CHAPTER 435

PROPERTY TAXES ON MANUFACTURED AND MOBILE HOMES

Referred to in \$29C.24, \$321.24, \$321.30, \$321.46, \$321.101, \$321.123, \$427A.1, \$441.47, \$445.1, \$555B.2, \$555B.3, \$555C.1, \$555C.3, \$557B.1

This chapter not enacted as a part of this title; transferred from chapter 135D in Code 1993

435.1	Definitions.	435.27	Reconversion.
435.2 435.3 435.18	Placement and taxation. through 435.17 Reserved. Penalty.	435.28	County treasurer to notify assessor.
435.19	through 435.21 Reserved.	435.29	Civil penalty.
435.22	Annual tax — credit.	435.30	through 435.32 Reserved.
435.23	Exemptions — prorating tax.	435.33	Rent reimbursement.
435.24 435.25 435.26	Conversion to real property	435.34	Modular home exemption. Repealed by 2009 Acts, ch 133, §191.
435.26A 435.26B	Conversion to real property. Surrender of title. Affidavit in lieu of surrender of certificate of title — manufactured and mobile homes.	435.35	Existing home outside of manufactured home community or mobile home park — exemption. Repealed by 2009 Acts, ch 133, §191.

435.1 Definitions.

The following definitions shall apply to this chapter:

- 1. Unless the context otherwise requires, "book", "list", "record", or "schedule" kept by a county auditor, assessor, treasurer, recorder, sheriff, or other county officer means the county system as defined in section 445.1.
 - 2. "Home" means a mobile home or a manufactured home.
- 3. "Manufactured home" means a factory-built structure built under authority of 42 U.S.C. §5403, that is required by federal law to display a seal from the United States department of housing and urban development, and was constructed on or after June 15, 1976.
- 4. "Manufactured home community" means the same as land-leased community defined in sections 335.30A and 414.28A. The term "manufactured home community" shall not be construed to include manufactured or mobile homes, buildings, tents, or other structures temporarily maintained by any individual, educational institution, or company on their own premises and used exclusively to house their own labor or students.
- 5. "Mobile home" means any vehicle without motive power used or so manufactured or constructed as to permit its being used as a conveyance upon the public streets and highways and so designed, constructed, or reconstructed as will permit the vehicle to be used as a place for human habitation by one or more persons; but shall also include any such vehicle with motive power not registered as a motor vehicle in Iowa. A "mobile home" is not built to a mandatory building code, contains no state or federal seals, and was built before June 15, 1976.
- 6. "Mobile home park" means a site, lot, field, or tract of land upon which three or more mobile homes or manufactured homes, or a combination of any of these homes, are placed on developed spaces and operated as a for-profit enterprise with water, sewer or septic, and electrical services available. The term "mobile home park" shall not be construed to include manufactured or mobile homes, buildings, tents, or other structures temporarily maintained by any individual, educational institution, or company on their own premises and used exclusively to house their own labor or students.
- 7. "Modular home" means a factory-built structure which is manufactured to be used as a place of human habitation, is constructed to comply with the Iowa state building code for modular factory-built structures, as adopted pursuant to section 103A.7, and must display the seal issued by the state building code commissioner.

[C54, 58, 62, 66, 71, 73, 75, 77, 79, 81, §135D.1] 86 Acts, ch 1245, §1114

C93, §435.1

94 Acts, ch 1110, §3 – 6, 24; 95 Acts, ch 57, §10, 26; 97 Acts, ch 121, §15, 16; 98 Acts, ch 1107, §17, 18, 33; 2000 Acts, ch 1148, §1; 2001 Acts, ch 153, §11; 2002 Acts, ch 1119, §200, 201; 2004 Acts, ch 1086, §71; 2005 Acts, ch 3, §72; 2009 Acts, ch 133, §145
Referred to in §358C.13, §384.84, §403.22, §423.3, §426A.11, §427.1(30), §435.24, §441.21, §555B.1, §555B.1, §557B.1, §557B.1, §562B.7

