Standard Form For Members of the Legislature Name of Representative Shimanek Manual Senator_____ Represented Selawand Dubuque Jackinstand Jones Counties Some Monties la Sowa 1. Birthday and place Acu 1947 2. Marriage (s) date place 3. Significant events for example: A. Business Autorava menter of the american formand Jone County Bar associations B. Civic responsibilities American Legin Apiliany, Businic and Professional Homen C. Profession Lawyer 4. Church membership____ 5. Sessions served 67 68 69 General assemblies 1977-1978, 1979-1981, 1981-1982 6. Public Offices A. Local at the Awa Saprune Court 1973-1974 B. State the was a law cler assistant attarnug general 1974 1975 C. National 7. Death 8. Children 9. Names of parents Charles Frances and Doris 1 Hinarch

10. Education the w educated in the Monticello for schools graduating from Sacred Heart High School in 11. Degrees P.A. from Clarke Colleges, 1970. J.D. from University of 12. Other applicable information <u>Republican</u> Her fother und also in the ligislature in the 18th 49^{TI} 55th b Assemblies 1939 1941 1943

Shiments Navy J.

Shimarch Maray &

Sources Log For Legislation Entries

Applicability

Applicable Information obtained Non Applicable Source 1981-1922; p. 108 riel Rearitin 36-1986 6.276-277 Inn Trella _____ .

Source: Iowa Territorial and State Legislators Collection compiled by volunteers and staff at the State Historical Society of Iowa Library, Des Moines, Iowa.

to prominence as the Speaker of the House during the 12th General Assembly. He later was elected to the State Senate. In 1871, he was elected State Auditor. He served four years in that office and in 1874, he was a candidate for the Republican nomination for Governor.



Nancy Shimanek — former Republican State Representative

During the Civil War, Jones County Republicans supported their Country and were willing to fight for the human rights of the blacks. In a letter to his brother, S.S. Farwell, a large landowner from North of Monticello is quoted "... but the leading Democrats are K.G.C.'s and are quietly resisting the work. There are also indicators that they are preparing to resist the draft. A leading Republican tried to buy a revolver in Anamosa the other day, and found that they had all passed into the hands of these men.'' Farwell enlisted an entire company and served as its captain until he was breveted Major for gallantry in action.

The Knights of the Golden Circle (K.G.C.'s) were a secret society of men who declared the war was a failure — they wanted peace — some said they were willing to fight for the Union, but not for the "niggers." It was estimated that the K.G.C.'s numbered 40,000 men. The draft referred to in Farwell's letter was a call issued by Governor Kirkwood to fill Iowa's quota of troops.

Upon his return from the war, S.S. Farwell was elected a State Senator and later became the only resident of the county to ever be elected to the United States Congress.

Another Jones County resident elected to state office was William Holmes of Anamosa who served as State Treasurer from 1873-1877, and was one of the prominent Republicans of Iowa during the time he held state office.

During 1873, the Democrats were able to elect their ticket by a 400-300 majority largely due to the Anti-Monopoly movement in which the Republicans formed an alliance with the Democrat Party. The result was that some of the candidates on the Democrat ticket had previously been Republicans. They had been opposed by regular Republican nominees who lost.

A search of the minutes of the Board of Supervisors reveals that the canvas of the election did not record the addresses or political party of those elected.

Service by Monticello residents in the County Courthouse includes that of John Matthiessen, supervisor, in 1920, and Herman Helgens and Henry Adams who served 27 years from 1942-1969 as supervisors. Also Gene Taylor was elected and served as County Treasurer; and J.E. Heiserman, Rex Schrader, C.F. Shimanek, David Remley, and Adrian Knuth all served as County Attorney.

Residents who served in the Iowa House of Representatives included C.F. Shimanek, three terms (1939-1944) and Roy A. Miller, three terms (1962-1967). Miller served on the Claims Committee, Appropriations, Conservation & Recreation, Cities & Towns, Social Service, Law Enforcement, Roads & Highways, Steering, Elections, Political & Judicial; Aeronautics, Board of Control, Highway Safety's Motor Vehicles, Public Land & Buildings, and Public Utilities Committees. He also has served on the Aged Commission the 6th District Judicial Nominating Committee, the Advisory Committee for Governor Hughes, and nine years on the Monticello City Council. Nancy J. Shimanek also served two and one-half terms in the Iowa House (1977-1982).

J.E. Heiserman, formerly of the law firm of Doxsee, Doxsee & Heiserman, was elected to the position of District Judge of the Sixth Judicial District at age 33 and left the bench in December 1958 after 20 years of service on the bench.

• C.F. Shimanek served for many years as Justice of the peace and Police Judge of Monticello.



Diana Stadtmueller

Harold Yeoman served on the Iowa Board of Education and on the Kirkwood College board; Clarence Hosford served on the Board of Dental Examiners, Elaine Smith serves on the State Judicial Nominating Committee and Marcia Gabriel serves on the Sixth Judicial Selection Commission. Sharon Kromminga serves as an elected member of the