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PREFACE 

This volume is published in compliance with section 14.3 (7) of the Code. 
The rules of the various boards and departments are arranged in alphabetical 
order, using the names of the departments in general use. 

Not all of the rules and regulations promulgated by the state departments 
have been included. The Act specifies "permanent" rules of "general appli­
cation." Where rules have been omitted by the editor there is a notation 
indicating where such rules may be obtained. 
January 1965 1'HE EDITOR. 

PUBLICATION OF DEPARTMENTAL RULES 

Section 14.3 of the Code, subsection 7, requires the Code Editor to: 

"Prepare the manuscript copy, and cause to be printed by the state 
superintendent of printing in each year in which a Code is published, a 
volume which shall contain the permanent rules and regulations of general 
application, promulgated by each state board, commission, bureau, division 
or department, other than a court, having statewide jurisdiction and author­
ity to make such rules. The code editor may omit from said volume all 
rules and regulations applying to professional and regulatory examining 
and licensing provisions and any. rules 'arid regulations of limited application. 
The code editor may make reference in the volume as to where said omitted 
rules and regulations may be procured. 

"This volume shall be known as the Iowa departmental rules and any 
rule printed therein may be cited · as ________________________ I.D.R. ________________________ giving 

the year of publication and the page where the particular rule, by number, 
may be found. 

"The code editor may provide cumulative, semiannual supplements for 
insertion in the latest published volume and a place shall be provided in the 
binding of such volume for insertion of such supplements." 

} 
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DEPARTMENTAL RULES 
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AGRICULTURE DEPARTMENT 

DIVISION OF ANIMAL INDUSTRY 
Rules and Regulations Governing the Importa­

tion of Livestock and Poultry Into 
the State of Iowa 

3.2 (2) A copy of the health certificate shall 
be forwarded immediately to the livestock sani­
tary. official of the state of origin for approval 
and transmittal. · · 

(Filed December 3, 1964) 3;2 (3) 0 Health certificates on swine shall not 
be valid more than 48 hours from date of in­

As authorized by Section 163.1, 163.6, 1962 spection. Certificates on all other livestock and 
Code of Iowa, the following rules are rescinded: poultry shall not be valid more than 30 days 

Chapter 3, Sections I to IX, inclusive, on pages from date of inspection. 
26 to 29, inclusive, 1962 Iowa Departmental Rules. 3.3 (163) Permits. 

This rescission is deemed of immediate im­
portance and shall be effective upon filing pur­
suant to Section 159.7, 159.8, 163.6, 1962 Code of 
Iowa. 

As authorized by Section 163.1, 1962 Code, 
Chapter 131 Laws 60 GA, the following rules 
are hereby adopted, which are to be cited as 
Chapter 3, Rules and Regulations Governing the 
Importation of Livestock and Poultry into the 
State of Iowa. 

3.1 (163) General. 
3.1 (1) No animal, including poultry or birds 

of any species that is affected -with, or that has 
been recently exposed to any infectious, conta­
gious or communicable disease or that originates 
from a quarantined area, shall be shipped or in 
any manner transported or moved into Iowa; 
except, animals approved for interstate ship­
ment for immediate slaughter, by· the Animal 
Disease Eradication Division, United States De­
partment of· Agriculture. 

3.1 (2) All livestock or poultry shipped or in 
any · manner transported or moved into Iowa 
shall be accompanied by an official health cer­
tificate or permit or both when required which 
must be attached to the waybill or shall be in 
possession of the driver of the vehicle or the 
person in charge of the animals. 

3.2 (163) Official Health Certificate. 
3.2 (1) An official health certificate is a legi­

ble record accomplished on an official form of 
the state of origin, issued by an accredited vet­
erinarian and approved by the livestock sani­
tary official of the state of origin; or an equiva­
lent form of the United States Department of 
Agriculture issued by a federally employed 
veterinarian. 
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3.3 (1) Requests for permits should be direct­
ed to the Division of Animal Industry, State 
House, Des Moines, Iowa 50319. Day and night 
phone number 515-281-5547. 

3.3 (2) All animals and poultry entering the 
state of Iowa under permit shall be consigned 
to a corporation or an individual who is a legal 
resident of the state of Iowa or to a legal agent 
authorized by law to do business within the 
state. 

3.3 (3) All permits shall be valid for one 
shipment only and will be void fifteen (15) 
days after date of issuance. 

3.4 (163) Cattle. 
3.4 (1) Apparently healthy cattle of any class 

may be consigned to public stockyards or a 
slaughtering establishment under federal in­
spection, or to a livestock market or a slaughter­
ing establishment jointly approved by the Iowa 
Department of Agriculture and the United States 
Department of Agriculture when accompanied 
by an official certificate, waybill or a signed 
owners certificate, stating: 

a. Destination of livestock 
b. Purpose of movement 
c. Number of animals 
d. Point of origin 
e. Name and address of consignor. 

No tests required. 
3..t (2) Scabies. Cattle originating from herds 

or areas under quarantine for cattle scab will 
not be admitted. 

3.4 (3) Tuberculosis. Cattle of all classes may 
enter the state of Iowa when originating from 
a Tuberculosis modified accredited area from a 
herd not under quarantine, or meet one of the 
following requirements: 
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AGRICULTURE DEPARTMENT 

a. Originate from a negative herd tested 
within 12 months prior to entry, showing 
date of herd test. 

b. Negative tuberculin test applied within 
30 days prior to entry. 

3.5 (163) Brucellosis-Cattle. 
3.5 (1) Same as Federal requirements for the 

interstate movement with the following addi­
tions: All brucellosis tests of cattle shall be 
conducted by state or federal laboratories, or by 
approved laboratories under the direct super­
vision of the livestock sanitary official of the 
state of origin. All cattle regardless of breed, 
entering with negative brucellosis test will be 
subject to quarantine to be retested for brucell­
osis no sooner than thirty (30) days nor later 
than sixty (60) days from date of last test. 

3.5 (2) No test required but waybill or health 
certificate necessary for the following classes: 

a. Cattle going direct for immediate slaugh­
ter to our approved slaughter establishment. 

b. Cattle going direct to a public stockyard 
or to a State-Federal approved livestock market. 
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spayed heifers, official certificate or permit re­
quired. Note: Springer heifers or heifers with 
calves by side will not be admitted for feeding 
or grazing purposes. Such cattle shall be classi­
fied as breeding cattle and meet the require­
ments as set forth above, 3.5 (4). 

3.5 (6) However, female calves admitted for 
feeding or grazing purposes, if officially vaccin­
ated at private expense, may be released from 
feeder quarantine for brucellosis. 

3.6 (163) Dogs. 
3.6 (1) All dogs shall be accompanied by a 

health certificate. Dogs four (4) months of age 
or older must be vaccinated for rabies by one 
of the following methods: 

a. Modified live virus vaccine (chick em­
bryo origin) not more than t\yo (2) years prior 
to entry. 

' b. Killed virus vaccine ( caprine origin) not 
more than one (1) year prior to entry. 

Exceptions: Dogs for exhibition and per­
forming dogs entering for a limited period of 
time. 

3.5 (3) Steers and spayed heifers must be 3·7 (l63) Goats. 
accompanied by a health certificate or permit, 3.7 (I) Goats for dairy and breeding purposes 
and no test required. may enter the state when meeting the following 

3.5 ( 4) Cattle for Dairy and Breeding Purposes 
Cattle for dairy and breeding purposes may 

enter from a herd not under quarantine, accom­
panied by an official health certificate from the 
state of origin, showing individual identity of 
all animals. All female cattle born after July 1, 
1963 having reached the age of nine months 
must have been officially vaccinated for brucell­
osis prior to entry. Such vaccination meeting all 
brucellosis requirements for entry until the 
animal reaches the age of thirty (30) months. 

a. Dairy type females and bulls under eight 
months of age may enter on a health certificate. 
(No test or permit required). 

b. All females over 30 months of age, bulls 
over eight (8) months of age (including bru­
cella vaccinates) and females born before July 
1, 1963, when not official vaccinates under 30 
months of age must meet one of the following 
requirements: 

(1) Originate from a certified brucellosis 
free herd, showing date of last test and herd 
certification number. 

(2) Originate from negative herds in mod­
ified certified areas providing the entire herd 
of origin has passed a negative test within 12 
months prior to entry, date of test to be shown 
on health certificate. 

(3) Proved negative to a brucellosis test 
conducted within 30 days prior to entry. 

3.5 (5) Feeding or grazing-Female cattle of 
recognized beef type, under 21 months of age 
may enter under feeder quarantine for a period 
not to exceed 12 months (no test, but official 
certificate and a permit required). Steers and 

requirements: 
a. Originate from a herd not under quaran­

tine. 
b. Proved negative to a brucellosis test con­

ducted within a thirty (30) day period prior to 
entry. 

c. Originate from a Tuberculosis modified 
accredited area, or meet one of the following 
requirements: 

(1) Originate from a negative herd tested 
within 12 months prior to entry, showing date 
of herd test. 

