PROOF

STATE OF IOWA

House Journal

TUESDAY, JUNE 7, 2011

Produced daily by the State of Iowa during the sessions of the General Assembly. (The official bound copy will be available after a reasonable time upon adjournment.)

JOURNAL OF THE HOUSE

One Hundred Forty-ninth Calendar Day - Ninety-fourth Session Day

Hall of the House of Representatives Des Moines, Iowa, Tuesday, June 7, 2011

The House met pursuant to adjournment at 8:33 a.m., Speaker Paulsen in the chair.

Prayer was offered by Representative Rogers of Black Hawk County.

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Representative Rogers of Black Hawk.

The Journal of Monday, June 6, 2011 was approved.

RULE 67 INVOKED (Time Certain)

Upmeyer of Hancock asked and received unanimous consent for the House to act upon all amendments filed to <u>House File 697</u>, proceed immediately to closing remarks on the bill, and that the bill be read for the final time and placed on its passage, no later than 2:00 p.m. on Wednesday, June 8, 2011.

Upmeyer of Hancock asked and received unanimous consent for the House to act upon all amendments filed to <u>Senate File 534</u>, proceed immediately to closing remarks on the bill, and that the bill be read for the final time and placed on its passage, no later than 2:00 p.m. on Wednesday, June 8, 2011.

The House stood at ease at 8:36 a.m., until the fall of the gavel.

The House resumed session at 9:15 a.m., Speaker Paulsen in the chair.

LEAVE OF ABSENCE

Leave of absence was granted as follows:

Sweeney of Hardin, De Boef of Keokuk, J. Taylor of Woodbury and Baudler of Adair on request of Upmeyer of Hancock; Gaines of Polk on request of McCarthy of Polk.

ADOPTION OF HOUSE RESOLUTION 57

Soderberg of Plymouth called up for consideration <u>House</u> <u>Resolution 57</u>, a resolution related to the naming of public buildings and institutions, and moved its adoption.

Roll call was requested by McCarthy of Polk and T. Taylor of Linn.

On the question "Shall the resolution be adopted?" (H.R. 57)

The ayes were, 56:

Alons	Anderson	Arnold	Baltimore
Brandenburg	Byrnes	Chambers	Cownie
Deyoe	Dolecheck	Drake	Forristall
Fry	Garrett	Grassley	Hagenow
Hager	Hanusa	Heaton	Hein
Helland	Horbach	Huseman	Iverson
Jorgensen	Kaufmann	Klein	Koester
Lofgren	Lukan	Massie	Miller, L.
Moore	Olson, S.	Paustian	Pearson
Pettengill	Raecker	Rasmussen	Rayhons
Rogers	Sands	Schulte	Schultz
Shaw	Smith, J.	Soderberg	Tjepkes
Upmeyer	Van Engelenhoven	Vander Linden	Wagner
Watts	Windschitl	Worthan	Mr. Speaker
			Paulsen

The nays were, 39:

Abdul-Samad	Berry	Cohoon	Gaskill
Hall	Hanson	Heddens	Hunter
Isenhart	Jacoby	Kajtazovic	Kearns
Kelley	Kressig	Lensing	Lykam
Mascher	McCarthy	Miller, H.	Muhlbauer
Murphy	Oldson	Olson, R.	Olson, T.
Petersen	Quirk	Running-Marquardt	Smith, M.
Steckman	Swaim	Taylor, T.	Thede
Thomas	Wenthe	Wessel-Kroeschell	Willems
Winckler	Wittneben	Wolfe	

Absent or not voting, 5:

Baudler De Boef Gaines Sweeney Taylor, J.

The motion prevailed and the resolution was adopted.

AMENDMENT FILED

<u>H–1737</u> <u>H.F. 697</u> T. Taylor of Linn

On motion by Upmeyer of Hancock the House adjourned at 9:37 a.m., until 8:30 a.m., Wednesday, June 8, 2011.