IAC Ch 40, p.1

641—40.96(136C) Notification of incidents.

40.96(1) Immediate notification. Notwithstanding other requirements for notification, each licensee or registrant shall immediately report each event involving a source of radiation possessed by the licensee or registrant that may have caused or threatens to cause any of the following conditions:

- a. An individual to receive:
- (1) A total effective dose equivalent of 25 rem (0.25 Sv) or more; or
- (2) A lens dose equivalent of 75 rem (0.75 Sv) or more; or
- (3) A shallow dose equivalent to the skin or extremities of 250 rad (2.5 Gy) or more; or
- b. The release of radioactive material, inside or outside of a restricted area, so that, had an individual been present for 24 hours, the individual could have received an intake five times the annual limit on intake. This provision does not apply to locations where personnel are not normally stationed during routine operations, such as hot-cells or process enclosures.
- c. In addition to the requirements of paragraphs "a" and "b" above, each licensee shall notify the Iowa department of public health as soon as possible but not later than four hours after the discovery of an event that prevents immediate protective actions necessary to avoid exposures to radiation or radioactive materials that could exceed regulatory limits or releases of licensed material that could exceed regulatory limits (events may include fires, explosions, toxic gas releases, and other such events).
- **40.96(2)** Twenty-four-hour notification. Each licensee or registrant shall, within 24 hours of discovery of the event, report to the agency each event involving loss of control of a licensed or registered source of radiation possessed by the licensee or registrant that may have caused, or threatens to cause, any of the following conditions:
 - a. An individual to receive, in a period of 24 hours:
 - (1) A total effective dose equivalent exceeding 5 rem (0.05 Sv); or
 - (2) A lens dose equivalent exceeding 15 rem (0.15 Sv); or
 - (3) A shallow dose equivalent to the skin or extremities exceeding 50 rem (0.5 Sv); or
- b. The release of radioactive material, inside or outside of a restricted area, so that, had an individual been present for 24 hours, the individual could have received an intake in excess of one occupational ALI. This provision does not apply to locations where personnel are not normally stationed during routine operations, such as hot-cells or process enclosures.
- c. In addition to the requirements of paragraphs "a" and "b" above, each licensee shall notify the Iowa department of public health within 24 hours after the discovery of any of the following events involving licensed material:
 - (1) An unplanned contamination event that:
- 1. Requires access to the contaminated area, by workers or the public, to be restricted for more than 24 hours by imposing additional radiological controls or by prohibiting entry into the area;
- 2. Involves a quantity of material greater than five times the lowest annual limit on intake specified in Appendix B for the material; and
- 3. Has access to the area restricted for a reason other than to allow isotopes with a half-life of less than 24 hours to decay prior to decontamination.
 - (2) An event in which equipment is disabled or fails to function as designed when:
- 1. The equipment is required by regulation or license condition to prevent releases exceeding regulatory limits, to prevent exposures to radiation and radioactive materials exceeding regulatory limits, or to mitigate the consequences of an accident;
- 2. The equipment is required to be available and operable when it is disabled or fails to function; and
 - 3. No redundant equipment is available and operable to perform the required safety function.
- (3) An event that requires unplanned medical treatment at a medical facility of an individual with spreadable radioactive contamination on the individual's clothing or body.
- (4) An unplanned fire or explosion damaging any licensed material or any device, container, or equipment containing licensed material when:
- 1. The quantity of material involved is greater than five times the lowest annual limit on intake specified in Appendix B for the material; and

Ch 40, p.2

- 2. The damage affects the integrity of the licensed material or its container.
- **40.96(3)** The licensee or registrant shall prepare each report filed with the agency pursuant to 641—40.96(136C) so that names of individuals who have received exposure to sources of radiation are stated in a separate and detachable portion of the report.
- **40.96(4)** Licensees or registrants shall make the reports required by 40.96(1) and 40.96(2) to the agency by telephone, telegram, mailgram, or facsimile.
- a. Licensees or registrants making initial reports to the Iowa department of public health shall to the extent that the information is available at the time of notification include:
 - (1) The caller's name and call-back telephone number;
 - (2) A description of the event, including date and time;
 - (3) The exact location of the event;
 - (4) The isotopes, quantities, and chemical and physical form of the licensed material involved; and
 - (5) Any personnel radiation exposure data available.
- b. Each licensee or registrant who makes a report required by 40.96(1) or 40.96(2) shall submit a written follow-up report within 30 days of the initial report. Written reports prepared pursuant to other rules may be submitted to fulfill this requirement if the reports contain all of the necessary information. These written reports must be sent to the Iowa Department of Public Health, Bureau of Radiological Health, Lucas State Office Building, Des Moines, Iowa 50319. The reports must include the following:
- (1) A description of the event, including the probable cause and the manufacturer and model number (if applicable) of any equipment that failed or malfunctioned;
 - (2) The exact location of the event;
 - (3) The isotopes, quantities, and chemical and physical form of the licensed material involved;
 - (4) Date and time of the event;
 - (5) Corrective actions taken or planned and the results of any evaluations or assessments; and
- (6) The extent of exposure of individuals to radiation or to radioactive materials without identification of individuals by name.
- **40.96(5)** The provisions of 641—40.96(136C) do not apply to doses that result from planned special exposures, provided such doses are within the limits for planned special exposures and are reported pursuant to 641—40.98(136C).