435.2 Placement and taxation.

- 1. If a mobile home is placed outside a mobile home park, the home is to be assessed and taxed as real estate.
- 2. If a manufactured home is placed in a manufactured home community or a mobile home park, the home must be titled and is subject to the manufactured or mobile home square foot tax. If a manufactured home is placed outside a manufactured home community or a mobile home park, the home must be titled and is to be assessed and taxed as real estate.
- 3. For the purposes of this chapter, a modular home shall not be construed to be a mobile home or manufactured home. If a modular home is placed inside or outside a manufactured home community or a mobile home park, the home shall be considered real property and is to be assessed and taxed as real estate. However, if a modular home is placed in a manufactured home community or mobile home park which was in existence on or before January 1, 1998, that modular home shall be subject to property tax pursuant to section 435.22. This subsection shall not prohibit the location of a modular home within a manufactured home community or mobile home park.

2009 Acts, ch 133, §146; 2010 Acts, ch 1069, §53, 147

435.3 through 435.17 Reserved.

435.18 Penalty.

Any person violating any provision of this chapter shall be guilty of a simple misdemeanor. [C54, 58, 62, 66, 71, 73, 75, 77, 79, 81, §135D.18] C93, §435.18 Referred to in §435.24

435.19 through 435.21 Reserved.

435.22 Annual tax — credit.

- 1. The owner of each mobile home or manufactured home located within a manufactured home community or mobile home park shall pay to the county treasurer an annual tax. However, when the owner is any educational institution and the home is used solely for student housing or when the owner is the state of Iowa or a subdivision of the state, the owner shall be exempt from the tax. The annual tax shall be computed as follows:
- a. Multiply the number of square feet of floor space each home contains when parked and in use by twenty cents. In computing floor space, the exterior measurements of the home shall be used as shown on the certificate of title, but not including any area occupied by a hitching device.
- b. (1) If the owner of the home is an Iowa resident, has attained the age of twenty-three years on or before December 31 of the base year, and has an income when included with that of a spouse which is less than eight thousand five hundred dollars per year, the annual tax shall not be imposed on the home. If the income is eight thousand five hundred dollars or more but less than sixteen thousand five hundred dollars, the annual tax shall be computed as follows:

If the Household	Annual Tax Per
Income is:	Square Foot:
\$ 8,500 — 9,499.99	3.0 cents
9,500 - 10,499.99	6.0
10,500 - 12,499.99	10.0
12,500 - 14,499.99	13.0
14,500 - 16,499.99	15.0

- (2) For purposes of this paragraph "b", "income" means income as defined in section 425.17, subsection 7, and "base year" means the calendar year preceding the year in which the claim for a reduced rate of tax is filed. The home reduced rate of tax shall only be allowed on the home in which the claimant is residing at the time the claim for a reduced rate of tax is filed or was residing at the time of the claimant's death in the case of a claim filed on behalf of a deceased claimant by the claimant's legal guardian, spouse, or attorney, or by the executor or administrator of the claimant's estate.
- (3) Beginning with the 1998 base year, the income dollar amounts set forth in this paragraph "b" shall be multiplied by the cumulative adjustment factor for that base year as determined in section 425.23, subsection 4.
 - 2. The amount thus computed shall be the annual tax for all homes, except as follows:
- a. For the sixth through ninth years after the year of manufacture the annual tax is ninety percent of the tax computed according to subsection 1, paragraph "a" or "b", whichever is applicable.
- b. For all homes ten or more years after the year of manufacture the annual tax is eighty percent of the tax computed according to subsection 1, paragraph "a" or "b", whichever is applicable.
 - 3. The tax shall be figured to the nearest even whole dollar.
- 4. a. A claim for credit for manufactured or mobile home tax due shall not be paid or allowed unless the claim is actually filed with the county treasurer between January 1 and June 1, both dates inclusive, immediately preceding the fiscal year during which the home taxes are due. However, in case of sickness, absence, or other disability of the claimant, or if in the judgment of the county treasurer good cause exists, the county treasurer may extend the time for filing a claim for credit through September 30 of the same calendar year. The county treasurer shall certify to the director of revenue on or before November 15 each year the total dollar amount due for claims allowed.
- b. The forms for filing the claim shall be provided by the department of revenue. The forms shall require information as determined by the department.
- c. In case of sickness, absence, or other disability of the claimant or if, in the judgment of the director of revenue, good cause exists and the claimant requests an extension, the director may extend the time for filing a claim for credit or reimbursement. However, any further time granted shall not extend beyond December 31 of the year in which the claim was required to be filed. Claims filed as a result of this paragraph shall be filed with the director who shall provide for the reimbursement of the claim to the claimant.
- d. The director of revenue shall certify the amount due to each county, which amount shall be the dollar amount which will not be collected due to the granting of the reduced tax rate under subsection 1, paragraph "b".
- *e*. The amounts due each county shall be paid by the department of revenue on December 15 of each year, drawn upon warrants payable to the respective county treasurers. The county treasurer in each county shall apportion the payment in accordance with section 435.25.
- f. There is appropriated annually from the general fund of the state to the department of revenue an amount sufficient to carry out this subsection.