(2) Negative tuberculin test applied with­
in 30 days prior to entry. 

3.8 (163) Horsci, Mules and Asses. 
3.8 (1) Official health certificate showing free­

dom from disease. 

3.9 (163) Sheep. 

3.9 (1) All sheep entering the state of Iowa 
for breeding or feeding purposes shall be ac­
companied by a permit and a health certificate. 

a. All sheep must have been dipped in an 
approved dip within ten (10) days prior to entry, 
unless originating in states or areas designated 
as scab-free by the ADE-USDA and qualifying 
under para. 1 or 2 below: 

(1) Moved direct from point of origin to 
point of destination, without being diverted en­
route, or 

(2) Enter Iowa through public stockyards 
under federal supervision, provided the identity 
of the animals is maintained and they are han­
dled separate and apart from sheep originating 
in scab-infested areas or sheep of unknown ori­
gin. 
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b. Slaughter-Sheep can enter the state of 
Lowa when consigned direct for immediate 
slaughter to an approved slaughter establishment 
under f~eral supervision no dipping required. 

c. Scrapie - Sheep from premises where 
scrapie has been known to exist within the last 
forty-two (42) months or sheep from flocks 
under surveillance for scrapie will not be ad­
mitted into Iowa. 

3.10 (163) Swine. 

3)0 (1) Interstate movement shall meet all 
federal requirements. Swine that have been fed 
raw garbage will not be admitted into Iowa for 
any purpose, except for immediate slaughter to 
a slaughtering establishment under federal in­
spection and in compliance with federal require­
ments for interstate shipment. Swine for feeding 
and breeding not immunized for hog cholera may 
enter only when meeting federal regulations. 

3.10 (2) Slaughter swine may enter without 
health certificate when consigned directly to a 
public stockyard, or slaughter establishment un­
der federal supervision, or when sold or con­
signed to an assembly station which must move 
the swine directly to slaughter. 

3.10 (3) Breeding or feeding: 
a. Health certificate including a statement 

by a qualified veterinarian that the swine have 
been inspected within forty-eight (48) hours 
prior to entry and found healthy. 

b. Hog cholera vaccination required under 
one of the following methods: 

(1) Killed or inactivated hog cholera vac­
cine not less than twenty-one (21) days nor 
more than six (6) months prior to entry. 

(2) Modified live virus and ·anti-hog-chol­
era serum, not less than tWenty-one (21) days 
nor more than one (1) year prior to entry. 

(3) Modified live virus and anti-hog-chol­
era serum immunized less than twenty-four (24) 
hours, to be in transit not more than forty-eight 
( 48) hours to point of destination. 

c. All swine imported for breeding or feed­
ing purposes not having been vaccinated 21 days 
or more prior to entry shall be vaccinated and 
quarantined on purchaser's premises, and shall 
be maintained separate and apart from all other 
swine for a period of twenty-one (21) days from 
date of vaccination. 

d. The swine shall be identified by an ear 
tag affixed to either ear, bearing a number and 
the state of origin. 

Exceptions: 
(1) Registered swine for exhibition or 

breeding purposes. 
(2) Swine for the manufacture of biologi­

cal products. 
(3) Swine for immediate slaughter. 

e. Brucellosis - All breeding swine four (4) 
months of age and over must meet one of the 
following requirements: 

AGRICULTURE DEPARTMENT 

(1) Negative to brucellosis test conducted 
by an official laboratory of the state of origin 
within thirty (30) days of entry. 

(2) Originate from a validated brucellosis­
free herd, tested within 12 months prior, the 
health certificate shall include the certificate 
herd number and date of last test. 
3.'11 (163) Poultry. Poultry hatching eggs, baby 
chicks or turkey poults must be accompanied by 
an official health certificate from the state of 
origin. 

3.11 (1) Chickens. 
a. All poultry hatching eggs or baby chicks 

must originate from flocks or hatcheries that 
have a Pullorum-Typhoid clean rating given by. 
the official state agency of the National Poultry 
Improvement Plan or o.ther state agency of the 
state of origin and so stated on the health certifi­
cate. 

b. All boxes, crates and containers shall be 
new or disinfected before being used to move 
poultry into the state of Iowa, and identified 
with a label cooperating in the National Poultry 
Improvement Plan or other official state agency. 

3.11 (2) Turkeys. 
a. No turkeys shall be imported for breed­

ing purposes and no turkey eggs shall be im­
ported for hatching purposes unless they origin­
ate from a flock that has been tested annually 
and can be classified as follows: 

(1) Pullorum-typhoid clean as provided 
by the National Turkey Improvement Plan or 
other official state agency. 

(2) Salmonella typhimurium tested and no 
reactor found. 

(3) Mycoplasma Gallisepticum ~ted and 
no reactor found. \ 

b. No person shall import turkeys or turkey 
eggs for breeding or hatchery purposes unless 
such turkeys or turkey eggs comply with the 
requirements of this section. 

c. All turkeys or turkey poults and turkey 
eggs imported into Iowa shall be accompanied 
by a certificate signed by the chief livestock of­
ficial of the state of origin certifying that such 
turkeys, turkey poults, or turkey eggs are from 
flocks complying with this regulation or an 
equivalent program of the state or origin. 

3.11 (3) Health certificate or permits will not 
be required for the importation of poultry for 
immediate slaughter. ) 

Rules Dealing with Movement bf Swine. 

As authorized by Section 163.1 of the 1962 
Code of Iowa, the following additional rule is 
adopted which is to be cited as Rule 1.34 (163). 

(Filed July 14, 1964) 
New Rule 

1.34 (163) Swine Vaccination. 

1.34 (1) All swine of 30 days of age or over 
that are sold or leased to move intrastate and not 

_....__ ---- ___,/ 
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consigned direct to slaughter or for serum pro- must be vaccinated on the premises of the seller 
duction, must be accompanied by a valid certifi- or leasor or may move to an Iowa auction market 
cate of vaccination issued by·a licensed veterin- or approved feeder pig market to be vaccinated; 
arian or notarized statement of vaccination by and must move to the premises of the purchaser 
owner against hog cholera by a method approved or leasee within 24 hours of vaccination, where 
and recognized by the Iowa Department of Ag- they shall be placed under 21-day quarantine. 
riculture and the United States Department of Freshly vaccinated swine, if not moved within 
Agriculture. 24 hours of vaccination, shall be placed under 

Unvaccinated swine at time of sale or lease, 21-day quarantine on the owner's premises. 

COMMERCE CO:LUMISSION 

Pursuant to authority vested in the Iowa State 
Commerce Commission by Section 490.18, Code 
of Iowa, 1962, rules and regulations appearing in 
1962 I.D.R. page 91, rule PL-107 is hereby re­
scinded and the following adopted in lieu thereof: 

RULES AND REGULATIONS RELATING TO 
PIPELINES AND UNDERGROUND GAS 

STORAGE 

(Filed August 23, 1962) 

Rule PL-107. Delete in line 5 following "1958," 
the following phrase: "or high pressure distri­
bution lead," and in line 7 following the word 
"inch" the following phrase: "when such main 
or lead is located within the boundaries of cities 
and towns"; and the revised rule should read as 
follows: 

"No petition need be made for permit to con­
struct, operate or maintain a gas main or dis­
tribution main as technically defined in ASA 
B31.8-1958 and which will be operated at a pres-

sure of less than 150 pounds per square inch." 
(Ed. Note. The above rule is being reprinted 

herein). 

WAREHOUSE DIVISION 

Pursuant to authority of section 543.28 of the 
Code rule W-20 appearing in the 1962 I.D.R. 95 
is rescinded and the following adopted in lieu 
thereof. 

(Filed November 23, 1964) 

Rule No. W-20. Rates. Rates charged by a 
warehouseman for storage, conditioning and de­
livery of agricultural products shall be those 
contained in the effective tariff filed with the 
commission in accordance with the provisions of 
section 543.28 of the Code of Iowa, except there 
shall be no minimum charge requirement for 
storage or delivery of bulk grain stored for the 
sole purpose of processing and which is redeliv­
ered to the original depositor. 

HEALTH DEPARTMENT 

OPTOMETRY EXAMINERS 
Pursuant to the authority of" sections 147.44, 

147.45, and 147.53 of the Code 1962, the rules that 
appear in 1962 I.D.R., page 258, Information Re­
garding Reciprocity, Paragraph number 1 through 
6, are rescinded and the following adopted in 
lieu thereof. 

'Interstate Endorsement - Reciprocity 
(Filed July 14, 1964) 

1.1 (147) Reciprocal Agreements. 

