House File 2557 H-8190 1 Amend House File 2557 as follows: 2 1. Page 1, before line 1 by inserting: <DIVISION I 3 APPROPRIATIONS TO THE DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION> 4 2. Page 5, after line 28 by inserting: 5 6 <DIVISION 7 STATE TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION MEMBER RESIDENCY REQUIREMENTS 8 Sec. . Section 307A.1A, subsection 1, Code 2022, is 9 amended to read as follows: 1. a. There is created a state transportation commission 10 11 which shall consist of seven members, not more than four of 12 whom shall be from the same political party. The governor 13 shall appoint the members of the state transportation 14 commission for a term of four years beginning at 12:01 a.m. 15 on July 1 in the year of appointment and expiring at 12:00 16 midnight on June 30 in the year of expiration, subject to 17 confirmation by the senate. For each of the six regions of 18 the state, as designated in paragraph "b", the governor shall 19 appoint one member to represent the region, and the member 20 shall reside in the region. The governor shall appoint one 21 member to represent the state at large, and the member shall 22 reside in the state. 23 b. For purposes of this subsection, the state is divided 24 into six regions, which shall be composed of the following 25 counties: 26 (1) Region 1 consists of Boone, Greene, Grundy, Hamilton, 27 Hardin, Jasper, Marshall, Polk, Poweshiek, Story, Tama, and 28 Webster. 29 (2) Region 2 consists of Allamakee, Black Hawk, Bremer, 30 Butler, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clayton, Fayette, Floyd, 31 Franklin, Hancock, Howard, Humboldt, Kossuth, Mitchell, 32 Winnebago, Winneshiek, Worth, and Wright. 33 (3) Region 3 consists of Buena Vista, Calhoun, Carroll, 34 Cherokee, Clay, Crawford, Dickinson, Emmet, Ida, Lyon, Monona, 35 O'Brien, Osceola, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Sac, Sioux,

-1-

l and Woodbury.

(4) Region 4 consists of Adair, Adams, Audubon, Cass, 2 3 Dallas, Fremont, Guthrie, Harrison, Madison, Mills, Montgomery, 4 Page, Pottawattamie, Ringgold, Shelby, Taylor, and Union. 5 (5) Region 5 consists of Appanoose, Clarke, Davis, Decatur, 6 Des Moines, Henry, Jefferson, Keokuk, Lee, Louisa, Lucas, 7 Mahaska, Marion, Monroe, Muscatine, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren, 8 Washington, and Wayne. 9 (6) Region 6 consists of Benton, Buchanan, Cedar, Clinton, 10 Delaware, Dubuque, Iowa, Jackson, Johnson, Jones, Linn, and 11 Scott. 307A.9 Residency requirement ---12 NEW SECTION. Sec. \_\_\_. 13 resignation from office. Any of the following members of the commission shall be 14 15 deemed to have resigned from the commission and the vacancy 16 shall be filled as described in section 307A.4: 17 1. A member appointed to represent a region of the state, 18 as described in section 307A.1A, subsection 1, who no longer 19 resides in the region. 20 2. A member appointed to represent the state at large, 21 as described in section 307A.1A, subsection 1, who no longer 22 resides in the state. 23 Sec. . TRANSITION. The first regular term appointment 24 made on or after the effective date of this division of 25 this Act shall represent region 6. The second regular term 26 appointment made on or after the effective date of this 27 division of this Act shall represent region 5. The third 28 regular term appointment made on or after the effective date of 29 this division of this Act shall represent region 4. The fourth 30 regular term appointment made on or after the effective date of 31 this division of this Act shall represent region 3. The fifth 32 regular term appointment made on or after the effective date of 33 this division of this Act shall represent region 2. The sixth 34 regular term appointment made on or after the effective date 35 of this division of this Act shall represent region 1. The

> HF 2557.3844 (1) 89 -2- th/tm

1 seventh regular term appointment made on or after the effective
2 date of this division of this Act shall represent the state at
3 large.

4 Sec. \_\_\_\_. EFFECTIVE DATE. This division of this Act, being 5 deemed of immediate importance, takes effect upon enactment. 6 Sec. \_\_\_\_. APPLICABILITY. This division of this Act applies 7 to members of the state transportation commission appointed and 8 confirmed on or after the effective date of this division of 9 this Act.>

10 3. Title page, line 4, by striking <fund.> and inserting 11 <fund, providing for other properly related matters, and 12 including effective date and applicability provisions.>

13 4. By renumbering as necessary.

MOMMSEN of Clinton

-3-