[C66, \$135D.22; C71, 73, 75, \$135D.22, 135D.28; C77, 79, 81, \$135D.22; 82 Acts, ch 1251, \$1] 83 Acts, ch 172, \$2; 83 Acts, ch 189, \$1, 2, 4, 6; 86 Acts, ch 1244, \$26; 87 Acts, ch 198, \$1; 87 Acts, ch 210, \$1; 88 Acts, ch 1139, \$1; 89 Acts, ch 190, \$1; 90 Acts, ch 1250, \$1; 91 Acts, ch 267, \$513; 92 Acts, 2nd Ex, ch 1001, \$215, 216, 225

C93, §435.22

94 Acts, ch 1110, $\S 7 - 9$, 24; 94 Acts, ch 1165, $\S 30$, 50; 96 Acts, ch 1167, $\S 7$, 8; 98 Acts, ch 1107, $\S 19$, 33; 98 Acts, ch 1177, $\S 15$, 16; 99 Acts, ch 152, $\S 19$, 20, 40; 2001 Acts, ch 153, $\S 15$, 16; 2001 Acts, ch 176, $\S 80$; 2003 Acts, ch 145, $\S 286$; 2011 Acts, ch 25, $\S 90$ Referred to in $\S 331.429$, $\S 331.559$, $\S 335.30A$, $\S 414.28A$, $\S 435.2$, $\S 435.26A$, $\S 435.27$, $\S 435.33$

435.23 Exemptions — prorating tax.

1. The manufacturer's and retailer's inventory of mobile homes, manufactured homes, or modular homes not in use as a place of human habitation shall be exempt from the annual

tax. All travel trailers shall be exempt from this tax. The homes and travel trailers in the inventory of manufacturers and retailers shall be exempt from personal property tax.

2. The homes coming into Iowa from out of state and located in a manufactured home community or mobile home park shall be liable for the tax computed pro rata to the nearest whole month, for the time the home is actually situated in Iowa.

```
[C66, 71, 73, 75, 77, 79, 81, §135D.23]
87 Acts, ch 210, §2
C93, §435.23
94 Acts, ch 1110, §10, 24; 2001 Acts, ch 153, §16; 2010 Acts, ch 1108, §11, 15; 2011 Acts, ch 25, §46
Referred to in §331.559
See §435.2
```