1.1. ( 1) That all reciprocal agreements hereto­
fore adopted and in force between this board 
and other state licensing boards be cancelled as 
of January 1, 1965, and that all state licensure 
boards be so notified. 

1.1 (2) That applicants for licensure to prac­
tice optometry in the state of Iowa, who are 
licensed by examination by any other state li­
censing board, maintaining equal practice privi­
leges, be considered on an individual basis. 

1.1 (3) That a license may be granted by the 
Iowa Board of Optometry Examiners without an 
examination, or as much examination as may be 
required to establish proficiency and desirability 
to any such applicant, who, at the date of the 

original license issued, fully conformed to the 
educational and licensue requirements of said 
Board of Optometry Examiners in Iowa. 

This rule is intended to implement sections 
44, 45, and 53, Chapter 147. 

OPTOMETRY EXAMINERS 
Pursuant to authority of sections 147.29 and 

154.3 of the Code the following rule is adopted. 
National Boa'rd · 

(Filed December 2, 1964) 

1.1 (147) (154) National Board Examination 
1.1 Cl) After January 2, 1965, the Iowa State 

Board of Optometric Examiners will discontinue 
the use of a written examination and will re­
quire in lieu thereof satisfactory passing of 
Parts I and II of the National Board Examination. 
Candidates for licensure in Iowa will be required 
to request their National Board grades be for­
warded to the State Department of Health, Di­
vision of Licensure, State Office Building, Des 
Moines, Iowa, 50319, at least fifteen (15) days 
prior to the examination date. 

This rule is intended to implement sections 
one hundred forty-seven point twenty-nine 
(147.29) and one hundred fifty-four point three 
(154.3). 
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HIGHWAY COMMISSION 

Pursuant to the authority of sections 307.5 (14), 
321.453, 321.457 and 321.467 through 321.469 of the 
1962 Code of Iowa the following rules and regu­
lations are adopted. 

(Filed July 31, 1964) 

Chapter II 

Issuance of Permits for the Operation and 
Movement of Vehicles of Excess Size 

and Weight 

2.1 (321) General Stipulations. All permits issued 
by the commission will be subject to the fol­
lowing general stipulations: 

2.1 (1) Any permit issued by the Iowa State 
Highway Commission conveys no authority for 
movements over any extension of a primary 
road in a city or town, over any other city or 
town street or over any secondary road. Permits 
for movements over secondary roads and city 
streets must be· secured in writing from the 
local authorities with respect to highways or 
streets under their jurisdiction. 

2.1 (2) By Whom Issued. All permits for the 
movement of oversize vehicles or vehicle and 
load on the Primary Road System of Iowa will 
be issued only through Traffic and Highway 
Planning Department, of the Iowa State Highway 
Commission in Ames, Iowa. 

2.1 (3) The state of Iowa and the Iowa State 
Highway Commission assume no responsibility 
for the property of the applicant. 

2.1 (4) During the moving of a vehicle or ob­
ject under a permit, the applicant shall take all 
responsible precautions to protect' and safeguard 
the lives and property of the traveling public 
and adjacent property owners, and shall hold 
the state of Iowa and the Iowa State Highway 
Commission harmless of any damages that may 
be sustained by the traveling public or adjacent 
property owners on account of such moving. 

2.1 (5) The applicant shall hold the state and 
the State Highway Commission harmless from 
any damages that may result to the primary high­
way system by movements made hereunder and 
shall reimburse the state or the State Highway 
Commission for any expenditure which the state 
or the State Highway Commission may have to 
make on account of the applicant's moving op­
erations. 

2.1 (6) Nothing in the permit shall be con­
strued as waiving any load limitations which 
have been or which might be established on any 
bridge or any road which is posted with embargo 
signs. 

2.1 (7) The permit and any supplements or 
additions thereto shall be void in case the weights 
or dimensions of the vehicle and load as operated 
exceed the weights or dimensions as provided 
in the permit and . supplements . or additions 

thereto. Provisions of the law as to maximum 
weight and dimensions, chapter 321, Code of 
1962, as amended shall then apply. 

2.1 (8) No permit shall grant authority for 
operation of any vehicle or combination of vehi­
cles which is of illegal dimension when unladen. 

2.1 (9) Permits are valid only for the trans­
portation of a single article which exceeds statu­
tory size or weight limits of both, and which can­
not reasonably be divided or reduced to statu­
tory size and weight limits, except in the trans­
portation of property consisting of more than 
one article exceeding the statutory size limits 
when the statutory weight limitations are not 
exceeded and the additional articles transported 
do not exceed statutory size in ·any way in which 
such limits would not be exceeded by the single 
article. 

2.1 (10) The gross weight, including tolerance, 
for any group of axles shall not exceed the fol­
lowing wheelbase and weight table. 

Maximum Gross Load, Including Tolerance, on 
Groups of Two or More Axles or on Entire 

Vehicle or Combination of Vehicles. 

Maximwn Loading Maximum Loading 
Pounds Pounds 

Wheel- Wheel-
Base With Base With 

Feet Legal Permit Feet Legal Permit 

4 32,960 34,000 26 55,815 66,000 
5 32,960 34,000 27 56,802 68,000 
6 32,960 34,000 28 57,777 70,000 
7 32,960 34,000 29 58,741 72,000 
8 35,219 48,000 30 59,681 74,000 
9 36,266 48,000 31 60,785 76,000 

10 37,724 48,000 32 61,888 78,000 
11 39,134 48,000 33 62,992 80,000 
12 41.356 48,000 34 64,096 81,000 
13 42,434 48,000 35 65,200 82,000 
14 43,500 48,000 36 66,303 83,000 
15 44,566 48,000 37 67,407 84,000 
16 45,620 48,000 38 68,511 85,000 
17 46,675 48,000 39 69,615 86,000 
18 47,719 50,000 40 70,718 87,000 
19 48,750 52,000 41 71,822 88,000 
20 49,783 54,000 42 72,926 89,000 
21 50,803 56,000 43 73,280 90,000 
22 51,824 58,000 44 73,280 90,000 
23 52,833 60,000 45 73.280 90,000 
24 53,830 62,000 46 73,280 90,000 
25 54,828 64,000 47 73,280 90,000 

Maximum 

2.2 (321) Types. The following permits to­
gether with their limitations and stipulations 
will be issued by the Iowa State Highway Com­
mission for the movement of vehicles only over 
the rural primary road system. 

2.2 (1) Annual Permits (Issued for a period of 
one year). 

a. Motor Vehicle Transporter - see section 
321.4.'i7 and 321.467. 
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b. Agricultural Machinery and Equipment 
(Dealer). Loaded vehicle(s) for trips between 
nearest branch house or distribution point to 
the dealer or from the dealer to his customer in 
the local or adjoining county, must not exceed 
the following dimensions and weights: 

(1) Width-9 feet, 6 inches, 
(2) Length (legal, no towing permitted)­

see section 321.457 of the 1962 Code of Iowa. 
(3) Height-13 feet, 10 inches, 
(4) Weight (legal including all tolerances) 

-18,540 pounds (single axle), 32,960 pounds 
(tandem axle), or 73,280 pounds (total gross 
weight). 

2.2 (2) Special Permits (unrestricted). These 
permits shall be valid for travel over any portion 
of the rural primary highway system, without 
escort, but not including the interstate highway 
system. 

a. Construction Machinery and Equipment. 
Loaded vehicle(s) must not exceed the following 
dimensions and weights: 

(1) Width-11 feet, 9 inches, 
(2) Length (front projection of 15 feet, 0 

inches)-not to exceed legal plus 15 feet, 0 inches. 
(3) Height-13 feet, 10 inches, 
(4) Weight (including all tolerances)-

18,540 pounds (single axle), 34,000 pounds (two 
axle tandem), 42,000 pounds (three axle tandem), 
73,280 pounds (total gross weight). 

b. Construction Materials-Short Trips. 

Loaded vehicle(s), for trips of 25 miles or less, 
must not exceed the following dimensions and 
weights: 

(1) Width - 9 feet, 6 inches, for legal 
length or 8 feet (legal width) for lengths up to 
70 feet, 

(2) Height (legal)-13 feet, 6 inches, 
(3) Weight (legal including all tolerances) 

-18,540 pounds (single axle), 32,900 pounds 
(tandem axle), or 73,280 pounds (total gross 
weight). 

c. Construction Materials-Long Trips. 

