

Iowa General Assembly LEGISLATIVE SERVICES AGENCY DENNIS C. PROUTY, DIRECTOR IOWA STATE CAPITOL DES MOINES, IA 50319 515.281.3566 Fax: 515.281.8027 dennis.prouty@legis.state.ia.us

## DIVISIONS

LEGAL SERVICES RICHARD L. JOHNSON

FISCAL SERVICES HOLLY M. LYONS

COMPUTER SERVICES GLEN P. DICKINSON

ADMINISTRATIVE SERVICES TIMOTHY C. FALLER

•

LEGAL SERVICES

Rachele B. Hjelmaas Legal Counsel 2 515.281.8127 Fax: 515.281.8027 rachele.hjelmaas@legis.state.ia.us

IOWA GENERAL ASSEMBLY WEB SITE www.legis.state.ia.us September 7, 2005

## **MEMORANDUM**

- TO: Members of the Medical Malpractice Interim Committee
- **FROM:** Rachele Hjelmaas, Legal Services Division, Legislative Services Agency
- **RE:** Medical Malpractice Interim Committee-Meeting Date

The first meeting of the Medical Malpractice Interim Committee has been scheduled for Wednesday, October 5, 2005 in Room 22 of the State Capitol. We will begin the meeting at 9:00 a.m. and end at 5:00 p.m. A second meeting has been tentatively scheduled for Monday, November 14.

The charge of the Committee is to study issues relating to the costs of professional liability (malpractice) insurance coverage for health care providers in Iowa, and to consider a broad range of factors affecting the availability of the coverage in the state. The following members have been appointed to the committee:

## Senate Members

**House Members** 

Bob Brunkhorst, Temporary Co-chair Keith A. Kreiman, Temporary Co-chair Nancy J. Boettger Michael Connolly William A. Dotzler, Jr. Ron Wieck Kraig Paulsen, Temporary Co-chair Clarence Hoffman Lance Horbach Pam Jochum Jo Oldson

Additional information concerning the Committee can be accessed, when it becomes available, on the web site for the medical malpractice study committee at <a href="http://www.legis.state.ia.us/aspx/Committees/Committee.aspx?id=72">http://www.legis.state.ia.us/aspx/Committee.aspx?id=72</a>