435.24 Collection of tax.

- 1. The annual tax is due and payable to the county treasurer on or after July 1 in each fiscal year and is collectible in the same manner and at the same time as ordinary taxes as provided in sections 445.36, 445.37, and 445.39. Interest at the rate prescribed by law shall accrue on unpaid taxes. Both installments of taxes may be paid at one time. The September installment represents a tax period beginning July 1 and ending December 31. The March installment represents a tax period beginning January 1 and ending June 30. A mobile home, manufactured home, or modular home coming into this state from outside the state, put in use from a retailer's inventory, or put in use at any time after July 1 or January 1, and located in a manufactured home community or mobile home park, is subject to the taxes prorated for the remaining unexpired months of the tax period, but the purchaser is not required to pay the tax at the time of purchase. Interest attaches the following April 1 for taxes prorated on or after October 1. Interest attaches the following October 1 for taxes prorated on or after April 1. If the taxes are not paid, the county treasurer shall send a statement of delinquent taxes as part of the notice of tax sale as provided in section 446.9. The owner of a home who sells the home between July 1 and December 31 and obtains a tax clearance statement is responsible only for the September tax payment and is not required to pay taxes for subsequent tax periods. If the owner of a home located in a manufactured home community or mobile home park sells the home, obtains a tax clearance statement, and obtains a replacement home to be located in a manufactured home community or mobile home park, the owner shall not pay taxes under this chapter for the newly acquired home for the same tax period that the owner has paid taxes on the home sold. Interest for delinquent taxes shall be calculated to the nearest whole dollar. In calculating interest each fraction of a month shall be counted as an entire month.
- 2. The home owners upon issuance of a certificate of title or upon transporting to a new site shall file the address, township, and school district, of the location where the home is parked with the county treasurer's office. Failure to comply is punishable as set out in section 435.18. When the new location is outside of a manufactured home community or mobile home park, the county treasurer shall provide to the assessor a copy of the tax clearance statement for purposes of assessment as real estate on the following January 1.
- 3. Each manufactured home community or mobile home park owner shall notify monthly the county treasurer concerning any home arriving in or departing from the manufactured home community or park without a tax clearance statement. The records of the owner shall be open to inspection by a duly authorized representative of any law enforcement agency. The manufactured home community or mobile home park owner or manager shall make an annual report to the county treasurer due June 1 of the homes sited in the manufactured home community or mobile home park, listing the owner and mailing address of each home located in the manufactured home community or mobile home park. The report is delinquent if not filed with the county treasurer by June 30. In addition to the annual report, the owner or manager shall also report any changes of homes or owners in a report due December 1, which is delinquent if not filed by December 31. However, if no changes have occurred since the June annual report, the December report is not required to be filed.
- 4. The tax is a lien on the vehicle senior to any other lien upon it except a judgment obtained in an action to dispose of an abandoned home under section 555B.8. The home

bearing a current registration issued by any other state and remaining within this state for an accumulated period not to exceed ninety days in any twelve-month period is not subject to Iowa tax. However, when one or more persons occupying a home bearing a foreign registration are employed in this state, there is no exemption from the Iowa tax. This tax is in lieu of all other taxes general or local on a home.

- 5. Before a home may be moved from its present site by any person, a tax clearance statement in the name of the owner must be obtained from the county treasurer of the county where the present site is located certifying that taxes are not owing under this section for previous years and that the taxes have been paid for the current tax period. When a person moves a home from real property to a retailer's stock or to a manufactured home community or mobile home park, as defined in section 435.1, a tax clearance statement shall be applied for, and issued, from the county treasurer of the county where the present site is located. When the home is moved to another county in this state, the county treasurer shall forward a copy of the tax clearance statement to the county treasurer of the county in which the home is being relocated. However, a tax clearance statement is not required for a home in a manufacturer's or retailer's stock which has not been used as a place for human habitation. A tax clearance form is not required to move an abandoned home. A tax clearance form is not required in eviction cases provided the manufactured home community or mobile home park owner or manager advises the county treasurer that the tenant is being evicted. If a retailer acquires a home from a person other than a manufacturer, the person shall provide a tax clearance statement in the name of the owner of record to the retailer. The tax clearance statement shall be provided by the county treasurer in a method prescribed by the department of transportation.
- 6. a. As an alternative to the semiannual or annual payment of taxes, the county treasurer may accept partial payments of current year home taxes. The treasurer shall transfer amounts from each taxpayer's account to be applied to each semiannual tax installment prior to the delinquency dates specified in section 445.37 and the amounts collected shall be apportioned by the tenth of the month following transfer. If, prior to the due date of each semiannual installment, the account balance is insufficient to fully satisfy the installment, the treasurer shall transfer and apply the entire account balance, leaving an unpaid balance of the installment. Interest shall attach on the unpaid balance in accordance with section 445.39. Unless funds sufficient to fully satisfy the delinquency are received, the treasurer shall collect the unpaid balance as provided in sections 445.3 and 445.4 and chapter 446. Any remaining balance in a taxpayer's account in excess of the amount needed to fully satisfy an installment shall remain in the account to be applied toward the next semiannual installment. Any interest income derived from the account shall be deposited in the county's general fund to cover administrative costs. The treasurer shall send a notice with the tax statement or by separate mail to each taxpayer stating that, upon request to the treasurer, the taxpayer may make partial payments of current year home taxes.
- b. Partial payment of taxes which are delinquent may be made to the county treasurer. For the installment being paid, payment shall first be applied toward any interest, fees, and costs accrued and the remainder applied to the tax due. A partial payment must equal or exceed the interest, fees, and costs of the installment being paid. A partial payment made under this paragraph shall be apportioned in accordance with section 445.57, however, such partial payment may, at the discretion of the county treasurer, be apportioned either on or before the tenth day of the month following the receipt of the partial payment or on or before the tenth day of the month following the due date of the next semiannual tax installment. If the payment does not include the whole of any installment of the delinquent tax, the unpaid tax shall continue to accrue interest pursuant to section 445.39. Partial payment shall not be permitted in lieu of redemption if the property has been sold for taxes under chapter 446 and under any circumstances shall not constitute an extension of the time period for a sale under chapter 446.
- 7. Current year taxes may be paid at any time regardless of any outstanding prior year delinquent taxes.

