is provided for the children of 1 or 2 families. 
Texas: Family child care homes that care for 1 to 3 children must be listed with the State.   
North Dakota: Homes must be licensed if they care for 4 or more children ages 24 months and under or 6 or more children at one time.  
Idaho: State has a licensing law, but licensing it is not required. Voluntary licensing is available for small and large family child care homes. 
Louisiana: Any place or facility that cares for 7 or more children is considered a center and is required to follow the State’s child care center licensing regulations. 
New Jersey: Programs serving 6 or more children under the age of 13 are licensed as centers. 

The National Child Care Information Center, a service of the Child Care Bureau, does not endorse any organization, publication, or resource. For more information, please contact 
NCCIC: 10530 Rosehaven Street, Suite 400, Fairfax, Virginia 22030; Ph: 800-616-2242; Fax: 800-716-2242; TTY: 800-516-2242; Email: info@nccic.org;  
Web site: http://nccic.acf.hhs.gov.  
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Definition of Licensed Family Child Care Homes (June 2007) 
 

Small Family Child Care Homes Large/Group Family Child Care Homes 

States* Number of 
Children 
Allowed 

Maximum 
Number/Ratio of 
Children to One 
Provider 

Provider’s Own 
Children Counted 

Maximum Number of 
Infants and Toddlers 
Allowed to One 
Provider 

Number of Children 
Allowed 

Ratio of Children to 
One Provider 

Provider’s 
Own Children 
Counted 

Alabama 1–6 6 Yes, if younger than 
age 12 2 younger than 1 year 7–12 6:1, with no more than 2 

younger than 1 year 
Yes, if younger 
than age 12 

Alaska1 5–8 8 Yes 
3 younger than 30 
months, with no more 
than 2  
nonambulatory children 

9–12 12:2 Yes 

Arizona2 NL (voluntary certification) 6–10 (unrelated) 5:1 No (total not to 
exceed 15) 

Arkansas3 6–16 

10:1, if none younger 
than 3 years; 
9:1, if none younger 
than 2 years, and no 
more than 3 between 
2 and 3 years; 
8:1, if no more than 1 
younger than 2 
years; 
7:1, if no more than 2 
younger than 2 
years; 
6:1, if no more than 3 
younger than 2 years 

Yes, if preschool-age 
or younger 

3 younger than 2 years 
(varies for ages of other 
children in care and 
additional providers 
present) 

NC 

California4 2–6  
(plus 2 SAC) 8 Yes, if younger than 

age 10 See State Notes  Up to 12 
(plus 2 SAC) 8:1 Yes, if younger 

than age 10 

Colorado5 2–6  
(plus 2 SAC) 8 Yes, if younger than 

age 12 

2 younger than 2 years; 
3 younger than 2 years, 
with no more than 2 
younger than 1 year, 
with no additional SAC 

7–12 7:1 NA 

National Child Care Information Center
A service of the Child Care Bureau 
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Small Family Child Care Homes Large/Group Family Child Care Homes 

States* Number of 
Children 
Allowed 

Maximum 
Number/Ratio of 
Children to One 
Provider 

Provider’s Own 
Children Counted 

Maximum Number of 
Infants and Toddlers 
Allowed to One 
Provider 

Number of Children 
Allowed 

Ratio of Children to 
One Provider 

Provider’s 
Own Children 
Counted 

Connecticut 1–6 
(plus 3 SAC) 9 Yes, if younger than 

age 12 2 younger than 2 years  7–12 

4:1 for younger than 3 
years; 
10:1 for 3 years and 
older 

NA 

Delaware6 1–4  
(plus 2 SAC) 6 Yes, if preschool-age 

or younger 

3 younger than 2 years, 
with max. 2 younger 
than 1 year 

7–12  
(plus 2 SAC during 
school closings) 

6:1, with max. 4 younger 
than 2 years and with 
max 2 younger than 1 
year 

Yes, if 
preschool-age 
or younger 

District of 
Columbia 1–5 5 Yes, if younger than 

age 6 2 younger than 2 years NC 

Florida 2–10 

10, if no more than 5 
are preschool-age, 
with no more than 2 
younger than 1 year; 
6 preschool, if none 
younger than 1 year; 
6, with 3 younger 
than 1 year; 
4, if all younger than 
1 year  