Loaded vehicle(s), for trips greater than 25 miles, 
must not exceed the following dimensions and 
weights: 

(1) Width (legal)-8 feet, 
(2) Length-65 feet, 
(3) Height (legal)-13 feet, 6 inches, 
(4) Weight (legal including all tolerances) 

-18,540 pounds (single axle), 32,960 pounds 
(tandem axle), or 73,280 pounds (total gross 
weight). 

d. T1·ansmission Poles and Gas Pipe-Short 
Trips. Loaded vehicle(s) for trips of 25 miles or 
less, must not exceed the following dimensions 
and weights: 

(1) Width (legal)-8 feet, 
(2) Length-100 feet, 
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(3) Height (legal)-13 feet, 6 inches. 
(4) Weight Oegal including all tolerances) 

-18,540 pounds (single axle), 32,960 pounds 
(tandem axle), or 73,280 pounds (total gross 
weight). 

e. Transmission Poles and Gas Pipes-Long 
trips. Loaded vehicle{s) for trips greater than 
25 miles, must not exceed the following dimen­
sions and weights: 

(1) Width (legal)-8 feet, 
(2) Length-65 feet, 
(3) Height (legal)-13 feet, 6 inches, 
(4) Weight (legal including all tolerances) 

-18,540 pounds (single axle), 32,960 pounds 
(tandem axle), or 73,280 pounds (total gross 
weight). 

f. Agricultural Machinery °iuid Equipment­
-Short Trips. Loaded vehicle(s) for trips of 25 
miles or less must not exceed the following di­
mensions and weights: 

(1) Width-11 feet, 9 inches, 
(2) Length-legal except when towing a 

portable elevator when 60 feet is permitted, 
(3) Height-13 feet, 10 inches, 
(4) Weight (legal including all tolerances) 

-18,540 pounds (single axle), 32,960 pounds 
(tandem axle), or 73,280 pounds (total gross 
weight). 

g. Portable Buildings-Short Trips. Loaded 
vehicle(s) for trips of 25 miles or less must not 
exceed the following dimensions and weights: 

(1) Width-12 feet, 6 inches, 
(2) Length (legal)-see section 321.457 of 

the 1962 Code of Iowa, 
(3) Height-13 feet, 10 inches, 
(4) Weight (legal including all tolerances) 

-18,540 pounds (single axle), 32,960 pounds 
(tandem axle), or 73,280 pounds (total gross 
wei.ght). 

2.:2 (3) Special Permits (restricted). These 
permits shall be valid for travel only over a 
specified route of the rural primary highway 
system, without escort, but not ·including any 
por{ion of the interstate highway system. 

a. Construction Machinery and Equipment. 
Loaded vehicle(s) over specified route(s) with 
origin or destination (or both) in Iowa, must 
not exceed the following dimensions and weights: 

(1) Width-11 feet, 9 inches, 
(2) Length (front end projection of 15 

Ieet)-not to exceed legal plus 15 feet, 0 inches, 
(3) Height-13 feet, 10 inches, 
(4) Weight (including all tolerances) -

18,540 pounds (single axle), 34,000 pounds (two 
axle tandem), 42,000 pounds (three axle tan­
dem), or 75,000 pounds (total gross weight). 

b. Construction Materials. Loaded vehicle(s) 
over specified route(s) with origin or destina­
tion (or both) in Iowa, must not exceed the fol­
lowing dimensions and weights: 

) 
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(1) Width-9 feet, 6 inches for legal length 
or 8 feet, 0 inches (legal) for lengths up to 70 
feet, 

(2) Height-13 feet, 6 inches, 

(3) Weight (legal including all tolerances) 
-18,540 pounds (single axle), 32,960 pounds 
(tandem axle), or 73,280 pounds (total gross 
weight). · 

c. Transmission Poles and Gas Pipe. Loaded 
vehiele(s) over specified route(s) with origin or 
destination (or both) in Iowa, must not exceed 
the following dimensions and weights: 

(1) Width (legal)-S feet, 
(2) Length-70 feet, 
(3) Height (legal)-13 feet, 6 inches, 
(4) Weight (legal including all tolerances) 

-18,540 pounds (single axle), 32,960 pounds 
(tandem axle), or 73,280 pounds (total gross 
weight. 

d. Agricultural Machinery and Equipment­
Short Trips. Loaded vehicle(s) for trips of 25 
miles or less must not exceed the following di­
mensions and weights: 

(1) Width-11 feet, 9 inches, 
(2) Length-legal except when towing a 

portable elevator when 60 feet is permitted, 
(3) Height-13 feet, 10 inches, 
(4) Weight (legal including all tolerances) 

-18,540 pounds (single axle), 32,960 pounds 
(tandem axle, or 73,280 pounds (total gross 
weight. 

e. Agricultural Machinery and Equipment­
Long Trips. Loaded vehicle(s) for trips greater 
than 25 miles must not exceed the following di­
mensions and weights: 

(1) Width-9 feet, 6 inches, 
(2) Length-legal, 

(3) Height-13 feet, 10 inches, 
(4) Weight (legal including all tolerances) 

-18,540 pounds (single axle), 32,960 pounds 
(tandem .. axle. or 73,280 pounds (total gross 
weight). 

f. Buildings. Loaded vehicle(s) for trips of 
25 miles or less over specified route(s) with 
origin or destination (or both) in Iowa, must 
not exceed the following dimensions and weights: 

(1) Width-14 feet, 
(2) Length-legal, 
l3) Height-No limit on height; where 

utility lines must be raised, permission must be 
obtained from the company (or companies) in 
charge, 

(4) Weight (legal including all tolerances) 
-18,540 pounds (single axle), 32, 960 pounds 
(tandem axle), or 73,280 pounds (total gross 
weight). 

2.2 (4) Special Permits (restricted with civil­
ian escort). These permits shall be valid for 
travel only over a specified route of the rural 
primary highway system, with a civilian escort, 

HIGHWAY COMMISSION 

but not including any portion of the interstate 
highway system. The Iowa State Highway Com­
mission shall approve the type of equipment 
for transportation and shall train the personnel 
used for escorting. 

a. Construction Machinery and Equipment. 
Loaded vehicle(s) over specified route(s) with 
origin or destination (or both) in Iowa, must 
not exceed the following dimensions and weights: 

(1) Width-12 feet, 

(2) Length (front end projection of 15 
feet)-not to exceed legal plus 15 feet, 0 inches, 

(3) Height-13 feet, 10 inches, 

(4) Weight (including all tolerances)-
18,540 pounds (single axle), 34,000 pounds (two 
axle tandem), 48,000 pounds (three axle tan­
dem), or 90,000 pounds (total gross weight). 

b. Construction Materials. Loaded vehicle(s) 
over specified route(s) with origin or destination 
(or both) in Iowa, must not exceed the following 
dimensions and weights: 

(1) Width (legal)-S feet, 
(2) Length-100 feet, 
(3) Height-13 feet, 10 inches, 
(4) Weight (legal including all tolerances) 

-18,540 pounds (single axle), 32,960 pounds 
(tandem axle), or 73,280 pounds (total gross 
weight). 

c. Transmission Poles and Gas Pipe. Loaded 
vehicle(s) over specified route(s) with origin or 
destination (or both) in Iowa, must not exceed 
the following dimensions and weights: 

(1) Width (legal)-S feet, 
(2) Length-100 feet, 

(3) Height-13 feet, 6 inches, 
(4) Weight (legal including all tolerances) 

-18,540 pounds (single axle), 32,960 pounds 
(tandem axle), or 73,280 pounds (total gross 
weight). 

d. Agricultural Machinery and Equipment. 
No special permits requiring civilian escort are 
issued by the Iowa State Highway Commission. 

e. Buildings. Loaded vehicle(s) for trips of 
25 miles or less over specified route(s) with ori­
gin or destination (or both) in Iowa, must not 
exceed the following dimensions and weights: 

(1) Width-Variable with a maximum of 
18 feet. No permits will be issued for movements 
of buildings with civilian escort unless one lane 
of highway is vacant to accommodate oncoming 
or passing traffic. The use of shoulders will be 
permitted only during periods when such use 
will cause no damage, 

(2) Length (legal)-see section 321.457 of 
1962 Code of Iowa, 

(3) Height-no limit-where utility lines 
must be raised, permission must be obtained 
from company in charge, 

.. (4) Weight (legal including all tolerances) 
-18,540 pounds (single axle), 32,960 pounds 
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(tandem axle), or 73,280 pounds (total gross 
weight). 