[C66, 71, 73, 75, 77, 79, 81, §135D.24; 82 Acts, ch 1251, §2]

```
83 Acts, ch 5, §1, 2, 4, 5; 85 Acts, ch 70, §1; 86 Acts, ch 1139, §1; 86 Acts, ch 1245, §1115; 87 Acts, ch 210, §3 – 5; 88 Acts, ch 1138, §11, 18; 90 Acts, ch 1080, §2; 91 Acts, ch 191, §2, 3; 92 Acts, ch 1016, §1 C93, §435.24 94 Acts, ch 1110, §11, 12, 24; 99 Acts, ch 83, §7; 2000 Acts, ch 1085, §5; 2001 Acts, ch 153, §16; 2005 Acts, ch 34, §11, 26; 2010 Acts, ch 1108, §12, 15; 2012 Acts, ch 1138, §103 Referred to in §331.559, §331.653, §435.27, §435.29, §445.57 See §445.57
```

435.25 Apportionment and collection of taxes.

The tax and interest for delinquent taxes collected under section 435.24 shall be apportioned in the same manner as though they were the proceeds of taxes levied on real property at the same location as the home.

Chapters 446, 447, and 448 apply to the sale of a home for the collection of delinquent taxes and interest, the redemption of a home sold for the collection of delinquent taxes and interest, and the execution of a tax sale certificate of title for the purchase of a home sold for the collection of delinquent taxes and interest in the same manner as though a home were real property within the meaning of these chapters to the extent consistent with this chapter. The certificate of title shall be issued by the county treasurer. The treasurer shall charge ten dollars for each certificate of title, except that the treasurer shall issue a tax sale certificate of title to the county at no charge.

When a home is removed from the county where delinquent taxes, regular or special, are owing, or when it is administratively impractical to pursue tax collection through the remedies of this section, all taxes, regular and special, interest, and costs shall be abated by resolution of the county board of supervisors. The resolution shall direct the treasurer to strike from the tax books the reference to that home.

```
[C66, 71, 73, 75, 77, 79, 81, $135D.25; 82 Acts, ch 1251, $3] 87 Acts, ch 210, $6, 7; 88 Acts, ch 1134, $26; 92 Acts, ch 1016, $2 C93, $435.25 94 Acts, ch 1110, $13, 24 Referred to in $331.559, $435.22 Apportionment of property taxes, see $445.38
```