Yes, if younger than 
age 13 4 younger than 1 year Up to 12 

8:2, if all children are 
birth to 24 months; 
12:2, if no more than 4 
are younger than 24 
months 

Yes, if younger 
than age 13 

Georgia7 

3–6 (up to 12 
younger than 
13 years, with 
6 related to 
provider, 
residents, or 
children for 
whom no 
compensation 
is received) 

3 younger than  1 
year; 
6 younger than 3 
years; 
8 younger than 5 
years 

Yes 3 younger than 1 year 7–18 

6:1 for younger than 1 
year and younger than 
18 months and not 
walking; 
8:1 for 1-year-olds who 
walk; 
10:1 for 2 years; 
15:1 for 3 years; 
18:1 for 4 years and 
older 

NA 

Hawaii 3–6 6 Yes, if younger than 
age 6 

2 younger than 18 
months Up to 12 

8:1 for 2–3 years; 
12:1 for 3–5 years and 
older 

NA 

Idaho8 NL (voluntary license) NL (voluntary license) 

Illinois9 4–8  
(plus 4 SAC) 8 Yes, if younger than 

age 12 

3 younger than 2 years, 
if no more than 5 are 
younger than 5 years  

4–16 8:1; 
12:1, if SAC 

Yes, if younger 
than age 12 
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Small Family Child Care Homes Large/Group Family Child Care Homes 

States* Number of 
Children 
Allowed 

Maximum 
Number/Ratio of 
Children to One 
Provider 

Provider’s Own 
Children Counted 

Maximum Number of 
Infants and Toddlers 
Allowed to One 
Provider 

Number of Children 
Allowed 

Ratio of Children to 
One Provider 

Provider’s 
Own Children 
Counted 

Indiana 
6–12  
(plus 3 SAC 
during 
vacations) 

12 Yes, if younger than 
age 8 

6 younger than 2 
years, with 2 or more 
16 months and older 
and walking 

13–16 

4:1 for infants;  
6:1 for birth–2 years, 
with 2 or more 16 
months and older and 
walking; 
10:1 for birth–6 years, 
with no more than 3 
younger than 16 
months;  
12:1 for 3 years and 
older 

Yes, if younger 
than age 8 

Iowa10 6 
(plus 2 SAC) 6  Yes, if younger than 

school-age 

4 younger than 2 years, 
with no more than 3 
younger than 18 
months 

6–12 
(plus 2 SAC and 2 part-
time) 

3:1 for younger than 18 
months; 
8:1 with no more than 4 
younger than 2 years, 
and no more than 3 
younger than 18 months 

Yes, if younger 
than school-age 

1–6  6 Yes, if younger than 
age 12 

3 younger than 18 
months 

7–12 
(plus 4 SAC)  See State Notes  Yes, if younger 

than age 11 
Kansas11 7–10  

(6 preschool 
and 4 SAC) 

See State Notes  Yes, if younger than 
age 11 

3 younger than 18 
months NC 

Kentucky 

4–6  
(plus 4 
children 
related to 
provider) 
 

6  Yes, if younger than 
age 6 4 younger than 1 year  7–12 

5:1 for younger than 1 
year; 
6:1 for 1–2 years; 
10:1 for 2–3 years; 
12:1 for 3–4 years; 
14:1 for 4–5 years; 
15:1 for 5–7 years 

Yes, if care is 
provided to 
them 

Louisiana NL (voluntary registration) NL 

Maine 

3–12 
(up to 8 
preschool and 
2 SAC, unless 
all SAC) 

4 younger than 30 
months; 
8 older than 2 ½ 
years plus 2 SAC; 
6, with no more than 
3 younger than 2 ½ 
years plus 2 SAC;  
12 SAC 

No 4 younger than 30 
months NC 

Maryland 1–8 8 Yes, if younger than 
age 6 2 younger than 2 years  NC 
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Small Family Child Care Homes Large/Group Family Child Care Homes 

States* Number of 
Children 
Allowed 

Maximum 
Number/Ratio of 
Children to One 
Provider 

Provider’s Own 
Children Counted 

Maximum Number of 
Infants and Toddlers 
Allowed to One 
Provider 

Number of Children 
Allowed 

Ratio of Children to 
One Provider 

Provider’s 
Own Children 
Counted 

Massachusetts12 1–6  6 
Yes, if younger than 
age 10 and present 
more than 3 hours 