2.2 (5) Special Permits (restricted with police 
escort). These permits shall be valid for travel 
only over a specified route of the rural primary 
highway system, with police escort, but not in­
cluding any portion of the interstate system. The 
Iowa State Highway Commission will furnish 
police escort at a nominal charge for movements 
of equipment and vehicles of an unusual nature 
which are not covered by the above types of 
permits, or cases where a mover cannot furnish 
adequate civilian escorts as set forth. Each re­
quest for such permit will be considered indi­
vidually, taking into consideration the distance 
of the haul, the dimensions of the loaded vehicle 
and weight of the individual axles as well as 
the total gross weight. 

a. Construction .Machinery and Equipment. 
This type of permit provides for the movement 
of large construction equipment when the equip­
ment is so loaded that only the front axle is 
resting on the hauling vehicles, the remaining 
axle or axles being towed or fully loaded on 
vehicle(s) over specified route(s) with origin or 
destination (or both) in Iowa, must not exceed 
the following dimensions and weights: 

(1) Width-12 feet, 
(2) Length-70 feet, 
(3) Height-13 feet, 10 inches, 
(4) Weight (legal including all tolerances) 

-18,540 pounds (single axle), 34,000 pounds 
(two axle tandem), 48,000 pounds (three axle 
tandem assembly), or 90,000 pounds (total gross 
weight). 

b. Construction Material. Loaded vehicle(s) 
with origin or destination (or both) in Iowa, 
must not exceed the following dimensions and 
weights: 

(1) Width-12 feet, 
(2) Length-100 feet, 
(3) Height-13 feet, 10 inches, 
(4) Weight (legal including all tolerances) 

-18.540 pounds (single axle), 32,960 pounds 
(tandem axle), or 73,280 pounds (total gross 
weight). 

c. Transmission Poles and Gas Pipes. Loaded 
vehicle(s) with origin or destination (or both) 
in Iowa, must not exceed the following dimen­
sions and weights: 

(1) Width-legal, 
(2) Length-100 feet, 
(3) Height-legal, 
(4) Weight (legal including all tolerances) 

-18.540 pounds (single axle), 32,960 pounds 
(two axle tandem), or 73,280 pounds total gross 
weight). 

d. Agricultural Machinery and Equipment. 
No special permits requiring police escort are 
issued for the movement of agricultural machin­
ery and equipment. 
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e. Buildings. Loaded vehicle(s) for trips of 
25 miles or less and width greater than 18 feet 
over specified route(s) with origin or destina­
tion (or both) in Iowa, must not exceed the fol­
lowing dimE'.nsions and weights: 

(1) Width-Variable with a maximum of 
24 feet. Unless otherwise authorized by specific 
action of the commission, no special permits will 
be issued for movements of buildings with police 
escort unless one lane of the highway is vacant 
to accommodate oncoming or passing traffic. 
The use of shoulders will be permitted only dur­
ing periods when such use will cause no damage, 

(2) Length--65 feet, 
(3) Height-No limit. Where utility lines 

must be raised, permission must be obtained 
from the company in charge .•. 

.(4) Weight-(legal including all toler­
ances)-18,540 pounds (single axle), 32,960 pounds 
(tandem axle), or 73,280 pounds (total gross 
weight). 

2.2 (6) Special Permits (unrestricted for ov­
ersize mobile homes and house. trailers). These 
permits shall be valid for travel over any portion 
of the rural primary highway system having a 
surface width of 22 feet or more, without escort, 
but not including the interstate highway system. 
The following rules shall apply to all such per­
mits issued for the movement of oversize mobile 
homes or house trailers: 

a. Hauling vehicle must be an Iowa regist­
ered vehicle. 

b. Hauling vehicle when unladen must not 
exceed the following legal dimensions as speci­
fied in the Code of Iowa: 

(1) Width-8 feet, 
(2) Height-13 feet, 6 inches, 
(3) Length-Legal, 

c. The power unit of the hauling or towing 
vehicle must have a minimum rated capacity 
of one and one-half tons and be equipped :with 
dual whee~s on the rear axle. 

d. Vehicle'imd load must not exceed the fol-
lowing dimensions and weights: 

legal. 

(1) Overall width-10 feet, 9 inches, 
(2) Length-70 feet, 
(3) Height-13 feet, 10 inches, 
(4) Weight (including all tolerances)-

e. Red flags shall be mounted on the four 
extreme corners of the vehicle or load, or both. 

f. The speed limit shall not exceed 35 miles 
per hour or the established speed limit which­
ever is lower. 

g. The driver of the hauling vehicle shall 
give due consideration to the traveling public 
and shall pull over to the side of the road at 
safe locations in order to provide a passing op­
portunity for following vehicles desiring to trav­
el faster than the prescribed speed of the haul­
ing unit. 

h. Whenever a trip cannot be completed dur-
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ing daylight hours of a single day, the hauling 
vehicle and load shall be parked overnight off 
of the public right of way prior to sundown and 
shall remain there until after sunrise of the fol­
lowing day. 

2.2 (7) Special Permits (restricted for oversize 
mobile homes and house trailers). These per­
mits shall be valid for travel only over a speci­
fied route of the rural primary highway system 
in which not more than 25 miles has a surface 
width of less than 20 feet, without escort, but 
not including any portion of the interstate high­
way system. The following rules shall apply to 
all such permits issued for the movement of 
oversize mobile homes or house trailers. 

a. To Whom Issued. Restricted special per­
mits for the movement of mobile homes or house 
trailers can be issued to the following: 

(1) Manufacturers for deliveries from the 
factory to points outside of Iowa and to dealers 
or individuals within Iowa. 

(2) Iowa dealers for receiving deliveries 
from factories outside of IOwa and for deliveries 
to individuals within Iowa or outside Iowa. 

(3) To qualified carriers with Iowa Com­
merce Commission or Interstate Commerce Com­
mission Permits for movements into, out of, and 
through Iowa. 

b. By Whom Issued. All permits for the 
movement of oversize mobile homes or house 
trailers will be issued only through Traffic and 
Highway Planning Department, of the Iowa State 
Highway Commission in Ames, Iowa. 

c. Hauling vehicle must be a properly licens­
ed vehicle. 

d. Hauling vehicle when unladen must not 
exceed the following legal dimensions as speci­
fied in the Code of Iowa: 

(1) Width--8 feet, 
(2) Height-13 feet, 6 inches, 
(3) Length-Legal. 

e. The power unit of the hauling or towing 
vehicle must have a minimum rated capacity of 
one and one-half tons and be equipped with 
du.~J wheels on the rear axle. 

f. Vehicle and load must not exceed the fol-
lowing dimensions and weights: 

(1) Overall width-10 feet, 9 inches, 
(2) Length-70 feet, 
(3) Height-13 feet, 10 inches, 
(4) Weight (including all tolerances) 

legal. 

g. Red flags shall be mounted on the four 
extreme comers of the vehicle or load. or both. 

IDGRWAY COMMISSION 

give due consideration to the traveling public 
and shall pull over to the side of the road at 
safe locations in order to provide a passing op­
portunity for following vehicles desiring to 
travel faster than the prescribed speed of the 
hauling unit. This shall be done as soon as con­
veniently possible after a queue of two or more 
vehicles have accumulated in back of the haul­
ing unit. 

j. Whenever a trip cannot be completed 
during daylight hours of a single day, the haul­
ing vehicle and load shall be parked overnight 
off of the public right of way prior to sundown 
and shall remain there until after sunrise of the 
following day. 

2.2 (8) Civilian Escort. When a civilian escort 
is required for the movement of oversize or over­
weight equipment and materials the hauler shall 
abide by the following rules: 

a. Each load will be preceded by a pilot 
vehicle (car or pickup) furnished by the hauler, 
at a distance of approximately 300 feet. The 
driver of the pilot vehicle will warn traffic, by 
means of a red flag, of the approaching load at 
danger points such as bridges and corners where 
the loaded vehicle is going to make a turn. 

b. When so specified by the Iowa State High­
way Commission the driver will direct traffic 
over all bridges in order that the loaded vehicle 
may cross over such specified bridges by strad­
dling the center line. 

c. The pilot vehicle shall be equipped with 
a white sign 3 feet high and 4 feet wide on 
which the word "CAUTION" is painted in red. 
This sign shall be mounted on the top of the 
pilot car. A similar sign shall be mounted on the 
top of the truck-tractor pulling the load. Also 
a sign of similar size with the word "CAUTION" 
in red letters across the top portion and "LONG 
or WIDE LOAD" in black letters across the 
lower portion of the sign, shall be placed on the 
rear of the load in an appropriate location so as 
to warn traffic approaching from the rear of 
the danger in passing. Two red flags shall be 
mounted in holders on the front bumper of both 
the pilot car and the truck-tractor and sufficient 
red flags shall be strategically placed on the 
rear of the load to warn the traveling public of 
an unusually long or wide load. 

d. Speed of these loads shall not exceed 40 
miles per hour. 

e. All traffic laws shall be obeyed. 