435.26 Conversion to real property.

- 1. a. A mobile home or manufactured home which is located outside a manufactured home community or mobile home park shall be converted to real estate by being placed on a permanent foundation and shall be assessed for real estate taxes. A home, after conversion to real estate, is eligible for the homestead tax credit and the military service tax exemption as provided in sections 425.2 and 426A.11. A taxable mobile home or manufactured home which is located outside of a manufactured home community or mobile home park as of January 1, 1995, is also exempt from the permanent foundation requirements of this chapter until the home is relocated.
- b. If a security interest is noted on the certificate of title, the home owner shall tender to the secured party a mortgage on the real estate upon which the home is to be located in the unpaid amount of the secured debt, and with the same priority as or a higher priority than the secured party's security interest, or shall obtain the written consent of the secured party to the conversion, in which latter case the lien notation on the certificate of title shall suffice to preserve the lienholder's security in the home separate from any interest in the land.
- 2. After complying with subsection 1, the owner shall notify the assessor who shall inspect the new premises for compliance. If a security interest is noted on the certificate of title, the assessor shall require an affidavit, as defined in section 622.85, from the home owner, declaring that the owner has complied with subsection 1, paragraph "b", and setting forth the method of compliance.
- a. If compliance with subsection 1, paragraph "b", has been accomplished by the secured party accepting the tender of a mortgage, the assessor shall collect the home vehicle title and enter the property upon the tax rolls.
 - b. If compliance with subsection 1, paragraph "b", has been accomplished by the secured

party consenting to the conversion without accepting a mortgage, the secured party shall retain the home vehicle title and the assessor shall note the conversion on the assessor's records and enter the property upon the tax rolls. So long as a security interest is noted on the certificate of title, the title to the home will not be merged with title to the land, and the sale or foreclosure of an interest in the land shall not affect title to the home or any security interest in the home.

3. When the property is entered on the tax rolls, the assessor shall also enter on the tax rolls the title number last assigned to the mobile home or manufactured home and the manufacturer's identification number.

```
[C66, 71, 73, 75, 77, 79, 81, §135D.26]
83 Acts, ch 64, §1; 85 Acts, ch 98, §2; 89 Acts, ch 260, §1; 91 Acts, ch 191, §4, 5
C93, §435.26
94 Acts, ch 1110, §14, 24; 98 Acts, ch 1107, §20, 21, 33; 99 Acts, ch 114, §26; 2001 Acts, ch
153, §16; 2003 Acts, ch 108, §74; 2009 Acts, ch 133, §147
Referred to in §331.559, §435.27
```

435.26A Surrender of title.

- 1. A person who owns a manufactured home that is located in a manufactured home community and is installed on a permanent foundation may surrender the manufactured home's certificate of title to the county treasurer for the purpose of assuring eligibility for funds available from mortgage lending programs sponsored by the federal national mortgage association, the federal home loan mortgage corporation, the United States department of agriculture, or any other federal governmental agency or instrumentality that has similar requirements for mortgage lending programs.
- 2. a. Upon receipt of a certificate of title from a manufactured home owner, a county treasurer shall notify the state department of transportation that the certificate of title has been surrendered, remove the registration of title from the county treasurer's records, and destroy the certificate of title.
- b. The manufactured home owner or the owner's representative shall provide to the county recorder the identifying data of the manufactured home, including the owner's name, the name of the manufacturer, the model name, the year of manufacture, and the serial number of the home, along with the legal description of the real estate on which the manufactured home is located. In addition, evidence shall be provided of the surrender of the certificate of title. After the surrender of the certificate of title of a manufactured home under this section, conveyance of an interest in the manufactured home shall not require transfer of title so long as the manufactured home remains on the same real estate site.
- 3. After the surrender of a manufactured home's certificate of title under this section, the manufactured home shall continue to be taxed under section 435.22 and is not eligible for the homestead tax credit or the military service tax exemption. A foreclosure action on a manufactured home whose title has been surrendered under this section shall be conducted as a real estate foreclosure. A tax lien and its priority shall remain the same on a manufactured home after its certificate of title has been surrendered.
- 4. The certificate of title of a manufactured home shall not be surrendered under this section if an unreleased security interest is noted on the certificate of title.
- 5. An owner of a manufactured home who has surrendered a certificate of title under this section and requires another certificate of title for the manufactured home is required to apply for a certificate of title under chapter 321. If supporting documents for the reissuance of a title are not available or sufficient, the procedure for the reissuance of a title specified in the rules of the state department of transportation shall be used.