3 younger than 2 years, 
if at least 1 is 15 months 
and can walk 
unassisted 

Up to 10 

6:1, with no more than 3 
younger than 2 years, 
no more than 2 younger 
than 15 months  

Yes, if younger 
than age 10 
and present 
more than 3 hrs 

Michigan 1–6 6 Yes, if younger than 
age 7 

2 younger than 18 
months; 
4 younger than 30 
months 

7–12 6:1 Yes, if younger 
than age 7 

Minnesota 2–6  
(plus 4 SAC) 

10, if 6 younger than 
kindergarten-age, 
with no more than 3 
younger than 24 
months, with no more 
than 2 younger than 
1 year 

Yes, if younger than 
age 11 

3 younger than 24 
months, with no more 
than 2 younger than  
1 year unless have a 
specific license  

Up to 14 

10:1, with 8 younger 
than kindergarten-age, 
no more than 3 younger 
than 24 months, no 
more than 2 younger 
than 1 year;  
12:1, with 10 younger 
than kindergarten-age, 
no more than 2 younger 
than 24 months, no 
more than 1 younger 
than 1 year 

Yes, if younger 
than age 11 

Mississippi 6–12 

4:1 for younger than 
1 year; 
8:1 for 1 year; 
12:1 for 2 years; 
14:1 for 3 years; 
16:1 for  4 years; 
20:1 for 5–9 years; 
25:1 for 10–12 years 

Not specified  Not specified 13 or more 

5:1 for younger than 1 
year; 
9:1 for 1 year; 
12:1 for 2 years; 
14:1 for 3 years; 
16:1 for  4 years; 
20:1 for 5–9 years; 
25:1 for 10–12 years 

Not specified 

Missouri 
       

5–10 
 

10, if 2 younger than 
2 years; 
6, if 3 younger than 2 
years; 
4, if all younger than 
2 years 

No 4 younger than 2 years    11–20 

4:1 for 0–2 years;  
8:1 for 2 years;  
10:1 for 3–4 years;  
16:1 for 5 years and 
older; 
10:1 for mixed ages 
older than 2 years; 
8:1, with more than 4 
2-year-olds 

No 

Montana13 3–6 6 Yes, if younger than 
age 6 3 younger than 2 years 7–12 6:1;  

4:1 for infants 
Yes, if younger 
than age 6 

Nebraska14 4–8  
(plus 2 SAC) 

10, if 2 SAC during 
nonschool hours 

Yes, if younger than 
age 8 

3 younger than 18 
months, with no more 
than 2 younger than 1 
year  

Up to 12 
10:1, if no young 
preschoolers; 
12:1, if all SAC 

Yes, if younger 
than age 8  
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Small Family Child Care Homes Large/Group Family Child Care Homes 

States* Number of 
Children 
Allowed 

Maximum 
Number/Ratio of 
Children to One 
Provider 

Provider’s Own 
Children Counted 

Maximum Number of 
Infants and Toddlers 
Allowed to One 
Provider 

Number of Children 
Allowed 

Ratio of Children to 
One Provider 

Provider’s 
Own Children 
Counted 

Nevada 5–6  
(plus 3 SAC) 9, if 3 SAC 

No, but additional SAC 
includes provider’s 
own children, if 
younger than age 10 

4 younger than 2 years, 
with no more than 2 
younger than 1 year  

7–12  
(plus 3 SAC) 

6:1, with no more than 4 
younger than 2 years 
and no more than 2 
younger than 1 year 

No, but 
additional SAC 
includes 
provider’s own 
children, if 
younger than 
age 10 

New Hampshire 4–6  
(plus 3 SAC) 

6 preschool-age and 
3 SAC, with no more 
than 4 younger than 
3 years, and no more 
than 2 younger than 
24 months;  
5 preschool-age and 
3 SAC, with no more 
than 4 younger than 
3 years, and no more 
than 2 younger than 
2 years;  
4 younger than 3 
years  

Yes, if younger than 
age 10 

4 younger than 3 years, 
with no more than 2 
younger than  
24 months 

7–12 
(plus 5 SAC) 

