

The Annals of Iowa

Volume 1 | Number 1 (1893)

pps. 79-80

S. C. Hastings, Nathan G. Sales, E. J. Bowdoin

ISSN 0003-4827

Material in the public domain. No restrictions on use.

Recommended Citation

"S. C. Hastings, Nathan G. Sales, E. J. Bowdoin." *The Annals of Iowa* 1 (1893), 79-80. Available at: http://ir.uiowa.edu/annals-of-iowa/vol1/iss1/18

Hosted by Iowa Research Online

in the Democratic party for many years, and was personally acquainted with nearly all of the public men who administered the State government as long as the Democratic party remained in control.

Hon. E. J. Bowdoin, of Floyd county, died at his home in Rockford, on the 24th of January last, at the age of 72. He came to Iowa in 1855, settling in Floyd county. He entered upon the practice of law, and in 1859 was elected on the Republican ticket to represent the district composed of Floyd, Cerro Gordo, Worth, Hancock and Winnebago counties in the lower house of the Eighth General Assembly. He was made chairman of the committee on schools, serving with marked ability. He was re-elected to the House in 1862, and made chairman of the committee on ways and means. In 1860 he was chosen one of the delegates to the Republican National Convention, which met at Chicago and nominated Abraham Lincoln for President!

It really seems to prolong the life of a man to elect him Governor of our magnificent State! It is a singular fact, and one which we do not believe has a parallel in any other State of the Union, that every Iowa Governor elected since 1857 is "The Old War Governor," Samuel J. Kirkwood, first chosen in 1859, has at times seemed very nearly called upon to go "over to the majority;" but he still lives at his home in Iowa City, and of late his health has appeared to be improved. If he remains with us until December, he and his estimable wife will be able to celebrate their golden wedding. It is safe to say that such an announcement will be hailed with delight in every part of Iowa. Our later Governors are all living, and so far as we are informed, are in the enjoyment of excellent health. In the order of succession, the list is as follows: William M. Stone, Samuel Merrill, Cyrus C. Carpenter, John H. Newbold, John H. Gear, Buren R. Sherman, William Larrabee and Horace Boies. Governor Kirkwood was elected to a third term next after Governor Carpenter, in 1875, but resigned to take his place in the U. S. Senate, to which he was chosen in 1876.

Copyright of Annals of Iowa is the property of State of Iowa, by & through the State Historical Society of Iowa and its content may not be copied or emailed to multiple sites or posted to a listsery without the copyright holder's express written permission. However, users may print, download, or email articles for individual use.