2003 Acts, ch 24, §7, 10; 2003 Acts, ch 179, §128, 159; 2003 Acts, 1st Ex, ch 2, §26, 209; 2011 Acts, ch 25, §143

435.26B Affidavit in lieu of surrender of certificate of title — manufactured and mobile homes.

1. If there is no record that a certificate of title has been issued or surrendered for a manufactured home or mobile home that is located outside a manufactured home community

or mobile home park, that has been converted to real estate by being placed on a permanent foundation, and that is entered on the tax rolls, the owner may effectuate a surrender of the certificate of title by recording with the county recorder an affidavit that includes all of the following:

- a. The full legal name, Iowa driver's license number or Iowa nonoperator's identification card number, bona fide residence, and mailing address of the owner, and any other identification information required by the state department of transportation. If the owner is a firm, association, or corporation, the affidavit shall contain the bona fide business address and federal employer identification number of the owner.
- b. A description of the manufactured or mobile home including, insofar as the specified data may exist with respect to a manufactured or mobile home, the manufacturer, model, year of manufacture, and identification number or other assigned number.
- c. A statement of the affiant's title or ownership interest and a statement of all liens, encumbrances, or security interests upon the manufactured or mobile home, including the names and mailing addresses of all persons having any such liens, encumbrances, or security interests
- d. A statement of any facts or information known to the affiant that could affect the validity of title or the existence or validity of any lien, encumbrance, or security interest on the manufactured or mobile home.
- e. The name and address of the person from whom the owner purchased or acquired the manufactured or mobile home, including information related to the location and date of purchase or acquisition.
- f. The affidavit shall also include an attached written opinion by an attorney licensed to practice law in this state who has examined the abstract of title of the land upon which the manufactured or mobile home is situated. The opinion shall state the names of the owners and holders of mortgages, liens, or other encumbrances on the land upon which the manufactured or mobile home is situated and shall note the encumbrances, along with any bonds securing the encumbrances. Utility easements shall not be construed to be encumbrances for the purpose of this section.
- g. A statement that the manufactured or mobile home is located outside a manufactured home community or mobile home park, has been converted to real estate by being placed on a permanent foundation, and has been entered on the tax rolls. This statement shall be endorsed by the city or county assessor, as applicable, and include the legal description of the real property upon which the manufactured or mobile home is situated.
- h. A statement that the owner has made a diligent search and inquiry but has been unable to locate and produce a manufacturer's certificate of origin or a certificate of title for the manufactured or mobile home and that the owner has no knowledge that a certificate of title has previously been issued or surrendered for the manufactured or mobile home.
- i. (1) An endorsement by the state department of transportation that the department has searched its records and has no record of a certificate of title or a surrender of a certificate of title for the manufactured or mobile home and that the department has no record of any ownership interest contrary to the ownership interest asserted by the affiant. The endorsement shall also specify that the state department of transportation is unable to identify any lien, encumbrance, or security interest contrary to those specified by the affiant.
- (2) The state department of transportation shall not conduct any search of records or provide any endorsement until the affidavit has been completed, executed, and endorsed pursuant to paragraphs "a" through "h" and the affiant has paid a fee not to exceed two hundred dollars. The state department of transportation shall set the amount of the fee by rule.
- (3) Following endorsement of the affidavit, the state department of transportation shall return the affidavit to the owner for recording.
- (4) If the state department of transportation has endorsed an affidavit, the department shall not issue a certificate of title for the manufactured or mobile home unless the manufactured or mobile home is reconverted under section 435.27.
- 2. Recording the affidavit with all necessary endorsements and attachments shall establish the surrender of the certificate of title.