17:2 (includes 5 SAC), 
with no more than 4 
younger than age 3 

Yes, if younger 
than age 10 

New Jersey NL (voluntary certification) NL 

New Mexico 5–6 6 Yes, if younger than 
age 6  2 younger than 2 years 7–12 6:1, with no more than 2 

younger than 2 years 
Yes, if younger 
than age 6  

New York15 3–6  
(plus 2 SAC) 

6, if none are 
younger than  
2 years;  
5, if one or more are 
younger than 2 years 

Yes, if not yet enrolled 
in kindergarten or 
higher grade 

2 younger than 2 years 7–12 
(plus 2 SAC) 

6:1; 
2:1 younger than 2 
years  

Yes, if not yet 
enrolled in 
kindergarten or 
higher grade 

North Carolina 3–5  
(plus 3 SAC) 

8, with no more than 
5 preschool-age or 
younger 

Yes, if preschool-age 
or younger NA NC 

North Dakota16 

4–7 (plus 2 
SAC for 2 
hours before 
and after 
school, and 
school 
vacation)  

9, if 2 are SAC; 
4, if all younger than 
2 years 

Yes, if younger than 
age 12 

3 younger than 2 years, 
if exceeds 4 children 8–18 

4:1 for younger than 2 
years;  
5:1 for 2–3 years; 
7:1 for 3–4 years; 
10:1 for 4–5 years; 
12:1 for 5–6 years; 
18:1 for  6–12 years 

NA 

Ohio NL 
7–12; or  
4–12, if 4 or more are 
younger than 2 years 

6:1 Yes, if younger 
than age 6  
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Small Family Child Care Homes Large/Group Family Child Care Homes 

States* Number of 
Children 
Allowed 

Maximum 
Number/Ratio of 
Children to One 
Provider 

Provider’s Own 
Children Counted 

Maximum Number of 
Infants and Toddlers 
Allowed to One 
Provider 

Number of Children 
Allowed 

Ratio of Children to 
One Provider 

Provider’s 
Own Children 
Counted 

Oklahoma 1–7 

5 for any age; 
6, with no more than 
3 younger than 2 
years; 
7, with no more than 
2 younger than 2 
years  

Yes, if younger than 
age 5 5 younger than 2 years 8–12 

5:1 for any age; 
6:1, with no more than 3 
younger than 2 years; 
7:1, with no more than 2 
younger than 2 years; 
7:1, if all 2 years and 
older; 
8:1, if all 3 years and 
older; 
10:1, if all 4 years and 
older;  
12:1, if all 5 years and 
older  

Yes, if younger 
than age 5 

Oregon17 4–6  
(plus 4 SAC) 10 Yes, if younger than 

age 13 2 younger than 2 years 7–16 See State Notes  Yes, if younger 
than age 13 

Pennsylvania18 4–6  6 Yes, if infants and/or 
toddlers 

5 toddlers, if no infants; 
4 toddlers, if 1 infant; 
3 toddlers, if 2 infants 

7–12  
(plus 3 SAC) See State Notes  Yes 

Rhode Island 4–8  

6 younger than 6 
years, with no child 
younger than 18 
months;  
4 younger than 6 
years, with no more 
than 2 younger than  
18 months 

Yes, if younger than 6 
years or, if more than 
2 are younger than 12 
years and present 
more than 3 hours  

2 younger than 18 
months 9–12 

4:1 for younger than 2 
years; 
6:1 for 2 years and older 

Yes, if younger 
than 6 years or 
if more than 2 
are younger 
than 12 years 
and present 
more than 3 
hours 

South Carolina 2–6 6 Yes, if younger than 
age 12 NA 7–12 8:1, with no more than 3 

younger than 2 years 
Yes, if younger 
than age 10 

South Dakota NL (voluntary registration) 13–20  
(plus 3 SAC) 

5:1 for 0–3 years; 
10:1 for 3–6 years; 
15:1 for 6 years and 
older 

Yes 

Tennessee19 

5–7 
(plus 5 
children 
related to the 
provider) 

7 Yes, if younger than 
age 9 4 younger than 2 years 8–12  

(plus 3 SAC) See State Notes  Yes, if younger 
than age 9 

Texas20 4–6  
(plus 6 SAC) 12 Yes, if younger than 

age 14 
4 younger than 17 
months  Up to 12 See State Notes  Yes, if younger 

than age 14 

Utah21 5–8 8 Yes, if younger than 
age 4 2 younger than 2 years  9–16 

8:1, with no more than 2 
younger than age 2; 
12:1 for SAC 

Yes, if younger 
than age 12 
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Small Family Child Care Homes Large/Group Family Child Care Homes 