{. The equipment for each company desiring 
to provide their own escort shall be instructed 
and inspected by a representative of the Iowa 
State Highway Commission prior to the issuance 
of the permit. •.;"I 

g. A separate escort shall be provided for 
each piece of equipment hauled under escort. h. The speed limit shall not P.ic:ceed 35 miles 

per hour or the established speed limit which­
ever is lower. 2.2 (9) Performance Bond, Insurance, Cost 

and Revocation of Permits for Mobile Homes and 
i. The driver of the hauling vehicle shall House Trailers. 
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a. Immediately after the first conviction of 
any of the permit rules or motor vehicle laws of 
Iowa the holder of special mobile home or house 
trailer permit shall be required to post a bond 
in the amount of $500.00 with the Highway Com­
mission acknowledging the stipulations of the 
permit and agreeing to the forfeiture of said 
bond to the commission for noncompliance of 
any of the stipulations of the permit or motor 
vehicle laws of Iowa. The bond shall be forfeited 
without prior notice upon the next conviction of 
noncompliance of the terms of the permit or the 
motor vehicle laws of Iowa. 

b. Public liability insurance in the amount 
of $100,000/$200,000 and $20,000 property damage 
insurance shall be required on all units moving 
oversize mobile homes or house trailers. 

c. A service charge of six dollars will be 
charged for each restricted special mobile home 
or house trailer permit issued for the movement 
of mobile homes and house trailers. Such fee 
shall be paid to the Iowa State Highway Com­
mission prior to the time the permit is to be 
issued. 

d. A service charge of ten dollars will be 
charged for each unrestricted special mobile 
home or house trailer permit issued to an indi-
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vidual vehicle for the movement of nonspecified 
mobile homes or house trailers. Such fee shall 
be paid to the Iowa State Highway Commission 
prior to the time the permit is to be issued. 

2.2 (10) Cost of Permits for Vehicles of Excess 
Size and Weight-other than for Mobile Homes 
and House Trailers. 

a. A service charge of three dollars will be 
charged for each restricted special permit other 
than for mobile homes and house trailers. Such 
fee shall be paid to the Iowa State Highway 
Commission prior to the time the permit is to be 
issued. 

h. A service charge of ten dollars will be 
charged for each unrestricted special permit 
other than for mobile homes and house trailers. 
Such fee shall be paid to the. Iowa State High­
way Commission prior to ·the time the permit 
is to be issued. 

c. A service charge of ten dollars will be 
charged for each annual permit issued to an 
individual vehicle. Such fee shall be paid to the 
Iowa State Highway Commission prior to the 
time the permit is to be issued. 

These rules are intended to implement Sec­
tions 307.5(14), 321.457 and 321.467 through 
321.469 of the Code of Iowa. 

MERIT SYSTEM COUNCIL 

(Filed July 30, 1964) 

Pursuant to provisions in Chapter 82, Acts of 
the 58th General Assembly, (Chapter 28A, 1962 
Code) relating to the creation and operation of 
the Civil Defense Administration, and the Stand­
ards for a Merit System of Personnel Adminis­
tration issued by the federal Social Security 
Board on January 1963, Rules and Regulations 
appearing in 1962 Iowa Department Rules, are 
amended as follows: 

Page 286, Column 1, line · 50, preceding the 
"Statement of Policy", by inserting the follow:. 
ing: . 

"For the Merit System in the Office of Emer­
gency Planning: 

Pursuant to the provisions of the Public Law 
253 of the 80th Congress of the United States as 
amended and as administered by the Office of 
Emergency Planning, and the laws of the Fifty­
eighth General Assembly of the State of Iowa, 
creating the Civil Defense Administration, the 
Office of Emergency Planning hereby adopts the 
following Regulations for application of the 
merit principle of personnel administration in 
the Office of Emergency Planning. These Regu­
lations shall become effective June 1, 1964." 

Statement of Policy 
Page 286, Column 2, line 7. After "Mobiliza­

tion" insert "and Public Law 253 of the 80th 
Congress of the United States as amended and 
administered by the Office of Emergency Plan­
ning." 

Page 286, Column 2, line 15. Strike the word 
"and". 

Page 286, Column 2, line 16. After "Civil De­
fense Administration" add ", and the Office of 
Emergency Planning". 

Page 286, Column 2, line 30. Strike the period 
(.) after "department" and add ", and the Office 
of Emergency Planning." 

Page 286, Column 2, Paragraph 2, line 14. 
Strike the period (.) after "supervision" and in­
sert therefor a comma ( ,) and add "and the Office. 
.of Emergency Planning." 

Article I, Definitions 
1. "Agency" Page 287, Column 2, line 22. After 

-(Ch. 28A of the Code), insert "or the Office of 
Emergency Planning," 

4. "Appointing Authority" Page 288, Column 
1, line 7. Strike the "or" after "authority" and 
insert therefor a comma (,). 

Page 288, Column 1, line 9. After. "thority," 
insert "or the Office of Emergency Planning 
appointing authority," 

5. "Personnel Officer" Page 288, Column 1, 
line 6. Strike the "or" after "Authority" and 
insert therefor a comma (,) 

Page 288, Colmun 1, line 7. After "Adminis­
tration", insert "or the Office of Emergency 
Planning," 

7. "Exempt Positions" Page 289, Column 1, 
line 11. After "(g) Janitors" add: 

"The exempt positions in the Office of Emer­
gency Planning are the following: 
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(a) The state director; 
(b) Members of boards or commissions; 
(c) Members of advisory councils paid only 

for attendance at meetings; 
(d) State and local officials serving ex-offi­

cio and performing incidental administrative 
duties; 

PUBLIC SAFETY DEPARTMENT 

(e) Part-time professional or technical per­
sons who are paid for any form bf medical, 
nursing or other professional or technical service, 
and who are not engaged in the performance of 
administrative duties; 

(f) Attorneys serving as legal counsel; 
(g) Janitors.") 

PUBLIC SAFETY DEPARTMENT 

Pursuant to authority of section 321.245 of the 
Code of rules appearing in the January 1963 
Supplement of the I. D. R. on pages 40 and 41 
are amended as follows: 

(Filed September 16, 1964) 

MOTOR VEHICLE TESTING STATIONS 

Vehicle Glazing 
1. Strike subsection 5. 2. 1 and insert in lieu 

thereof the following: "5. 2. 1 Safety glass. Check 
all windows for safety glass where required." 

2. Strike subsection 5. 3. 1 and insert in lieu 
thereof the following: "5. 3. 1 Failure to use 
safety glass. Failure to use safety glass in all 
windows." 

3. Strike subsection 5. 3. 4 and insert in lieu 
thereof the following: "5. 3. 4 Windows in poor 
condition. Vehicle windows which have sharp 
edges, are badly scratched, broken, or discolored 
or cloudy." 

Body Items 
4. Strike subsection 6. 1. 2 and insert in lieu 

thereof the following: "6. 1. 2 Check floor pans 
on any vehicles manufactured before 1946." 

5. Strike subsection 6. 2. 2 and insert in lieu 
thereof the following: "6. 2. 2. Floor pans rusted 
through, on any vehicles manufactured before 
1946, so as to endanger any person by permitting 
passage of exhaust gases into the body of the 
vehicle." 

Brakes 
6. Strike paragraph 7. 2. 1. 1 of subsection 7. 2.1 

Exhaust System 
7. Strike subsection 11. 1. 1 and insert in lieu 

thereof the following: "11. 1. 1 The exhaust 
system should be examined visually if the sound 
of the engine running indicates a defective ex­
haust system. Rusted or corroded surfaces should 
be given attention." 

These amendments to the rules are intended 
to implement section 321.245 of the Code. 

Pursuant to authority of section 321.181 of the 
Code the following rules are adopted. 

(Filed September 14, 1964) 

OPERATORS' AND CHAUFFERS' LICENSE 

Chapter 1 
Temporary Drivers' Permit 

1.1 (321.181) General. Any person on first ap­
plicati.on for a license to operate a motor vehicle, 

except for a school license, who successfully 
passes the required written, vision and driving 
tests, will be issued without charge, a temporary 
driving permit for a period not to exceed one 
year, during which time the department will 
continually review the applicant's driving record 
in order to complete its investigation and deter­
mination of all facts relative to granting of an 
operator's license to the applicant. 

1.2 (321.181) Invalidation. 
1.2 General. This temporary driving permit 

will be invalidated by the department if the 
application for license is refused. 

1.2 Specific. The department will refuse the 
application of a permit holder who is convicted 
of any moving traffic violation occurring during 
the life of the permit. 
1.3 (321.181) Reapplication. Such person will be 
ineligible to reapply for a license to operate a 
motor vehicle for a period of thirty days after 
invalidation. Furthermore, the department may 
require any such person to complete a class of 
instruction in driver improvement before estab­
lishing eligibility to reapply for such license. 
1.4 (321.181) Extension of Permit. If the grounds 
for invalidation occur within six months of is­
suance, the new temporary driving permit will 
extend for a period of one year from the date 
of reissuance; if the grounds for invalidation 
occur after the sixth month of issuance, the new 
temporary driving permit will extend for a 
period of six months from the date of reissuance. 

1.5 (321.181) Issuance of License. Any applicant · 
who remains violation free for the life of the· 
temporary driving permit will, upon request, be 
issued a license to operate a motor vehicle upon 
payment of the statutory fee. If such request is 
not made within thirty days after the expiration 
of the temporary driving permit, the applicant 
must again successfully pass the required written 
and vision tests. 