- 3. After the surrender of the certificate of title under this section, a conveyance of an interest in the manufactured or mobile home shall not require a transfer of title if the manufactured or mobile home remains located on the same real property that is identified in the affidavit under subsection 2.
- 4. A foreclosure action on a manufactured or mobile home for which the certificate of title was surrendered under this section shall be conducted as a real estate foreclosure.
- 5. A tax lien and its priority shall not be modified as a result of a surrender of title under this section.
- 6. The state department of transportation shall adopt rules under chapter 17A to implement this section. The rules adopted by the state department of transportation shall include a standardized form for an affidavit required under this section.

2010 Acts, ch 1108, §13, 15; 2010 Acts, ch 1193, §53, 80

435.27 Reconversion.

- 1. A mobile home or manufactured home converted to real estate under section 435.26 may be reconverted to a home as provided in this section when it is moved to a manufactured home community or mobile home park or a manufactured or mobile home retailer's inventory. When the home is located within a manufactured home community or mobile home park, the home shall be taxed pursuant to section 435.22, subsection 1, paragraph "a".
- 2. a. If the vehicular frame of the home can be modified to return it to the status of a mobile home or manufactured home, the owner or a secured party holding a mortgage or certificate of title pursuant to section 435.26 who has obtained possession of the home may apply to the county treasurer as provided in section 321.20 for a certificate of title for the home. If a mortgage exists on the real estate, a security interest in the home shall be given to a secured party not applying for reconversion and noted on the certificate of title with the same priority or a higher priority than the secured party's mortgage interest. A reconversion shall not occur without the written consent of every secured party holding a mortgage or certificate of title.
- b. If the secured party has elected to retain the home vehicle title pursuant to section 435.26, subsection 2, paragraph "b", an owner applying for reconversion shall present to the county treasurer written consent to the reconversion from all secured parties and an affirmation from the secured party holding the title that the title is in its possession and is intact. Upon receipt of the affirmation, the county treasurer shall notify the assessor of the reconversion, which notification constitutes compliance by the owner with subsection 3.
- 3. After compliance with subsection 2 and receipt of the title, the owner shall notify the assessor of the reconversion. The assessor shall remove the assessed valuation of the home from assessment rolls as of the succeeding January 1 when the home becomes subject to taxation as provided under section 435.24.

```
85 Acts, ch 98, $1
CS85, $135D.27
89 Acts, ch 260, $2
C93, $435.27
94 Acts, ch 1110, $15, 24; 98 Acts, ch 1107, $22, 33; 2001 Acts, ch 153, $16, 18; 2002 Acts, ch 1119, $57; 2011 Acts, ch 25, $135, 143
Referred to in $\frac{4}{3}435.268
```

435.28 County treasurer to notify assessor.

Upon issuance of a certificate of title to a mobile home or manufactured home which is not located in a manufactured home community or mobile home park or retailer's inventory, the county treasurer shall notify the assessor of the existence of the home for tax assessment purposes.

94 Acts, ch 1110, §16, 24; 2001 Acts, ch 153, §16; 2010 Acts, ch 1108, §14, 15

435.29 Civil penalty.

The person who moves the mobile home or manufactured home without having obtained a tax clearance statement as provided in section 435.24 shall pay a civil penalty of one hundred dollars. The penalty money shall be credited to the general fund of the county.

85 Acts, ch 70, §2 CS85, §135D.29 C93, §435.29 94 Acts, ch 1110, §17, 24; 98 Acts, ch 1107, §23, 33

435.30 through 435.32 Reserved.

435.33 Rent reimbursement.

A home owner who qualifies for a reduced tax rate provided in section 435.22 and who rents a space upon which to set the home shall be entitled to the protections provided in sections 425.33 to 425.36 and if the home owner who qualifies for a reduced tax rate believes that a landlord has increased the home owner's rent because the home owner is eligible for a reduced tax rate, the provisions of sections 425.33 and 425.36 shall be applicable.

[C77, 79, 81, \$135D.33] C93, \$435.33 94 Acts, ch 1110, \$18, 24

435.34 Modular home exemption. Repealed by 2009 Acts, ch 133, §191. See §435.2(3).

435.35 Existing home outside of manufactured home community or mobile home park — exemption. Repealed by 2009 Acts, ch 133, §191. See §435.26(1).