States* Number of 
Children 
Allowed 

Maximum 
Number/Ratio of 
Children to One 
Provider 

Provider’s Own 
Children Counted 

Maximum Number of 
Infants and Toddlers 
Allowed to One 
Provider 

Number of Children 
Allowed 

Ratio of Children to 
One Provider 

Provider’s 
Own Children 
Counted 

3–6  
(plus 4 SAC) 10, with 4 SAC Yes, if younger than 

age 2 3 younger than 2 years 

Vermont22 
3–12 

3:1 for younger than 
3 years; 
6:1, with no more 
than 2 younger than 
2 years   

Yes, if preschool-age 
or younger or, if 
homebound 

2 younger than 2 years 
NC 

Virginia23 NL (voluntary registration) 6–12 See State Notes  Yes, if younger 
than age 8 

Washington24 1–12 See State Notes  Yes, if younger than 
age 12 

2 younger than 2 
years NC 

West Virginia 4–6 6 Yes, if younger than 
age 6 2 younger than 2 years 7–12 6:1, with no more than 2 

infants 
Yes, if younger 
than age 6 

Wisconsin25 4–8 8 Yes, if younger than 
age 7 4 younger than 2 years NC 

Wyoming 3–10  10 Yes, if preschool-age 
or younger 2 younger than 2 years Up to 15 2:1 for birth–1 year; 

8:1 for 2 years and older 

Yes, if 
preschool-age 
or younger 

 
Key:  
NA = Not addressed in regulations 
NC = No category of facility 
NL = Facility not licensed 
SAC = school-age children 
 
Source: Data compiled by NCCIC from child care licensing regulations posted on the National Resource Center for Health and Safety in Child Care and Early 
Education Web site at http://nrc.uchsc.edu/STATES/states.htm on June 14, 2007.  
 
Endnotes: 
 
*States includes the District of Columbia for a total of 51 entities. 
 
For the purposes of this document, a licensed program is required to have permission from the State to operate and must meet specified family child care standards. 
Some States may call their regulatory processes certification or registration; the term licensed is used to represent all regulatory processes. 
Several States have county or city licensing regulations that may supersede State requirements; this table does not include such regulations. 
 
California, Colorado, Florida, Illinois, Minnesota, Oregon, South Carolina, and Wyoming exclude child care that is provided for the children of only one family.  
 
Vermont exempts family child care that is provided for the children of one or two families, unless it receives public funds. 
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State Notes: 
 
1Alaska: A large family child care home (“child care group home”) requires only one provider if the provider has completed 1 year of licensed home child care or the 
equivalent or meets the college credit or CDA requirements and there are no more than a total of 10 children, with no children younger than the age of 30 months; or 
no more than a total of 12 children who are all school-age. Family child care regulations governing group size and ratio differ slightly between the State and the city of 
Anchorage. 
 
2Arizona: Regulations for large family child care homes include a staffing option of one provider caring for up to five children. Licensing is voluntary for these homes, 
unless the home receives public funds. 
 
3Arkansas: A licensed home may care for two school-age children for not more than 3 hours per day before and/or after a school day; these two children are not 
required to be counted in the child-staff ratio. 
 
4California: For a small family child care home, the maximum number of children for whom care shall be provided, including children younger than age 10 who live in 
the licensee’s home are four infants; six children, no more than three of whom may be infants; or eight children, if at least two of the children are at least 6 years of age, 
no more than two infants are cared for during any time when more than six children are cared for, and the licensee notifies each parent that there may be up to seven 
or eight children in the home at one time. Large family child care homes may care for up to 14 children when at least 2 are at least 6 years of age, no more than 3 
infants are in care, and the licensee notifies each parent that there may be up to 13 or 14 children in the home at one time.  
 
5Colorado: Separate rules apply to infant and toddler and experienced provider homes. 
 