This rule is intended to implement section 
321.181. 
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REGENTS, BOARD OF. TAX COMMISSION 16 

REGENTS, STATE BOARD 

UNIVERSITY OF· IOWA 

(Filed September 18, 1964) 

5. College of Law 

Pursuant to authority conferred in section 
262.9 (3) Code of Iowa, 1962, Rules and Regula­
tions of the State Board of Regents, admission 
requirements to the University of Iowa as they 
appear on pa.ge 471, section 5, College of Law, 
are hereby rescinded and the following adopted 
in lieu thereof: 

5.1 Address all inquiries regarding admission to 
the Director of Admissions, University of Iowa, 
Iowa City, Iowa. Applications will be received 
beginning July 1 of the year preceding the class 
for which application is being made. Students 
are urged to apply as early as possible, since 
this will give the Admissions Committee more 
time to devote to each application. The closing 
date for receiving applications shall be June 1. 

5.2 To be considered for admission, an applicant 
should have attained a cumulative grade-point 
average of at least 2.3 on all college work under­
taken. The grade-point average is based upon 
the University of Iowa's marking system in which 
a grade of "A" is equivalent to four points. 
Other marking systems will be evaluated by the 
Office of Admissions. 

5.3 A minimum of 90 semester hours exclusive 
of required courses in air or military science 
and physical education in an accredited college 
or university must be completed prior to admis­
sion. 

5.4 Prospective students are urged to complete 
the requirements for a bachelor) degree prior 

to entrance or to complete requirements on a 
combined baccalaureate-law curriculum so that 
the bachelor's degree can be granted prior to or 
at the time of graduation from the College of 
Law. Students with 90 semester hours of ac­
ceptable work, however, will be considered for 
admission to the College of Law. If such stu­
dents complete the requirements and receive a 
bachelor's degree by the time they are ready to 
graduate from the College of Law, they will be 
entitled to the Juris Doctor degree, providing 
their scholastic averages meet requirements for 
that degree. 

5.5 It is required that each applicant complete 
the Law School Admission Test prepared and 
given by the Educational Testing Service. Ap­
plicants are requested to CQ.mplete this test in 
November preceding the Fall Semester in which 
they plan to apply for admission. 

5.6 Fulfillment of the specific requirements for 
admission listed above does not insure admis­
sion to the College of Law. From the applicants 
meeting the minimum requirements, the Admis­
sions Committee of the College of Law will 
select those applicants who, in their judgment, 
appear to be best qualified for the study and 
practice of law. The Law Admissions Committee 
may require personal interviews of applicants. 

5.7 Transfer students may be admitted at the 
discretion of the Law Admissions Committee 
provided that all applicants for admission by 
transfer must have met the requirements for 
admission to this College of Law at the time of 
their admission to another law school and must, 
at the time of transfer, be eligible to continue 
law study at the law schools which they pre­
viously attended. 
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Pursuant to authority of sections 421.14 and 
422.61, Code of Iowa, 1962, the rules appearing at 
1962 I.D.R. 538 are hereby amended as follows: 

DIVISION IV 
RETAIL SALES TAX 

(Filed November 30, 1964) 

PART I 

gation to give the ·taxpayer notice of the tax 
and interest penalty· due within the maximum 
period of one year after the taxpayer was in­
formed of the audit conclusion date." 

This rule is intended to implement section 
422.54(1), Code of Iowa, 1962, as amended by 
chapter 265, section 1, Acts of the 60th General 
Assembly. 

Sales Tax Regulations Rule No. lU item 2(b), 1962 IDR 544, is here­
by rescinded and the following promulgated in 

Rule No. 3, 1962 IDR 540 is hereby amended lieu thereof: 
by adding thereto the following new paragraph: 

"The Sales and Use Tax Division now has the 
legal obligation to inform a taxpayer when an 
examination of the books and records of any 
taxpayer has been completed for sales and use 
tax purposes. This requirement will be carried 
out in letter form by designated personnel in the 
Des Moines office rather than through comments 
on the part of field auditor who transcribed the 
audit data from the records of the taxpayer. 
The commission then has a further legal obli-

"(b) Sales for purpose of resale or processing. 
Enter at that item the total for the period of 
all sales made for the purpose of resale to auth­
orized purchasers or for 'processing' purposes as 
defined in the law and not for consumption or 
use by the buyer. 

This rule is intended to implement section 
422.42 (3), Code of Iowa, 1962. 

Rule No. 11.1 item 2(d), 1962 IDR 544. is here­
by amended by adding thereto the following 
sentence: 
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"This tax exemption also does not apply to 
construction jobs for instrumentalities of fed­
eral, state, county or municipal governments. 
See Rule No. 49." 

This rule is intended to implement section 
422.42(10) and section 422.42(11), Code of Iowa, 
1962. 

Rule No. ll.l item 2(e), 1962 IDR 544, is here­
by rescinded and the following promulgated in 
lieu thereof: 

TAX COMMISSION 

and one-half per cent interest penalty. 
Fourth month after the quarterly period six 

per cent interest penalty. 
(etc.) 
"Add one-half of one per cent for each addi­

tional month or fraction thereof during which 
the tax is unpaid." 

This rule is intended to implement section 
422.54 and section 422.58, Code of Iowa, 1962, as 
amended by chapter 265, section 2, Acts of the 
60th General Assembly. " ( e) Sales of gasoline, diesel fuel, and those 

sales of liquor which are subject to a special 
tax in excess of the sales tax rate. 

Rule No. 29.2, 1962 IDR 556, is hereby rescind­
ed and the following promulgated in lieu there­

This rule is intended to implement section of: 
422.46, Code of Iowa, 1962. 

Rule No. 11.1 item 2(g), 1962 IDR 544, is here­
by rescinded and the following promulgated in 
lieu thereof: 

"(g) Traded-in tangible personal property. 
Detailed instructions are covered in our Rule 
No. 40." 

Rule No. 11.1 item 2(h), 1962 IDR 544, is here­
by rescinded and the following promulgated in 
lieu thereof: 

"(h) Returned goods. Enter at that item the 
total amount for the period where the full sale 
price is refunded either in cash or credit to the 
customer for goods returned. This deduction 
applies only to transactions where sales tax was 
previously reported and remitted by the seller." 

This rule is intended to implement section 
422.42(6), Code of Iowa, 1962. 

Rule No. fl.I item 2 (i), 1962 IDR 544, is here­
by rescinded and the following promulgated in 
lieu thereof: · 

"(i) Discounts. Enter at that item the total 
amount for the period covering discounts allowed 
by the seller and taken by the customer, with 
sales tax only collected and due on the net 
charge. No credit can be allowed for any dis­
counts given on sales not subject to sales tax." 

This rule is intended to implement section 
422.42(6), Code of Iowa, 1962. 

Rule No. 11.1 item 4, 1962 IDR 544, is hereby 
amended by striking therefrom the words "item 
1" and inserting in lieu thereof the words "item 
1 (b)." 

Rule No. 11.2, 1962 IDR 544, is hereby rescinded 
and the following promulgated in lieu thereof: 

"Rule No. 11.2 applies to sales tax only. Inter­
est Penalty. Returns are due on the first day of 
month following close of each quarterly periods, 
with the rate of interest penalty applying in the 
following manner for the filing of quarterly re­
turns. after July 4, 1963: 

First month after the quarterly period no 
interest penalty. 

Second month after the quarterly period five 
per cent interest penalty. 

Third month after the quarterly period five 

''Rule No. 292 applies to sales tax only. Credit 
on retail sales tax. When a special state tax is 
imposed on the sale of alco'holic liquor, gasoline, 
and diesel fuel at retail in Iowa, the rate of the 
special tax provides the statutory basis for the 
exclusion of sales tax on alcoholic liquor, diesel 
fuel and gasoline sales." 

This rule is intended to implement section 
422.46, Code of Iowa, 1962, and chapter 114, sec­
tion 31, Acts of the 60th General Assembly. 

Rule No. 30, 1962 IDR 556, is hereby rescinded 
and the following promulgated in lieu thereof: 

"Rule No. 30. Casual Sales. Effective March 
21, 1963, 'Casual sales' have been legislatively 
defined and exempted from sales tax. This ex­
cludes any individual, partnership, corporation 
or association which is a retailer under the sales 
tax law from collecting or reporting sales tax 
on the sale of tangible personal property where 
such sales are on a non-recurring basis and are 
for other than profit purposes." 

This rule is intended to implement chapter 
263, sections 1 and 2, Acts of the 60th General 
Assembly. 

