Report of the Iowa Autism Council
То
Governor Chet Culver

The Iowa Autism Council had its first meeting October 30, 2008 with the 13 appointed members and the ex-officio members of state agencies. The top priorities of each member were identified from the areas of unmet needs defined in the legislation to improve services for individuals with Autism Spectrum Disorders in Iowa.

The group began work to operationalize their By-laws as an advisory council, learn about open meeting laws, and orient themselves to norms of collaboration. The identification of what information was needed from state agencies and their data collection needs helped drive the formation of two work groups. Agenda development, under the direction of Iowa Department of Education and the elected chairperson and vice-chair person, will pave the way for continued action toward development of recommendations for the Governor's office and the legislative session.

Sincerely,

Joshua R. Cobbs

Chairperson Iowa Autism Council

## IOWA AUTISM COUNCIL

## Voting members

		Term Ending Date/
Name	Represents T	ype of Appointment
Katherine Byers	Parent	April 30, 2012
Joshua Cobbs	Parent	April 30, 2012
Keith Gatrost	Four Oaks	April 30, 2011
Dr. Ghada Hamdan-Allen	Researcher	April 30, 2011
John Kohles	Person w/Autism/Stude	ntApril 30, 2012
Steven Muller	Homestead	April 30, 2012
Pamela Parker	Parent	April 30, 2011
Mary Percival	Mental Health Profession	onal April 30, 2010
Danielle Sharpe	Parent	April 30, 2011
Barbara Stineman	Grandparent	April 30, 2012
Dr. Charles Wadle	Insurance Industry	April 30, 2010
Patrick Westhoff	The ARC of Iowa	April 30, 2010
Cathy Young	Grandparent	April 30, 2010

## Ex officio members-non voting members

Kenda Jochimsen, designee, Vocational Rehabilitation	
Services Division, Department of Education	. Statutory
Lana K. Michelson, designee, Department of Education	. Statutory
Bill Gardam, designee, Department of Human Services	. Statutory
Jim Mumford, designee, Insurance Division, Department of Commerce	Statutory
Dr. Debra Waldron, designee, Department of Public Health	. Statutory
Dr. Jeanne Prickett, designee, Board of Regents	. Statutory
Becky Harker, designee, Governor's Developmental Disabilities Council	-