6Delaware: There are two levels of small family child care homes.  A Level II provider has more extensive qualifications, as demonstrated by education, credentials, or 
experience specified in the rules, and is permitted to enroll more children. In Level I homes, the provider must meet the qualifications for initial licensure. The following 
table is an example of the differences that are permitted when the provider is more qualified: 
 
 Maximum number of 

children 
Number younger than 

2 years 
Number younger than 

1 year 
Additional school-age 

children Total 

Level I 4 3 2 2 4+2=6 
Level II 6 4 2 2 6+2=8 

 
There are two types of large family child care homes. Type 1 large family child care homes may care for 7–12 children. A Type 2 large family child care home is also 
called an “infant/toddler” home. The data reported in the table are for Level l small family child care homes and Type 1 large family child care homes. 
           
7Georgia: In large (“group”) homes, mixed-age ratios are determined by the age of youngest child if younger than 3; ratios in groups with children older than 3 years of 
age are determined by the age of the majority of children. 
 
8Idaho: Voluntary licensing is available for family child care homes. State certification is required for large family child care homes, which includes obtaining a fire 
inspection and a staff criminal history check. 
 
9Illinois: One provider may care for a group consisting of up to eight children younger than age 12, of which up to five children may be younger than age 5, of which up 
to three children may be younger than age 2; or up to eight children younger than age 12, of which up to six may be younger than age 5, of which up to two may be 
younger than 30 months of age. In a large/group family child care home, the provider and assistant may care for 16 children: no more than 12 can be younger than age 
6 and no more than 6 can be younger than 30 months of age, of which no more than 4 can be younger than 15 months of age. 
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10Iowa: Homes caring for five or fewer children are not required to register. Iowa registers three types of family child care homes; categories A, B, and C. The data 
reported in the table for small family child care are for category A homes. Requirements for category C homes are reported under large family child care. 
 
11Kansas: Kansas regulates two types of small homes. Homes with one to six children must be registered and can be licensed voluntarily. Homes with 7 to 10 children 
must be licensed.          

In a licensed small family child care home serving 7–10 children, one provider may care for the following: 
       

Maximum Number 
Younger than 18 months 

Maximum Number 18 Months 
to Kindergarten-Age 

Kindergarten-Age  
to 11 Years 

Total Maximum 

0 7 3 10 
1 5 4 10 
2 4 3 9 
3 3 2 8 

In a licensed large family child care home serving 7–12 children, the maximum number of children is as follows:  
 

License Capacity, One Adult License Capacity, Two Adults 
Age of Children 

Enrolled 
License 
Capacity 

Max 
Younger 
than 18 
Months 

Max 18 Months to 
Kindergarten-Age 

Kindergarten-
Age to Age 11 

License 
Capacity 

Max 
Younger 
than 18 
Months 

Max 18 
Months to  
2 ½  years 

License 
Capacity 

2 ½  years to 11 
years 

9 0 7 3 10 0 5 12 

3 years to 11 
years 

10 1 5 4 10    

2 4 3 9    Kindergarten-
age to 11 years 12 

 

3 3 2 8    
 
12Massachusetts: A third category of family child care homes, Family Child Care Plus Home, is regulated by the licensing office. A provider in a Family Child Care 
Plus Home may care for up to eight children, provided that at least two of the eight children are school-age. 
 
13Montana: Small family child care homes providing care to infants only may enroll up to four infants. Large family child care homes providing care to infants only may 
enroll up to eight infants. 
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14Nebraska: The number of providers required and the maximum size of the group depends on the ages of children enrolled. The following table summarizes the 
requirements. 
    

Ages and Number of Children Family Child Care Homes I: 
Number of Providers 

Family Child Care Homes II: 
Number of Providers 

4 1 1 
5–8 2 2 Infants Only 
9–12 N/A 3 

8 1 1 
9–10 1 1 Mixed Ages 
9–12 N/A 2 
9–10 1 1 School-Age 11–12 N/A 1 

N/A = Not applicable 
 
15New York: A maximum of 10 children are allowed in large family child care homes if any child is younger than 2 years old. 
 
16North Dakota: A small family child care home must be licensed if it cares for four or more children ages 24 months and younger, or six or more children at any time.  
 
17Oregon: The following tables summarize the child-staff ratios for large/group family child care homes: 
 
A) If all children in care are in the same age group, the following determines the staff-child ratio.  
 

Table A 
Ages of Children in 

Care 
Group Size Staff-Child Ratio Notes  

6 weeks to 24 
months  

12 1:4 If more than 12 children are in care, the groups must be separated; if more than 8 of the 13 children in care 
are infants or toddlers the group size, may not exceed 8.  