Rule No. 32, 1962 IDR 556, is hereby rescinded 
and the following promulgated in lieu thereof: 

"Rule No. 32. Discounts-When deductible. A 
discount is an abatement from the face of an . 
account, with the remainder, the actual pur­
chase price of the goods charged in the account. 
The purchaser entitled to the discount never 
owes the face of the bill as his debt, his debt 
being the net of the bill after the agreed dis­
count has been deducted. The word 'discount' 
therefore simply means to buy at a reduction. 

"Any discounts allowed by retailers and taken 
on taxable retail sales are proper deductions in 
collecting and reporting sales tax. This is not 
the case where a retailer offers a discount to a 
purchaser but bills and collects sales tax on the 
gross charge rather than the net charge. The 
customer must receive the benefit of the dis­
count in order for the retailer to exclude it from 
his gross receipts. 

"Certain retailers (e.g.-gas and electric com­
panies) bill their customers on a gross and net 
basis, with the difference considered to be a 
discount for payment purposes. Where a cus-
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tomer does not resolve the bill within the net connection with the operation of any municipal­
payment period, sales tax applies on the gross ly-owned public utility engaged in selling gas, 
charge shown on the billing. electricity or heat to the general public, are 

"If an over-allowance is granted by a retailer exempt from sales and use tax. 
for merchandise received as consideration on a "This tax exemption does not apply to con­
retail sale, it is not deemed to be a discount struction contractors who create or improve real 
for sales tax purposes. All discounts allowed on property for federal, state, county and municipal 
transactions other than retail sales are not prop- instrumentalities or agencies thereof. The con­
er deductions for sales tax purposes." tractors therefore are subject to sales and use 

This rule is intended to implement section tax on all personal property they purchase re-
422.42(6), Code of Iowa, 1962. gardless of the identity of their construction 

The second paragraph of Rule No. 35, 1962 I contract sponsor." 
IDR 557, is hereby rescinded and the following This rule is intended to implement section 
paragraph promulgated in lieu thereof: 422.45(5), (6), as amended by chapter 264, Acts 

"Where a person operates for the purpose of of the 60th General Assembly. 
selling property for others, such person is deemed 
to be a retailer and shall procure a retail sales 
tax permit and be liable for the retail sales tax, 
the same as if the property sold had belonged 
to him." 

This rule is intended to implement section 

Ru!e No. 52.3, 1962 IDR 565, is hereby amended 
by adding thereto the followin~ new paragraph: 

"The purchase of placemats by retailers who 
sell meals, subjects the purchaser to either sales 
or use tax, depending upon the source of supply." 

422.42(5), Code of Iowa, 1962. This rule is intended to implement section 
Paragraph B4, Rule No. 40, 1962 IDR 561 is 422.42(3) and 423.1(1), Code of Iowa, 1962. 

hereby rescinded and the following promulgated 
in lieu thereof: 

"4. Whenever a retailer acquires from another 
retailer (hereinafter referred to as the 'original 
retailer') property having a trade-in status 
under Rule Bl, above, of the commission and 
receives from the original retailer the latter's 
affidavit ori a completed form prescribed by the 
commission specifying the identity of such prop­
erty, the amount of the trade-in allowance 
thereon, the cost of all parts added thereto by 
the original retailer and the name and address 
of the person from whom said property was 
received by the original retailer in trade, such 
property shall have the same tracte-in status as 
it had in the hands of the original retailer. Such 
affidavit shall be retained by the acquiring re­
tailer among his trade-in records." 

This rule is intended to implement section 
422.45(4), Code of Iowa, 1962. (This paragraph 
of rule No. 40 was not approved by the Depart­
ment Rules Review Committee). 

ltulc No. 49, 1962 IDR 563, is hereby rescinded 
and the following promulgated in lieu thereof: 

"Rule No. 49. Sales to Agencies or Instru­
mentalities of Federal, State, County and Munic­
ipal Government E..'\'.empt. Construction Con­
tractors Taxable. The gross receipts of all sales 
of goods, wares or merchandise used for public 
purposes to any tax-certifying or tax-levying 
body of the state of Iowa or governmental sub­
division thereof, including the state board of 
regents, board of control or state institutions, 
stale highway commission and all divisions, 
boards, commission, agencies or instrumentalities 
of state, federal, county, or municipal govern­
ment which derive disbursable funds from ap­
propriations or allotments of funds raised by the 
levying and collection of taxes, except sales of 
goods, wares, or merchandise used by or in 

The following new rule is hereby adopted: 

Rule No. 102.3 Sales of Pets. The sale of dogs, 
cats, birds and the like sold as pets are subject 
to sales tax. The retailer who sells such pets 
must procure a sales tax permit and report all 
sales tax on the gross receipts therefrom. 

"The sale of horses is subject to sales tax. The 
term 'horse' is here used in its generic sense 
and includes all variations of equestrian quad­
ruped whether a pony, mule, gelding, stallion, 
mare, filly, jackass, or ass, regardless of the 
purpose for which the sale is made, except that 
sales made to a bonafide dealer for the purpose 
of resale are non-taxable. Any dealer making 
retail sales of 'horses,' as herein used, must 
procure a sales tax permit and report all sales 
and remit the sales tax on the gross receipts 
therefrom. 

"A 'dealer' may be defined as one who en­
gages in the purchase and sale, or sale, of horses 
as defined herein, or one who is required to be 
registered as a dealer under the Federal Pack­
ers and Stockyard Act as amended. 

"There is further excluded from the purview 
of this rule, the sale of any 'horse' for the pur­
pose of 'processing' as defined by section 422.42 
(3), Code of Iowa, 1962. 

"Proof of sale for processing may be had by 
production of a slaughter affidavit issued on 
forms provided by and under authority of the 
state Secretary of Agriculture in pursuance of 
his duties under the law." 

This rule is intended to implement section 
422.43, Code of Iowa, 1962. (This rule was not 
approved by the Department Rules Review 
Committee). 

Rule 105, 1962 IDR 577, is hereby amended by 
striking therefrom the second and last sentence 
in paragraph No. 2. 
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Rule No.11L1, 1962 IDR 580, is hereby amended 
by striking therefrom the word "rowboats" in 
line number 8 of that rule. 

Rule No. 138.7, 1962 IDR 588, is hereby amend­
ed by adding the1·eto the following subsections: 

"6. Sums paid to the owner of the land for 
the privilege of removing sand, gravel, rock, 
stone or other minerals from the land for use 
by one whose principal business is laying pave­
ment or constructing streets, roads, or highways 
which materials are used by them for that pur­
pose are not payments for the purchase of tan­
gible personal property. Therefore, the trans­
action is not subject to sales tax. 

"7. The screening, washing, crushing, sizing 
and otherwise processing of sand, gravel, rock, 
stone or other minerals is not 'manufacturing' 
by one whose principal business is laying pave­
ment or constructing streets, roads or highways 
within the provisions of section 422.42(11). There.,. 
fore, if the contractor is the owner or lessee of 
land and removes or causes minerals to be re­
moved from the land and uses the minerals in 
the performance of a contract for laying pave­
ment or constructing streets, roads or highways, 
such use does not constitute a sale under the 
provisions of section 422.42(11), Code of Iowa, 
1962, and is not subject to sales tax. 

"8. The mixing of crushed rock, sand and 
gravel with fluxing oil or similar materials and 
heating the mixture to regulated temperatures 
before using is not manufacturing by one whose 
principal business is laying pavement or con­
structing streets, roads or highways. And if a 
person so processing such materials uses the 
proi-tSSed materials in the performance of a con-
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tract for laying pavement or constructing streets, 
roads or highways, such use does not constitute 
a sale under the provisions of section 422.42(11), 
Code of Iowa, 1962, and therefore is not subject 
to sales tax. Likewise, the combining of crushed 
rock or gravel, sand, cement and water and 
applying the same to prepared road surfaces is 
not manufacturing by one whose principal busi­
ness is laying pavement or constructing streets, 
roads or highways and the cost of such process­
ing is not subject to sales tax. 

"9. When sand, gravel, stone, rock or other 
minerals have been removed from their natural 
deposit and are then sold for use by the pur­
chaser thereof as the ultimate consumer, a sale 
of tangible personal property is involved and 
such sale is subject to sales or use tax. 

"10. When crushed rock, sand or gravel are 
mixed with fluxing oil or similar materials and 
such mixtures heated to regulated temperatures 
and after such processing are sold for use by 
the purchaser thereof as the ultimate consumer, 
a sale of tangible personal property is involved 
and such sale is subject to sales or use tax. 

"11. When sand, gravel, stone or rock are 
combined with cement and water and the re­
sulting combination is sold for use by the pur­
chaser thereof as the ultimate consumer, a sale 
of tangible personal property is involved and 
such sale is subject to sales or use tax. 

Rules six through eleven are intended to im­
plement section 422.42(11), Code of Iowa, 1962, 
as interpreted by Associated General Contrac­
tors vs. Iowa State Tax Commission 123 NW 2d 
922. 


