653—17.7(147,148E,272C) Biennial renewal of license required. Pursuant to Iowa Code section 148E.2, a license is renewed every two years on November 1 for a fee of \$300 with documented evidence that the licensee has completed the 30 hours of continuing education required by the board. Beginning June 1, 2004, renewal shall require evidence of the licensee's current active status as a diplomate in acupuncture or oriental medicine from NCCAOM.

17.7(1) *Expiration date.* Certificates of licensure to practice acupuncture shall expire on October 31 in even years. Those who are granted a license prior to October 31, 2000, shall receive a license that expires October 31, 2002.

17.7(2) *Prorated fees.* The renewal fee for a license shall be prorated on a monthly basis according to the date of issue.

17.7(3) *Renewal requirements and penalties for late renewal.* Each licensee shall be sent a renewal notice at least 60 days prior to the expiration date.

a. Pursuant to Iowa Code section 147.10, application for renewal shall be made in writing to the board accompanied by the required fee at least 30 days prior to the expiration date.

b. Every renewal shall be displayed in connection with the original certificate of licensure.

c. A \$50 penalty shall be assessed for renewal in the grace period, a period up until January 1 when the license lapses if not renewed.

17.7(4) *Lapsed license*. Failure of a licensee to renew by January 1 will result in invalidation of the license and the license will become lapsed.

a. Licensees are prohibited from engaging in the practice of acupuncture once the license is lapsed.

b. Having an acupuncturist license in lapsed status does not preclude the board from taking disciplinary actions authorized in Iowa Code section 147.55 or 148E.8.