24 months to eligible 
for 1st  grade  

12 1:10 If more than 12  children are in care, the groups must be separated.  

eligible for 1st 
 
grade 

to age 13  
16 1:15 Children may be one group; there must be a second provider if more than 15 school age children are in 

care.  
 



11  
 

 
B) If children in care include any infants and/or toddlers, the following table determines the staff-child ratio.  
 

Table B 
Ages of Children in 

Care 
Group Size Child-Staff Ratio Notes  

One child younger 
than 24 months  

12 1:8 If more than 12 children are in care and 1 is younger than 24 months, the group must be separated. Each 
group must meet the appropriate staff-child ratio.  
Practice note: groups may be arranged to have the younger child in a separate group with 1:8 ratio. For 
other group use ratios in Table A if all children are the same age; use Table C if mixed ages.  

Two children 
younger than 24 
months  

12 1:7 If more than 12 children are in care and 2 are younger than 24 months, the group must be separated. 
Each group must meet the appropriate child-staff ratio.  
Practice note: groups may be arranged to have the younger children in a separate group with 1:7 ratio. For 
other group use ratios in Table A if all children are the same age; use Table C if mixed ages.  

Three children 
younger than 24 
months  

12 1:6 If more than 12 children are in care and over 3 are younger than 24 months, the group must be separated. 
Each group must meet the appropriate child-staff ratio.  
Practice note: groups may be arranged to have the younger children in a group with 1:6 ratio. For other 
group use ratios in Table A if all children are the same age; use Table C if mixed ages.  

Four or more 
children younger 
than 24 months  

12 1:4 If more than 12 children are in care and 4 are younger than 24 months; the group must be separated. 
Each group must meet the appropriate staff-child ratio and if more than 8 infants or toddlers are in care 
group size may not exceed 8.  
Practice note: groups may be arranged to have the younger children in a separate group with 1:4 ratios in 
Table A if all children are the same age; use Table C if mixed ages.  

 
C) If children in care include a mix of only preschool- and school-age children, the following table determines the staff-child ratio.  
 

Table C 
Ages of Children 

in Care 
Group Size Child-Staff Ratio Notes  

One child in care 
aged 24 months to 
eligible for 1st 

 

grade; the rest of 
children in care are 
school-age  

12 1:12 If more than 12 children are in care, the groups must be separated to create groups of 12 or fewer 
children.  

Between 2 and 12 
children are 
between 24 months 
and eligible for 1st 
grade, the rest of 
the children in care 
are school-age  

12 1:10 If more than 12 children are in care, the groups must be separated to create groups of 12 or fewer 
children.  
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18Pennsylvania: The following table provides the large/group family child care home ratio and group sizes allowed by the State. 
 

Same-Age Groupings Mixed Ages 
Age Max Group Size Child-Staff Ratio Age Max Group Size Child-Staff Ratio 
Birth–12 months 12 4:1 Birth–36 months 12 4:1 
13–24 months 12 5:1 13 –36 months 12 5:1 
25–36 months 12 6:1 25 months–6 years 12 6:1 
37 months–6 years 12 10:1 37 months–8 years 12 10:1 
6–8 years 12 12:1 6–15 years 12 12:1 
9–15 years 15 15:1    

 
19Tennessee: 
 
Number of  
Caregivers Required1 Maximum Number of Children and Ages2 

1 Maximum of 15 present and no child present is under 3 years of age.3 

2 
Maximum of 15 present and at least 1 child up to a maximum of 9 children present are under 3 years of age, but no more than 4 
present are under 2 years of age.3 

3 Maximum of 15 if 10 or more are under 3 years of age.3 
1 If any child’s physical or mental condition requires special care, if children under 9 living in the home increases the group size, or when a field trip is taken 
off premises, the number of caregivers required shall be increased by one. 
2 Before 8 or more children are enrolled, the facility shall be approved by a fire safety inspector and by an environmentalist. 
3 If over 12 children are enrolled, the additional children shall be of school-age and a school-age program shall be provided. 
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20Texas: Texas requires family child care homes that care for one to three children to be listed with the State. No inspections are conducted, and there are no 
standards to meet. Small family child care homes are required to be registered and meet State requirements; large family child care homes are required to be licensed. 
Regulations for registered and licensed homes are combined, with specific stipulations included for each type of home. The following tables present the child-staff 
ratios and maximum group sizes allowed by the State. A large (licensed) family child care home with 3 providers may care for up to 12 children of any age birth through 
age 13. 
 

Small (Registered) Family Child Care 
Combinations 

Large (Licensed) Family Child Care 
Combinations with One Provider 

Large (Licensed) Family Child Care 
Combinations with Two Providers 

0–17 
Months 

18 
Months 

and 
Older 

SAC 5 
Years and 

Older 
Max 0–17 

Months 
18 Months–3 

Years 

4 
Years 
and 

Older 
Max 0–17 

Months 
18 Months 
and Older Max 

0 6 6 12 0 8 4 12 0 12 12 
0 5 7 12 0 7 5 12 1 11 12 
0 4 8 12 0 6 6 12 2 10 12 
0 3 9 12 0 5 7 12 3 9 12 
0 2 10 12 0 4 8 12 4 8 12 
0 1 11 12 0 3 9 12 5 7 12 
0 0 12 12 0 2 10 12 6 6 12 
1 5 4 10 0 1 11 12 7 5 12 
1 4 5 10 0 0 12 12 8 4 12 
1 3 6 10 1 6 4 11 9 3 12 
1 2 7 10 1 5 5 11 10 0 10 
1 1 8 10 1 4 6 11    
1 0 9 10 1 3 7 11    
2 4 2 8 1 2 8 11    
2 3 3 8 1 1 9 11    
2 2 4 8 1 0 10 11    
2 1 5 8 2 5 3 10    
2 0 6 8 2 4 4 10    
3 3 1 7 2 3 5 10    
3 2 2 7 2 2 6 10    
3 1 3 7 2 1 7 10    
3 0 4 7 2 0 8 10    
4 2 0 6 3 2 1 6    
4 1 1 6 3 1 2 6    
4 0 2 6 

 

4 0 0 4 
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21Utah: Small family child care homes that care for up to four children may voluntarily become registered; homes that care for one to eight children may elect to 
become licensed. Small family child care requirements reported in the table are for homes required to have a residential certificate. 
 
22Vermont: Vermont regulates two types of small homes. Homes with 3–6 children must be registered, and homes with 3–12 children are licensed. A registered 
family child care home may care for up to 12 children during the summer if 2 caregivers are on duty. In a licensed family child care home, when only children 
younger than age 3 are enrolled, two staff are required for four to seven children, and three staff are required when eight or more children are in care.  
 
23Virginia:  
 
In determining the need for an assistant, the following ratios are required, including the provider’s own and resident children younger than 8 years of age: 
 

Age of Child Ratio 
Birth–15 months 4:1 
16–23 months 5:1 
2–4 years 8:1 
5–9 years 16:1 
10 years and older Not counted 

 

When children are in mixed-age groups, the provider shall apply the following point system in determining the need for an assistant. Each caregiver shall not exceed 
16 points. The provider's own and resident children under 8 years of age count in point maximums. 
 

Age of Child Points 
Birth–15 months 4 
16–23 months 3 
2–4 years 2 
5–9 years 1 
10 years and older 0 

 

24Washington: 
 

Number of Providers Required Age Range Max Number of 
Children Younger than 

2 Years 

Max Number of  
Children 

A. Licensee Birth–11 years 2 6 
B. Licensee with 1 year experience 2–11 years None 8 
C. Licensee with 1 year experience 5–11 years None 10 
D. Licensee with 1 year experience plus assistant Birth–11 years 4 9 
E. Licensee with 2 years experience and one early care and education 

(ECE)  class   
3–11 years None 10 

F. Licensee with 2 years experience and one ECE class plus assistant  Birth–11 years 4 12 
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25Wisconsin: The maximum number of children per provider allowed by the State is outlined in the following chart. 
 

Maximum Number of Children Per Provider 
Younger 
than 2 
Years 

2 Years 
and 

Older 

Max Number of Additional 
Children in First Grade or 

Above, in Care for Fewer than 
3 Hours a Day 

Max Number 
Per Provider 

0 8 0 8 
1 7 0 8 
2 5 1 8 
3 2 3 8 
4 0 2 6 
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